People need to harden up, if you're one who goes every week, sits in the rain etc etc then clearly the OP is not talking about you.

If you are one who goes when/if they can but have other mitigating circumstances (like travel from interstate/regional, family obligations, financial or health issues) that prevent you from going then the OP is not talking about you.

If you could go but decide not to because you can't be stuffed, the Grand Prix is on, it's raining, it won't be a big crowd etc etc then you are the ones being referred to. And that's fine, everyone makes their own choices but don't feel you can then whinge about MFC being treated like a poor relation when it comes to AFL decisions, scheduling, broadcasting, games moved to Docklands etc. We have more supporters out there than people give us credit for, we should really be getting a minimum of 30k to these kinds of games. If we can't when we are a reasonable side what hope do we have when we inevitably slide back down the ladder?

On 16/03/2025 at 19:49, Hellaintabadplacetobe said:

Agree, I was expecting 20k . Great atmosphere in the crowd today The Irish jig for Jimmy had the crowd going off when we goaled, was great.

Sorry if anyone else has said this since page 2...

KEEP IT!!! 💚

On 17/03/2025 at 08:50, Trident22 said:

This is a most truthful take. A friend has told me that it was our 3rd highest crowd for a game against GWS. 

I really loved the Irish jig after goals. It got great traction the longer it went on and I really feel as though the MFC should persist with it and build a tradition. It's a great nod to Jimmy, the man who essentially saved the Club, again! It is a darn sight better than the junk pop/hip hop stuff the AFL are trying to push, which is not organic and drowns out the natural crowd noise. I sit on Level 2 of the MCC and it's usually very dull....yesterday, people actually got behind the jig and started clapping along..almost unheard of...anyone else agree that we could build something here? 

Reading on from p.2 now.

Yep.

Edited by Timothy Reddan-A'Blew

4 hours ago, Dr. Gonzo said:

People need to harden up, if you're one who goes every week, sits in the rain etc etc then clearly the OP is not talking about you.

If you are one who goes when/if they can but have other mitigating circumstances (like travel from interstate/regional, family obligations, financial or health issues) that prevent you from going then the OP is not talking about you.

If you could go but decide not to because you can't be stuffed, the Grand Prix is on, it's raining, it won't be a big crowd etc etc then you are the ones being referred to. And that's fine, everyone makes their own choices but don't feel you can then whinge about MFC being treated like a poor relation when it comes to AFL decisions, scheduling, broadcasting, games moved to Docklands etc. We have more supporters out there than people give us credit for, we should really be getting a minimum of 30k to these kinds of games. If we can't when we are a reasonable side what hope do we have when we inevitably slide back down the ladder?

Those missing people you referenced have already made up their minds on how they are going to view the team playing.  I can't see them going more often just because they are seemingly supposed to

And what are the chances that even one of the no-shows is even reading what you've got to say?  You may as well be talking to a brick wall, in all reality

This conversation reminds me of a coach I once had who went off his head about the lack of numbers at Tuesday training.  We had to tell him that it's no good lecturing us, we're here!

Needless to say he didn't last very long after that!

Anyway, we could pick up lapsed members but are they going to go to many games? They are not die-hards

To increase the crowd numbers we need more die-hards.  That can come from new adult members or those that go to say, 75% of games

And that will come with more team success but it's a slow-burn

It's rare to get adults to change teams and adopt the Demons, and the Chinese & Indian communities do not seem to be interested in footy

So it's the kids and the Auskick kids.  If we win they will want to barrack for us but then we have to wait 10-15 years for those kids to become adult members

The club needs to get the kids on board out at Casey & Cardinia ... there's over 500,000 people in the 2 Shires. It's huge and it's untapped (and nearly twice as big as the Greater Geelong area)

I'd give every kid a free membership out there and then hope that the Mums and Dads take them to the footy.  At the very least there would be heaps of Demon jumpers on show at Auskick in those 2 Shires

And if we're doing clinics out there, ramp it up in triplicate

So there is a way out, but it's going to take time

And we can ill-afford to drop out of finals contention in any given year

There's just no point guilt tripping supporters into going to our games. By all means if Melbourne staff and volunteers can phone lapsed members and convince (but not coerce) some to join up again , or devoted fans can get their kids and maybe  friends, such as ones who have moved from other countries, to come to some games and win them over fine. But while we can look longingly round the stands and wish more people were here I doubt most of us can do much. It's a pity but it's just the way it is. Even if I got one wish from a genie, even if the wish had to please a lot more people than just me, crowd sizes would not be a part of it.

A boutique stadium for all these low-drawing games could be an answer too

Trouble is where do you build it and how much would it cost?  

