1 hour ago, Ghostwriter said:

Three coffees and two Red Bulls in and I’m fired up and ready to go!!!

There’s a chance we’ll lose today.

There’s a chance we’ll win.

I’m gonna focus on the chance of a win.

Us by a Charlie SpargiPants (9pts)

RAISE HELL, DEES!

❤️💙❤️💙❤️💙

Not a bad start. What's morning tea looking like @Ghostwriter ?

First chance to get to a game this year, and with MFCSS-junior working I just get to chill and enjoy the game (really!)

Hoping to see some genuine effort, a few moments to get excited about, and maybe some insight into what's going on outside the camera focus.

And if it all comes crashing down, at least I just have the sound of the crowd and the voices in my head, rather than over paid smart-[censored], kick you when you're down 'experts' calling the game.

(Oh, leaving Bendigo there were more Freo supporters than Dee's at the station... maybe the rest of the Bendigo contingent were on the early train, making sure they get a good seat at the game?)

1 hour ago, Ghostwriter said:

Note: gates open earlier today (11:30am), due to the extra time needed to check folks upon entry. Sadly though, I don’t think the extra time is needed since it won’t take long to check so few people 😢

Who are we playing today - anyone know?

2 hours ago, Dr. Gonzo said:

After last week I wasn't going to go today but have backflipped as the kids said they wanted to go. I don't know if they know what they are in for, I am genuinely worried about today.

Next CEO of Melbourne right here.

4 hours ago, Bring-Back-Powell said:

Some condescending/2013/ Mark Neeld like KPI’s that we could achieve today.

1. Win one quarter

2. Keep Freo to under 100 points.

3. Kick more goals than behinds for the second time in the last 9 games.

4. Reduce the uncontested possession differential from 80 of the last 2 games down to 40.

5. Ensure every quarter has a pressure rating score of at least 170. 160 is apparently unacceptable and what we dished up in 2 quarters last week.

6. Try your very very best. Strip it back to junior footy where the player that puts in the greatest effort gets a McDonalds voucher.

If all 6 points fail, for crying out loud, let’s keep the margin under 90 so at least we can avoid the bottom of the ladder/Essendon pick 1 territory.

This is great

We will absolutely gift Essendon the no 1 pick. Nothing is more sure

I understand the argument about Lindsay but make no mistake we will be ridiculed the the next 20 years.

Only Melbourne could [censored] this up so badly. We are a mentally weak club

1 minute ago, Queanbeyan Demon said:

Not a bad start. What's morning tea looking like @Ghostwriter ?

02EE8DCD-800B-48CD-BB2A-E4903E2A5763.jpeg

This is right now at North Melbourne station.

Gotta drink three of these babies before I enter the ground because I don’t wanna do the usual smuggling them in lest the over-zealous bag-checkers find them. Not chugging them all at the gate, been there, done that, felt sick.

3 hours ago, Roost it far said:

Sheeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeit, of all the years for my daughter to want to go to the footy every week. I'm expecting us to get completely torched so anything outside of that will be a relief. If I was Goodwin I'd be ringing Longmuir and asking him to go easy.

3 hours ago, OutOfTheCentre21 said:

I'm in the same boat here with my 6 year old son. He has no memory of the premiership 😭. We've been a few times this year so far and he doesn't mind when we lose so that's made it a bit easier...as long as we go outside for regular kicks of the footy at each break! 😁

image.png

1 hour ago, At Least I Saw a Flag said:

Sportsbet have Freo at $1.29. Looks overs to me.

I got on Freo earlier in the week @ $1.45. Hope I lose my money ... (not likely!)

Freo 40+ is paying $3.45

5 minutes ago, Ghostwriter said:

02EE8DCD-800B-48CD-BB2A-E4903E2A5763.jpeg

This is right now at North Melbourne station.

Gotta drink three of these babies before I enter the ground because I don’t wanna do the usual smuggling them in lest the over-zealous bag-checkers find them. Not chugging them all at the gate, been there, done that, felt sick.

You are a deadset, fair dinkum, ridgy didge, true blue (and red) inspiration Ghosty.

