5 hours ago, Oxdee said:

Bennett didnā€™t even play 100 games, jakovich barely made it to 50. Schwartz played 2 good seasons before multiple knee reconstructions. ā€˜If jurrah played longerā€™ā€¦ well, he didnā€™t.Ā 

Struth, where to begin?

So according to you ā€œbest forward in the last 50 yearsā€ equates to the forward that plays the most games? Ā 
Ā 

On that flawed rationale, how then can you say Fritsch is better than Lyon, Neitz, Green and Robertson, all of who played more games than Fritsch.

Please clarify.

PS. Jakovich 4.28 goals per game Ā  Ā Ā 
Ā Ā  Ā  Ā  Fritsch Ā  Ā  1.68 Ā goals per gameĀ 

Jakovich not streets ahead, suburbs.

Ā 

Ā 

Ā 

Ā 
On 19/03/2025 at 22:07, gs77 said:

I believe the previous post was saying that four of Fritta's 6 Premiership goals were kicked while the game was on the line.

He definitely stepped up when the 57 year premiership drought wasĀ  going to be broken.

His steely nerve became the personification of accuracy. His goal out the back when Max had gone up with him was an absolute ripper and still hasn't got old for me.Ā 

He needs to recapture some of that gf form.Ā 

5 minutes ago, Abyssal said:

Struth, where to begin?

So according to you ā€œbest forward in the last 50 yearsā€ equates to the forward that plays the most games? Ā 
Ā 

On that flawed rationale, how then can you say Fritsch is better than Lyon, Neitz, Green and Robertson, all of who played more games than Fritsch.

Please clarify.

Ā 

Ā 

Ā 

@Oxdee doesn't like facts.

Oxdee ignores them and prefers to cherry pick information. Don't expect a reply.

Edit. Or maybe go full coward mode with "I don't read replies or responses " šŸ˜„

Edited by ManDee

12 minutes ago, Abyssal said:

Struth, where to begin?

Ā 

Please clarify.

Ā 

Ā 

Ā 

If we had Jakovich plus one of Neitz , Lyon or even Jurrah running around now weā€™d be close to flag favourites atm

Our lack of a genuine consistent performer in the F50 has and continues to be a weaknessĀ 

Getting the ball inside F50 hasnā€™t been the challenge - conversion and taking opportunities has beenĀ 

Unfortunately we have nobody of the calibre of these guys coming through either so we just have to make doĀ 

Ā 

15 hours ago, titan_uranus said:

But we could go Spargo or Laurie instead of Disco if weā€™re going to try a smaller forward line, Fritsch going deeper to be the third tall.

Reckon this is a real possibility.Ā  It would be a different story if all of our 3 KPF types could be relied upon but that is not the case

And it's a midfielders game these days with up to 12-14 players playing some sort of role between half back & half forward (that includes the 4 on the bench being part of the rotations)

Ā I'd much prefer if we went with just the 2 KPF's and another runner

How many KPF's did the Hawks go with last night?Ā 

10 minutes ago, Sydee said:

If we had Jakovich plus one of Neitz , Lyon or even Jurrah running around now weā€™d be close to flag favourites atm

Our lack of a genuine consistent performer in the F50 has and continues to be a weaknessĀ 

Getting the ball inside F50 hasnā€™t been the challenge - conversion and taking opportunities has beenĀ 

Unfortunately we have nobody of the calibre of these guys coming through either so we just have to make doĀ 

Ā 

Too right, Jakovich and any of Schwarz (pre-knee) Neitz, Lyon or Jurrah would win by a furlong over the star-billing of Curnow and McKay.

The Wiz for icing.

3 hours ago, Roost it far said:

Adding Pickett, McVee and Windsor will make a huge difference to our running and skills. A lot to like about us this year, Iā€™m excitedĀ 

Was just thinking about these three. Now that Windsor is out, we're missing a bit of leg speed this week. Can't wait to see them all out there together.

If Fritta put in as much as effort as he puts into his ā€˜hairā€™ each week, heā€™d be a star ā­ļøĀ 

2nd and 3rd efforts arenā€™t so convincing šŸ˜¢

Ā 
On 19/03/2025 at 18:52, Roost it far said:

He kicked 14 goals in the last 12 rounds last year, showed little to no second efforts, defensively he was horrible and on Sunday he was goalless and lacklustre at best. At what point does he get a whack. Iā€™d give him another 3-4 games to show us he deserves a game.Ā 

Whaaaaaaaccccckkkkkk!!!!!!

