big changes are needed. if we go into next year with both Trac and clarry on the list it means we've only tinkered with the list

we need major surgery. a big player or 2 will need to be sacrificed

I've thought about this for a while, and I reckon we trade Trac and keep Oliver. Petracca has a lot of value still, but he is a prime offender in poor disposal inside 50. I think Oliver has other strengths (in and under, contested disposal, etc).

We can use Oliver as an inside mid, but Petracca's class comes from his explosiveness, but unfortunately in our side with so few good ball users we can't carry his rainmaker kicks inside 50.

Just now, Chook said:

I've thought about this for a while, and I reckon we trade Trac and keep Oliver. Petracca has a lot of value still, but he is a prime offender in poor disposal inside 50. I think Oliver has other strengths (in and under, contested disposal, etc).

Trac can go forward though, Oliver is midfield or bust.

I think we keep Trac and move on Oliver. For me it's either Oliver or Viney and the club does not seem willing to move on from Viney despite being older and more injury prone.

1 minute ago, Dr. Gonzo said:

Trac can go forward though, Oliver is midfield or bust.

I think we keep Trac and move on Oliver. For me it's either Oliver or Viney and the club does not seem willing to move on from Viney despite being older and more injury prone.

The issue is I don't think Oliver has any real trade value. He's much more valuable to us than any other club would give for him (specially Geelong). Petracca can go forward, and if we played him as a forward more that might be ok. But we play him too often as a midfielder, and that just kills us.

Viney will be retiring soon, so I wouldn't think we'd get anything for him. I also really want to avoid repeating the mistakes of the past, trading out Viney like we got rid of James McDonald.

4 minutes ago, Chook said:

The issue is I don't think Oliver has any real trade value. He's much more valuable to us than any other club would give for him (specially Geelong). Petracca can go forward, and if we played him as a forward more that might be ok. But we play him too often as a midfielder, and that just kills us.

Viney will be retiring soon, so I wouldn't think we'd get anything for him. I also really want to avoid repeating the mistakes of the past, trading out Viney like we got rid of James McDonald.

Oliver's value is in freeing up cap space. Even if we move him on as a salary dump that gives us cash to look at luring a free agent over at the end of next year. We also rid ourselves of some of the off field baggage that comes with Oliver and the unreliability of not knowing whether he'll go off the rails again.

Viney may be retiring but not too soon. He has another 3 years on his contract. The club blinked offering him that contract, should have been a year by year extension and put the ball in his court. Hopefully he can continue delivering.

Or both ??

They both need to go

Clarry has lost it. sad to see but we can't afford his wage for the level of output he's producing. his shanked kick that missed everything when a point would have won us the game was the last straw. we have to move.

Trac is not invested and is no leader. We should take the best offer we can get and invest in a youngster.

Probably best if they were to leave at years end, both for themselves and the club.

Great talents that will be wasting their remaining years if they stayed at the club, plus we need a whole list refresh.

23 minutes ago, Demon Disciple said:

Probably best if they were to leave at years end, both for themselves and the club.

Great talents that will be wasting their remaining years if they stayed at the club, plus we need a whole list refresh.

Sad but true

Untradeable: Gawn, Koz, Langford, Lindsay.

Everyone else is on the block as far as I’m concerned.

Oliver doesn’t look like coming good so if we can get a deal that’s not too painful then cop it.

Trac, only he and the club would know if he’s still feeling the effects of last year’s injury. If he is then maybe we keep him and hope another preseason gets him right. If he’s 100% now then he’s not trying and can go too. The send him forward plan is a myth, terrible ball drop when kicking for goal, kicking one is a fluke.

1 hour ago, GS_1905 said:

If it’s for Pick 7 Take it and run.

I could see that happening they need a bull midfielder and Trac would extend his cooking channel viewers.

3 hours ago, BDA said:

They both need to go

Clarry has lost it. sad to see but we can't afford his wage for the level of output he's producing. his shanked kick that missed everything when a point would have won us the game was the last straw. we have to move.

Trac is not invested and is no leader. We should take the best offer we can get and invest in a youngster.

Petracca Is 'not invested'. Really? You know that, do you? Coming off a terrible injury, he'd be in the top 3 or 4 of the b and f. God there's some tripe on this site.

50 minutes ago, Fromgotowoewodin said:

Untradeable: Gawn, Koz, Langford, Lindsay.

Everyone else is on the block as far as I’m concerned.

