View in the app

A better way to browse. Learn more.

A full-screen app on your home screen with push notifications, badges and more.

To install this app on iOS and iPadOS
  1. Tap the Share icon in Safari
  2. Scroll the menu and tap Add to Home Screen.
  3. Tap Add in the top-right corner.
To install this app on Android
  1. Tap the 3-dot menu (⋮) in the top-right corner of the browser.
  2. Tap Add to Home screen or Install app.
  3. Confirm by tapping Install.

Members dropping off can be an opportunity. I upgraded my membership from a Reserved Seat to a Trident this year, and it’s been so good.

The Trident seating is brilliant. I love having access to the premium members rooms. I love sitting on level 2A. I love sitting with other absolute Melbourne nut jobs, and I love that the area I sit in is only for Melbourne members so I’m not constantly moving on other supporters from my seats like when I was a Reserved Seat member.

The website will say that it’s waiting list only but call the club next year and have a chat with them. When people drop off jump in.

Sorry if this reads like a chatGPT written promo from the clubs membership department. I just really like my Trident membership and reckon others should jump in while they can.

It’s not like ‘not going to the footy’ is an option for me, so I may as well despair in comfort. 😂

On 27/06/2025 at 09:13, The heart beats true said:

Members dropping off can be an opportunity. I upgraded my membership from a Reserved Seat to a Trident this year, and it’s been so good.

The Trident seating is brilliant. I love having access to the premium members rooms. I love sitting on level 2A.

Northern Stand or Shane Warne Stand?

Melbourne's membership woes are twofold really :

A fickle supporter base that has a section that only renews when wins are trending upward.

A membership team that doesn't recognise member value by constantly increasing prices and reducing included benefits for regular members at the cost of exorbitantly priced "experiences" catered to executives.

let's hope they will allow a reserved seat without the mandatory grand final priority tax (like they used to prior to 20220.

it's especially onerous when you buy multiple tickets with kids

18 hours ago, pitmaster said:

Northern Stand or Shane Warne Stand?

Shane Warne Stand, and that’s the only information I’ll divulge. I LOVE going to the footy by myself, not having to talk to anyone, and getting fully engrossed in the game. 😂

15 hours ago, The heart beats true said:

Shane Warne Stand, and that’s the only information I’ll divulge. I LOVE going to the footy by myself, not having to talk to anyone, and getting fully engrossed in the game. 😂

Thanks for the reply. I was looking at the Trident waitlist as I normally sit in the MCC area but I am sick of sharing the space - and being outnumbered - with opposition supporters. I was assuming I'd still be on the northern stand side. But I noticed that some Warne stand Trident seats are better positioned and might have to consider them if the opportunity arises.

I'll seek no more information from yae, and should I proceed I'll make a point of not disturbing the Solitary Silent One. 🤫🤫

Just now, pitmaster said:

Thanks for the reply. I was looking at the Trident waitlist as I normally sit in the MCC area but I am sick of sharing the space - and being outnumbered - with opposition supporters. I was assuming I'd still be on the northern stand side. But I noticed that some Warne stand Trident seats are better positioned and might have to consider them if the opportunity arises.

I'll seek no more information from yae, and should I proceed I'll make a point of not disturbing the Solitary Silent One. 🤫🤫

Honestly it’s fantastic. I rocked up to the Kings Birthday game literally 2 minutes before the bounce knowing that my seat would be there, and that I had great access to the game, and had real Demon die hards around me.

If it’s just one seat you’re likely to get a good spot. I sit between the wing and half forward flank and absolutely love my spot on level 2A. Call the club when ‘26 memberships go on sale and they’ll likely be able to help.

Edited by The heart beats true

After today’s shameless capitulation maybe 2026 will see a precipitous drop off.

If anybody from the clubs administration monitors these boards. Just know that the MFC will be -3 next year unless the whole footy department isnt turfed. At the very very least, Goody and Richo gone. Im not investing in another year of this garbage.

Those that tout "but you need to support the players no matter wat OR your not a diehard... " I hear you, but i will not sit idly by whilst the club doesn't make the required changes. if they are not willing to make the hard choices, there will be enough people like me that will threaten the clubs bottom line and 'encourage' them into action.

On 10/07/2025 at 12:29, daisycutter said:

let's hope they will allow a reserved seat without the mandatory grand final priority tax (like they used to prior to 20220.

it's especially onerous when you buy multiple tickets with kids

if we are forced to pay for access to GF tickets for a reserved seat next year, i will be thinkng hard about renewing. Three reserved seat memberships (for one adult, one concession and one 15 year old) was over $1500.00 this season. Considering that we are unlikely to make the GF next year, i am willing to forego the guaranteed access and will take my chances at securing a GF ticket privately….if we make it.

9 hours ago, monoccular said:

After today’s shameless capitulation maybe 2026 will see a precipitous drop off.

Sadly ,you may well be right 😞

If any were dithering, possibly waiting for a sign we’re getting back into shape and some semblance of decent footy... well they got their sign.