Meanwhile back to pre game analysis....

I can see Jefferson being the sub this week.

Turner for AJ

Woewodin for Windsor

Petracca and Fritsch to play more at full forward.

JVR to be second ruck.

1 minute ago, Fat Tony said:

I can see Jefferson being the sub this week.

Turner for AJ

Woewodin for Windsor

JVR to be second ruck.

Iā€™ll guarantee Spargo plays

56 minutes ago, Abyssal said:

Struth, where to begin?

Ā 

Please clarify.

Ā 

Ā 

Ā 

Jurrah 2.25 goals per game

1 minute ago, SthSea22 said:

And wasn't he exciting to watch!Ā 

I have to admit that I had this down as a danger game pre season, and that is before the list of outs got bigger. We seem to struggle against the fast moving teams and with the pace and skill we are missing it won't be any easier. God I hope I'm wrong.

17 minutes ago, Fat Tony said:

Petracca could destroy a team like North up forward

16 minutes ago, SthSea22 said:

Yes, could have been anything!

Always thought he was G. Ablett snr Mk11 without the strength.

fritsch has definitely not been our 'best forward' over the last 50 years

but he has been our best forward in our most successful period since neitz was our best forward in our previous successful period under daniher

neitz has a coleman, fritsch has a premiership

i reckon i know what neitz would have traded to claim the latter...

We will go with the 4 talls (TMac, Lever, Petty, Howes) in the backline which rules out Adams on the bench.Ā  Ā We need the 3 talls in the forward line as JVR will help out Max, So Turner takes one bench spot.Ā  Ā Two of the other three bench spots will go to runners who can kick goals - Sharp, SpargoĀ  The last spot will go to relief for midfielders which is Rivers.Ā  Ā  It then comes to Langford, Laurie and Woewoden for the sub spot.Ā  Ā They will probably play Langford at Casey to get a full game in as he only had a quarter last week.Ā  Ā Of course they might think it's too rushed to put Spargo back yet and give Langford a full game.Ā  Ā It really hurts when you have 12 unavailable due to injuries/suspensions.

27 minutes ago, Left Foot Snap said:

I have to admit that I had this down as a danger game pre season, and that is before the list of outs got bigger. We seem to struggle against the fast moving teams and with the pace and skill we are missing it won't be any easier. God I hope I'm wrong.

Then you should be very confident- the roos are just about the worst transition team in the AFL, and really struggle to move the ball quickly.

9 minutes ago, stinga said:

We will go with the 4 talls (TMac, Lever, Petty, Howes) in the backline which rules out Adams on the bench.Ā  Ā We need the 3 talls in the forward line as JVR will help out Max, So Turner takes one bench spot.Ā  Ā Two of the other three bench spots will go to runners who can kick goals - Sharp, SpargoĀ  The last spot will go to relief for midfielders which is Rivers.Ā  Ā  It then comes to Langford, Laurie and Woewoden for the sub spot.Ā  Ā They will probably play Langford at Casey to get a full game in as he only had a quarter last week.Ā  Ā Of course they might think it's too rushed to put Spargo back yet and give Langford a full game.Ā  Ā It really hurts when you have 12 unavailable due to injuries/suspensions.

I reckon they'll start Langford - good opportunity for him to get going, particularly given he played so well against the roos in the practice match which will help his confidence.

The roos have a very good midfield, very dees like with their bulls and inside mids. Langford is a good match up.Ā 

Spargo to play. Sharp as sub.Ā 

I struggle to us kicking a winning total with that forward line. This will be a close run game, if luck goes our way a 1 goal win.

1 hour ago, Roost it far said:

Iā€™ll guarantee Spargo plays

I doubt it based on Goodwin's press conference. I don't think Spargo has played a full VFL game.

33 minutes ago, binman said:

Then you should be very confident- the roos are just about the worst transition team in the AFL, and really struggle to move the ball quickly.

We will see. I'd rather be happy than right any day.