Oliver doesn’t look like coming good so if we can get a deal that’s not too painful then cop it.

Trac, only he and the club would know if he’s still feeling the effects of last year’s injury. If he is then maybe we keep him and hope another preseason gets him right. If he’s 100% now then he’s not trying and can go too. The send him forward plan is a myth, terrible ball drop when kicking for goal, kicking one is a fluke.

I’m not sure the club would know how he’s doing, too busy with their heads up their asses.

3 hours ago, adonski said:

Trac to the Hawx

if he goes go there it'll remind me of when junior burgoyne went to them after one premiership with the pear, a few almost seasons, a tough run, a big injury, a fall out with the club (he wanted to be captain, as did his coach), and then a trade to the hawks

if trac gets three premierships with dingley while we get the equivalent of john butcher i will, as per plough, fair dinkum SPEW UP

2 minutes ago, whatwhat say what said:

if he goes go there it'll remind me of when junior burgoyne went to them after one premiership with the pear, a few almost seasons, a tough run, a big injury, a fall out with the club (he wanted to be captain, as did his coach), and then a trade to the hawks

if trac gets three premierships with dingley while we get the equivalent of john butcher i will, as per plough, fair dinkum SPEW UP

That would almost certainly happen.

7 minutes ago, Redlagged said:

That would almost certainly happen.

They were preparing for Reid but it’s looking unlikely and Allen is off to the Lions.

Honestly we can't go into next season with both of them. I think Trac has slightly more currency, perhaps a first rounder, Clarry would be a second rounder at best at this stage.

2 hours ago, Demon Disciple said:

Hey DD thats a great strategy. Why not give away a few other players so we become completely irrelevant.

Or

Perhaps w could refresh both "great talents' to inspire and lead the rest of the squad to perform to their ability . Place them all in the best positions on the field and opposed to suitable opponents and manage their workloads and fitness to win matches and achive team success. This will also result in individual success.

19 minutes ago, dpositive said:

Hey DD thats a great strategy. Why not give away a few other players so we become completely irrelevant.

Or

Perhaps w could refresh both "great talents' to inspire and lead the rest of the squad to perform to their ability . Place them all in the best positions on the field and opposed to suitable opponents and manage their workloads and fitness to win matches and achive team success. This will also result in individual success.

I love the idea of this, and a big issue I would have with trading them is that their currency wouldn't be that great and we would likely pay a large sum of their wages anyway.

But i have so little confidence in the current coaching crop at our club, and our club itself to be able to get them back to what they can be. They are almost symptomatic of what we are. If the right offer came our way I would look at trading one or even both of them.

4 hours ago, dpositive said:

Or

In an ideal world, a coaching refresh could give them a spark to find another 5%.

The reality is neither of Oliver or Trac are known for being strong ‘team’ members, remember 2021 when we won the flag on the back of the playing group seeing past the end of their own nose for a brief period?

The entire organisation is devoid of confidence - the coach, the players, the management. We have been so staunch on system that it’s sucked the life out of the club and the creative and artistic side of football has been well and truly buried.

For the sake of the players themselves, I’d like to see Trac and Clarry at other clubs and playing well. Both are brilliant to watch at their best.

In terms of trade value, it needs to be assessed on what they are now, not what they once were. We only need to break even on current performance with any trades and I think that’s achievable. Hawthorn and GWS are the two clubs I would target because they have lists which are designed around skill, even their fringe players would have us covered in that department.

Irs gotta be Oliver on the table. His output doesn’t match the money is on. The signs are there that trac is putting it all Together Again.

6 hours ago, Redlagged said:

Petracca Is 'not invested'. Really? You know that, do you? Coming off a terrible injury, he'd be in the top 3 or 4 of the b and f. God there's some tripe on this site.

not sure why I'm wasting my time responding to you

He tried to force a trade last year. Remember. maybe you have forgotten to take your amnesia tablets.

made a big song and dance at the expense of the club. wanted a bigger club to showcase his brand. And his cooking. You might not care about something like that but i do. People like you have no self-respect.

Where was his fight for the club when we were in a hole on Sunday. It was nowhere to be seen. He wasn't Robinson Crusoe in that respect though

He can leave this year, we'll get decent value for him, and we can invest in someone who does actually want to be here.

On 21/07/2025 at 21:37, beelzebub said:

Or both ??

Both WON'T be at the club in 2026 by my estimation!