2 hours ago, ghost who walks said:

Sad Family Time GIF by Lifetime

@Ghostwriter

Is @ghost who walks your alter ego 😁?

I do say there are some subtle but uncanny similarities in writing styles, humour etc ... 😁

No voodoo dolls please!

Feeling good after a sleep in. Rye toast and jam, home brewed coffee, and now chillaxing on the patio before I finish a small patch of paving. Starting to think of today's game so jump on DL to touch base with my tribe. And BANG - like clockwork - DL's collective demeanour of depressive pessimism invades my morning feel-good to impose MFCSS on me. Ah well, at least it is consistent.

I have no idea what to expect of Dees v Freo today. Both teams can be super flaky but we are in very poor form while Freo are looking OK.

My morning coffee is being consumed from my 2021 Premiership mug so hopefully the footy gods are paying attention and some "reap what you sow" is coming my way.

I'm really feeling for Fullerton already.

I've always thought having Tom coming in as a second tall to support JVR might actually help take the pressure off JVR.

Two tall targets might have made the difference if they gave them a few games together.

Instead we've dropped JVR (which I understand) and have thrown Tom in unsupported to be fed to the lions.

I just think having them both in to try and find a groove might have been good.

Drop Spargo and play with Fullerton, JVR and Disco forward seems to be the best combination we probably have.

Maybe AJ in the mix if that doesn't work.

Dunno, I just dunno anymore. Selection and game plan just plain weird

I haven't seen us play live since the debacle against nth.

But it's 28 degrees & where else would you rather be than at the G.

3 hours ago, ghost who walks said:

dont go with them mate just dont

we need the crowd. Those extra 2 should help us crack an attendance of 1000.

Just remember the extra security checks. I'm all for safety, but we are paying the price for not only 2 morons & what they did, but for security for failing to pick it up on the technology

52 minutes ago, Ghostwriter said:

I’m not superstitious but I do wear the same Melbourne socks to every match. However, this year I’ve been wearing our new Demon Army socks. I couldn’t find them this morning so I’m wearing the Melbourne socks today. We all know what that means, don’t we boys and girls?! Yep, a win for sure!

Y’all are soooo welcome 😘

Maybe there is a snow dropper in your area pinching socks instead of bonds cotton tails

Yarn
No image preview

“We cannot defeat the armies of Mordor.” “ No we cannot....

The Lord of the Rings: The Return of the King (2003) clip with quote “We cannot defeat the armies of Mordor.” “ No we cannot. But we will meet them in battle nonetheless.” Yarn is the best sear...

I believe we will take this out if they stop kicking it to Gawn.

1 minute ago, Dee Viney Intervention said:

Plenty of Rodd and Gunns in the MCC members

Yes DVI My preferred livery

3 minutes ago, Dee Viney Intervention said:

Plenty of Rodd and Gunns in the MCC members

I’ll be there soon to help change that unfortunate outfit

Still recovering from the gather round festival of footy and so not tripping down to MCG today.

Like others I really dont know hoe this restructured team will perform but am always optimistic .

Max Trac Kozzie Clarry Langdon were all good last week Windsor Langford Salem Rivers all good in patches.

Windsor needs to be on wing Rivers on HBf.

TMac held the back line Petty will need to improve on this years performance

Chandler did some good stuff but needed support, tried all day.

Viney played with vigour but his disposal has been aplling all year, put him in th middle tagging Brayshaw of the freo mid doing most damage. take them out of the game and he has done his job.

JVR and FRitta needed to go back to Casey to get confidence. Jeffo should be rotated with Fritta all season Will be good to see what Fullarton offers but our forward line still looks a little thin. Also looking forward to Tholstrup'

More intensity and vigour is needed for a full four quarters.

Have abandoned KAyo so tossing up to return to radio or go to the Nicholas in Beechworth on a weekend when the town is packed with Easter revellers. It could be a return to the festival of footy on home site. It so much depends on who turns up to play. Join MAx Trac etc and we can win,

GO DEES

On this day in 2009 we broke through for our first win of the season.

Hooray!

It was also our only win before the mid-season bye.

Hmm.

Oh well, fire up anyway.