So North, St.Kilda, Melbourne, Hawthorn, Bulldogs vs GWS, Gold Coast, Freo, West Coast, Adelaide & Port Adelaide could all fit nicely into a 30,000 seat stadium (roofed)

You'd have a much better atmosphere than what the sparse crowds at the MCG or Docklands deliver

The AFL are now just entering into the next broadcast rights ($4.5Billion) so it's not like the league is short on a quid

1 minute ago, Macca said:

A boutique stadium for all these low-drawing games could be an answer too

Trouble is where do you build it and how much would it cost?  

So North, St.Kilda, Melbourne, Hawthorn, Bulldogs vs GWS, Gold Coast, Freo, West Coast, Adelaide & Port Adelaide could all fit nicely into a 30,000 seat stadium (roofed)

You'd have a much better atmosphere than what the sparse crowds at the MCG or Docklands deliver

The AFL are now just entering into the next broadcast rights ($4.5Billion) so it's not like the league is short on a quid

Personally I think the MCG generates enough atmosphere for crowds 20-30K. I thought Sundays game was an excellent watch at the game. However I’m not mad on massive crowds so love the G with 30-50K. 

1 minute ago, Roost it far said:

Personally I think the MCG generates enough atmosphere for crowds 20-30K. I thought Sundays game was an excellent watch at the game. However I’m not mad on massive crowds so love the G with 30-50K. 

Yeah, I reckon we need a 3rd stadium and it can be multi-purpose

And whilst our game had a decent atmosphere on Sunday my point was about the other 20-30 low drawing games played every season (in Melbourne) The bigger picture argument

I love it that games are played in Ballarat (2 there this season) but there's a limit on how many could be played at that stadium (it's not big enough)

Failing that Docklands can be used more often.  I just reckon that a smallish crowd & the MCG is not a good fit.  Bigger crowds is a solution too of course but against low-drawing interstate teams?  

17 minutes ago, Macca said:

Yeah, I reckon we need a 3rd stadium and it can be multi-purpose

And whilst our game had a decent atmosphere on Sunday my point was about the other 20-30 low drawing games played every season (in Melbourne) The bigger picture argument

I love it that games are played in Ballarat (2 there this season) but there's a limit on how many could be played at that stadium (it's not big enough)

Failing that Docklands can be used more often.  I just reckon that a smallish crowd & the MCG is not a good fit.  Bigger crowds is a solution too of course but against low-drawing interstate teams?  

Let’s build it at Caulfield 🤔

Edited by Roost it far

We've got a soft draw/fixture which includes 7 home games against low drawing opposition teams (GWS,  GC,  Sydney, WC, Bulldogs, North & Freo) 

So there's a good chance that some of the crowd figures are going to rear their ugly head again

And whenever we miss the finals we get a very similar fixture

My concern is more so about how much money the club is going to make from all these low drawing home games

The saving grace is that we have home games against Richmond & Collingwood so there's that to consider as well (next season we are the away team in both those games)

And we should get a good crowd for our home fixture against the Hawks

But no home (MCG) games against Essendon, Carlton or Geelong

Collingwood on the other hand get MCG home games against Carlton, Essendon, Geelong, Hawthorn, St.Kilda & Melbourne ... they only miss on Richmond

Might not sound like much of a difference but when it happens every season it adds up (from a financial point of view)

Just now, Roost it far said:

Let’s build it at Caulfield 🤔

My idea is a long shot but the AFL is cashed up and should be thinking of the future

22 hours ago, Ghostwriter said:

While I’m at it (and in a grumpy mood) I’m over this whole thing of our fans being “pathetic.” I sat in that rain on Sunday, didn’t leave my seat once. We were up and about for the entire match despite being cold and wet. To come on here after the match (that is, after we pack everything up, twice as hard as usual when everything is waterlogged and weighs a ton) and see this thread title is galling. Stop it, already. Arguing about it is futile. 

I don't know art, but I know what I like; and I really enjoyed the jig dancing. Even found myself getting into it while watching the replay even though they didn't show the dancers.

3 minutes ago, Left Foot Snap said:

I don't know art, but I know what I like; and I really enjoyed the jig dancing. Even found myself getting into it while watching the replay even though they didn't show the dancers.

It seems everyone loved it, but the MFC have seemingly ignored the multiple requests of supporters and members on social media platforms, saying that it will only return in 2026. A mistake and missed opportunity IMHO.

4 minutes ago, Trident22 said:

It seems everyone loved it, but the MFC have seemingly ignored the multiple requests of supporters and members on social media platforms, saying that it will only return in 2026. A mistake and missed opportunity IMHO.

It was funny that the reaction of people around me when it first happened was "what the heck was that". They soon got into it and dancing around though.

This only comes up coz some of us are baited into caring by the Sam McClures of the world....tipping into his rubbish is what is truly pathetic

On 17/03/2025 at 20:11, WERRIDEE said:

I have a problem with my daughter she doesn't like to go to games she went to none last year and didn't go to the GWS game she picks her friends over footy which is understandable but I want a common interest with her and she just can't get into footy.