Is there a chance that our 2023 membership number was artificially inflated? I've had a look at some of the other teams that have struggled over the last few years and none of them have a drop-off that we've seen. With Richmond, the Saints, the Hawks and North it's only been a 3-5k drop off. We're seeing a 13k drop-off. That just seems a bit ridiculous and I'm actually questioning the validity of the 70k in 2023 especially when you consider our home attendances.

1 hour ago, At the break of Gawn said:

Is there a chance that our 2023 membership number was artificially inflated? I've had a look at some of the other teams that have struggled over the last few years and none of them have a drop-off that we've seen. With Richmond, the Saints, the Hawks and North it's only been a 3-5k drop off. We're seeing a 13k drop-off. That just seems a bit ridiculous and I'm actually questioning the validity of the 70k in 2023 especially when you consider our home attendances.

A similar rationale would say our crowds in the 2018 finals supports the idea that there can be 70,000 members.

I'm switching to an AFL Reserve membership next year. It's basically the same amount of money as a Dees membership, and I'll get additional games to be able to watch more exciting teams and games, while still watching us.

8 hours ago, At the break of Gawn said:

A very good point - the AFL has adopted different "cut-off dates" for annual membership counts and the AFL normally crow about the numbers in September based on the numbers at the end of the home and away season. In George's table (on page 1) he records 67,673 as at end of July 2023 but then also posts a post-July 31 number of over 70,000. Our Annual Report boasted 71,388 (probably a number as at 31 October - the financial year-end), probably because the Strategic Plan had a target of 75,000 - maybe bonuses depended upon it?

As has been posted before on DL these "gross" numbers do not equate to the number of individual members, and of course the numbers include junior members.

12 hours ago, KoltTheRam said:

I'm switching to an AFL Reserve membership next year. It's basically the same amount of money as a Dees membership, and I'll get additional games to be able to watch more exciting teams and games, while still watching us.

Access to cheaper finals tickets too

On 01/08/2025 at 21:34, Dr. Gonzo said:

Access to cheaper finals tickets too

And when you make Gold status (albeit after 20 years) you're guaranteed (in theory) a Prelim and GF ticket if your team is playing.

When I became a Gold AFL Member in 2010 we were being hyped as the next Dynasty with a midfield of Scully, Grimes, Trengove, and Watts.

15 years on and I've never attended a Prelim or GF as a participating club member. Sad, innit?

36 minutes ago, praha said:

And when you make Gold status (albeit after 20 years) you're guaranteed (in theory) a Prelim and GF ticket if your team is playing.

When I became a Gold AFL Member in 2010 we were being hyped as the next Dynasty with a midfield of Scully, Grimes, Trengove, and Watts.

15 years on and I've never attended a Prelim or GF as a participating club member. Sad, innit?

I got Gold in 2003 I think, never attended one either 😕

Been to a few Prelims tho with my wife who supports Geelong.

I actually binned the AFL membership for a couple of years around the Bailey/Neeld era as wanted the money to go the club rather than AFL. When I realised how much finals tickets had increased I relented and went back to AFL after a couple of years, they let me back as a Gold paying an absentee fee for the years I'd missed. In 2022/23 I paid about $20 for finals tickets instead of the $80 or so it would've cost as a club member.

How can a club sell 3 game memberships when there's only 1 game left? There's something not adding up about the Saints membership numbers. There's no way they have more supporters than us.

11 minutes ago, At the break of Gawn said:

How can a club sell 3 game memberships when there's only 1 game left? There's something not adding up about the Saints membership numbers. There's no way they have more supporters than us.

It is for 2026 memberships.

I was talking to a St Kilda mate this morning who saod he and many others he knew weren't going to renew next year if Wanganeen-Milera left.

It doesn't take much to get signatures, but I hope all those that refused to re-sign because of Goodwin re-sign next year. I won't be holding my breath though.

I will always buy a membership because the club is bigger than my disappointment in it.

26 minutes ago, At the break of Gawn said:

How can clubs sell 3-game memberships for $7 and count them as members??!!

It's time club memberships were measured, reported and compared, in total dollars, not people (and pets, pot plants, ghosts, etc)

Edited by Timothy Reddan-A'Blew

27 minutes ago, Lucifers Hero said:

It is for 2026 memberships.

I thought 2026 memberships weren't available yet?

58,191 for 2025, guess we are back to 2021 pre- premiership numbers, it was nice to get that three year bump particularly 2023 when we actually achieved 70,000. The boys really played some exciting football and we all hoped it would last. I guess we just have to buckle up and wait for the next wave, just hope it’s not to long.👍😁

2 hours ago, Timothy Reddan-A'Blew said:

How can clubs sell 3-game memberships for $7 and count them as members??!!

It's time club memberships were measured, reported and compared, in total dollars, not people (and pets, pot plants, ghosts, etc)

The AFL doesn't want that disclosed. Just total numbers which the AFL announced recently (August 8, 2025) by a tiny percentage (2.8%) 1,324,304 from 1,319,687 in 2024. The AFL's official cut-off for 2025 members is 31 August 2025 and they are required to be provided by the Clubs in early September.