4 hours ago, 640MD said:

my niece (14 going on 24) keeps talking about melb. And one player gets mentioned every time. He was here in Warrnambool training at a nearby ground with ?? And my niece only found out later. She was devastated that she missed him in the flesh. And then proceeded to say he was married.

So next time you see him Greta sends love and best wishes. Twisting their arm 8 years ago worked . So hi from Warrnambool tracca !!

👋 Fellow Warrnambool (recently moved here) Demons fan

21 hours ago, GS_1905 said:

Surely he plays a game at Casey first? It would be irresponsible to subject him to the firsts.

So a young gun has to play at Casey, but a 34 year old Melksham walks back in?

• Author
1 hour ago, La Dee-vina Comedia said:

Are you suggesting the club ditch the soccer and send the team to Aldi for some body contact work?

Yep. There’s nothing like 8:30am on a Wednesday at the doors of an Aldi to sort the men from the boys. The Boxing Day sales? Pfft amateurs.

Out my way, when the ordinarily sweet and friendly Maltese pensioners hear the first crank of the roller door, it’s on for young and old. I used to meet up with a friend on Wednesday mornings, we’d get a coffee and sit and watch the carnage. It was heart in mouth stuff.

• Author
9 hours ago, bing181 said:

"Monday (two days post game day) we’ll do a light run around session where we test everyone’s heart rate to see how their fatigue is going.

Then we do a skill-based session in preparation for our main training session that week. This might include some light touch drills, a kicking circuit, a handball game or some weeks we might play soccer or American football. The purpose of the session is to get the body moving."

David Zaharakis.

Reposting this in case some of the anti-soccer ball brigade missed it.

• Author
3 hours ago, beelzebub said:

Working a treat

Missing the point

Maybe we could organise a practice match with Melbourne Victory?

6 hours ago, Dee Zephyr said:

For crying out loud, please don’t mention the soccer ball as it seems to give some more reason to complain.

Lie next time and say they were playing croquet, see how that’s received.

I think the MCC has, or had, a croquet club. Maybe outsiders would think it totally appropriate for MFC to participate.

1 hour ago, Ghostwriter said:

Well then David is an [censored]. I fear if I went to training and saw soccer balls I would yell out, put those bloody balls away. It highlights our lack of leadership that someone does not challenge the stupidity of it. It reminded me of Essendon coaches leaders and players mindlessly getting injections in the stomach and then I had to look this David fool up to remember who he played for.

I could go on and on about our fumbling, ball drop at kicking, the way we line up for goal. How about spending that time getting experts in the game teach those techniques and honing ball handling skills.

1 hour ago, Ghostwriter said:

• Author
3 hours ago, The Jackson FIX said:

Is there a training session Wednesday (tomorrow) at Gosch’s that I can take kids to?

No, the next session is at Casey on Thursday morning. The Captain’s Run is on Friday arvo in Adelaide (Hisense Arena) and there’s a Family Day at Casey this Tuesday (April 15th) at 9:30am, this replaces the flush run that’s usually at Gosch’s on the Tuesday.

The only chance you’ll get to take the kids to Gosch’s on the school holidays is the pre-Freo match Captain’s Run next Friday morning (April 18th) at 10am.

As is always the case, this is subject to change, oftentimes with zero notice.

• Author
5 minutes ago, 48 Year Now said:

Well then David is an [censored]. I fear if I went to training and saw soccer balls I would yell out, put those bloody balls away. It highlights our lack of leadership that someone does not challenge the stupidity of it. It reminded me of Essendon coaches leaders and players mindlessly getting injections in the stomach and then I had to look this David fool up to remember who he played for.

I could go on and on about our fumbling, ball drop at kicking, the way we line up for goal. How about spending that time getting experts in the game teach those techniques and honing ball handling skills.

IT’S 20 MINUTES OUT OF MANY, MANY HOURS OF INTENSE TRAINING.

WHY AM I YELLING? THAT’D BE BECAUSE THIS ISN’T SINKING IN WITH SOME PEOPLE.

Geez Louise 🙄

23 hours ago, monoccular said:

Didn’t deter SG from playing Spargo without a game for a year. 🤬🤬

Or milkshake without a game anywhere for months. Cannot be worse than a number who have played the last month.

2 hours ago, Doug Reemer said:

So a young gun has to play at Casey, but a 34 year old Melksham walks back in?

He’s coming off a back stress fracture and he’s 19yo so yes, we tread carefully and manage him back up to AFL loads.

There is no upside to rushing him back when we are 0-4.

2 hours ago, GS_1905 said:

He’s coming off a back stress fracture and he’s 19yo so yes, we tread carefully and manage him back up to AFL loads.

There is no upside to rushing him back when we are 0-4.

I agree.

But I don’t reckon Goodwin rates the VFL. Melk came off a knee, straight back in.

11 hours ago, Dee Zephyr said:

For crying out loud, please don’t mention the soccer ball as it seems to give some more reason to complain.

Lie next time and say they were playing croquet, see how that’s received.

I'd be suggesting pinball

4 hours ago, DeeZee said:

Maybe we could organise a practice match with Melbourne Victory?

Better than Melbourne Storm. lol.😁👍

5 hours ago, Ghostwriter said:

Yeh cause Zaharakis was part of so much success! You must of known I’d find a way to condemn soccer, never underestimate my ability to level negative spin at a situation!

Edited by Roost it far

22 minutes ago, binman said:

Given that requires lighting reflexes and good peripherals.... not a bad idea 👍

8 hours ago, La Dee-vina Comedia said:

Are you suggesting the club ditch the soccer and send the team to Aldi for some body contact work?

GOLD JUST GOLD LA DEE DA!

8 hours ago, beelzebub said:

Training at Aldi ? different, good

Hey Ghosty, will you wheel my trolley around while I go " Gangbusters" at ALDI?? I will promise you an Earn!! cheers PF 😇

12 hours ago, Dee Zephyr said:

What’s this about a soccer ball?

1 hour ago, binman said:

1 hour ago, beelzebub said:

Given that requires lighting reflexes and good peripherals.... not a bad idea 👍

There's a fine line between great pinny play & tilting Bubs

1 hour ago, Ethan Tremblay said:

What’s this about a soccer ball?

We’re not putting it into the net Ethan.

1 hour ago, Demon Dynasty said:

There's a fine line between great pinny play & tilting Bubs

We used have a decent "Tilt"

That was then and this is now I guess

On 07/04/2025 at 17:19, picket fence said:

Actually that might be our game.... where some nil all draws are acceptable! but nar on reflection

GET RID OF THE SOCCER BALLS FFS! LETS SPEND A COUPLE OF WEEKS ON 4 THINGS

1 Not playing one short in the backline

2 Run, spread and carry

3 Forwards leading patterns renewal AND

4 GOAL KICKING PRACTICE , MORE GOAL KICKING PRACTICE AND EVEN MORE UNTIL YER FOOT DROPS OF!

I was thinking maybe a series of match simulations, get rid of the footy boots. Oliver, Viney, Tracc to be in bare feet. The other players in soft runners. Choose a hardish ball to discourage anyone wanting to kick it with bare feet. Then do repeated centre ball up set plays with our barefoot A midfield team vs our barefoot midfield B team. OK its left field, risky and really just a thought provoker but how else do you make our midfield change their ingrained behaviour to get ball, kick ball?