You need to compromise, W. Try to get involved in something she’s interested in. This is what I do. My sons don’t get into footy. I watch MAFS (I know right) because my older two watch it (again, I know right) and we have a group chat going during each episode which makes it fun. My youngest isn’t into MAFS. He has Asperger’s so if you wanna know anything (and everything, literally EVERYTHING) about 17th century Northern European naval artillery… I’m your gal 👍🏽😅

On 17/03/2025 at 20:11, WERRIDEE said:

I have a problem with my daughter she doesn't like to go to games she went to none last year and didn't go to the GWS game she picks her friends over footy which is understandable but I want a common interest with her and she just can't get into footy.

I'd be disappointed if she didn't value your teams Werridee. Most kids would kill for a selector like you. 

Maybe a mod can chuck an "a" before pathetic, less hostile thread lol

I'm attending this weekends game.

Absolute pumped to be honest because it's my last weekend free before I start my foory season.

Anyone who thinks that horrible weather and scheduling conflicts shouldn't have an effect on crowd sizes is kidding themselves.

24k was fine considering the conditions and it looked noticably worse on TV because people were understandably sitting under cover.

My thoughts on this might be a bit fanciful, but I believe that rather than the supporters being “pathetic”, there is little to no incentive for casual supporters to get along to games. Melbourne has a relatively aged supporter base, as post 60’s domination, we didn’t have the sustained level of success that clubs like Richmond, Collingwood, Carlton, Hawthorn and Essendon had over a long period of time (that is how supporter bases are built - kids jump onto the clubs that are winners).

On discussing this with my son, he suggested that the club needs to start marketing itself to younger people in a way similar to Hawthorn on TikTok, Instagram etc (I’ve no idea because I haven’t seen what they are doing), which apparently is very random and out there stuff, but something that does appeal to potential supporters in the youth demographic.

Me? While I agree with my son, I also believe that the club should be more proactive and offer incentives for people to attend. While this could only apply to home games, there should be ‘prizes’ on offer… signed jerseys, cash prizes, lucky ticket numbers(?), vouchers to the Demon Shop, get the sponsors on board to offer product related prizes… these could be awarded based on ticket numbers, best outfit, video related prizes where people in the crowd are displayed on the screen at the ground based on whatever criteria, and so on.

It’s obvious that people need a reason to attend games, other than just the fact that they follow the club. We on Demonland (and, I suppose, other similar forums and Facebook pages) are rusted on supporters and, I would hope, mostly financial members, so we take it for granted that those of us who are physically able, will attend games… it would be interesting to see what kinds of demographic make up our member base; I’d suggest it is largely an aging base, which could, I’m guessing, explain smaller member turn outs.  Unlike posters on here, your average not so invested supporter needs an incentive to attend.

Edited by hardtack

If you think the crowd was bad on Sunday, imagine what the crowd (or lack thereof) V West Coat at Marvel in early August  is going to be. Particularly if it’s a Sunday 4:40 and/or we’re out of business due to continually losing close games.

19 minutes ago, hardtack said:

My thoughts on this might be a bit fanciful, but I believe that rather than the supporters being “pathetic”, there is little to no incentive for casual supporters to get along to games. Melbourne has a relatively aged supporter base, as post 60’s domination, we didn’t have the sustained level of success that clubs like Richmond, Collingwood, Carlton, Hawthorn and Essendon had over a long period of time (that is how supporter bases are built - kids jump onto the clubs that are winners).

On discussing this with my son, he suggested that the club needs to start marketing itself to younger people in a way similar to Hawthorn on TikTok, Instagram etc (I’ve no idea because I haven’t seen what they are doing), which apparently is very random and out there stuff, but something that does appeal to potential supporters in the youth demographic.

Me? While I agree with my son, I also believe that the club should be more proactive and offer incentives for people to attend. While this could only apply to home games, there should be ‘prizes’ on offer… signed jerseys, cash prizes, lucky ticket numbers(?), vouchers to the Demon Shop, get the sponsors on board to offer product related prizes… these could be awarded based on ticket numbers, best outfit, video related prizes where people in the crowd are displayed on the screen at the ground based on whatever criteria, and so on.

It’s obvious that people need a reason to attend games, other than just the fact that they follow the club. We on Demonland (and, I suppose, other similar forums and Facebook pages) are rusted on supporters and, I would hope, mostly financial members, so we take it for granted that those of us who are physically able, will attend games… it would be interesting to see what kinds of demographic make up our member base; I’d suggest it is largely an aging base, which could, I’m guessing, explain smaller member turn outs.  Unlike posters on here, your average not so invested supporter needs an incentive to attend.

100% Our social media profile is awful and cringeworthy. Giants are the gold standard in that department and who we should emulate.