ElDiablo14 5,055 Posted August 20, 2024 Posted August 20, 2024 Just now, Demonland said: Legacy 🔴🔵 1 1 Quote
Antioch 235 Posted August 20, 2024 Posted August 20, 2024 4 minutes ago, biggestred said: "Our culture is so bad I bring my daughters into it" What sort of complete [censored] writes this about Viney whose leadership is not in question at all? Quote
Fat Tony 5,337 Posted August 20, 2024 Posted August 20, 2024 I love Viney but I don't understand why we needed to do such a long deal given he had one year left. 1 Quote
ElDiablo14 5,055 Posted August 20, 2024 Posted August 20, 2024 6 minutes ago, biggestred said: "Our culture is so bad I bring my daughters into it" Just give us one son JV! 🤞🏻 2 1 Quote
ElDiablo14 5,055 Posted August 20, 2024 Posted August 20, 2024 1 minute ago, Fat Tony said: I love Viney but I don't understand why we needed to do such a long deal given he had one year left. Similar to Max, the club must be preparing for the future. Both in terms of cap space and handing over the reign to the next generation. They will help develop the young guns coming through. 3 1 Quote
Fat Tony 5,337 Posted August 20, 2024 Posted August 20, 2024 1 minute ago, ElDiablo14 said: Similar to Max, the club must be preparing for the future. Both in terms of cap space and handing over the reign to the next generation. They will help develop the young guns coming through. I am confident Max will still be a top liner in three years but less confident in Jack will be in four. Would love to be proven wrong. 1 Quote
The Stigga 1,097 Posted August 20, 2024 Posted August 20, 2024 (edited) Ata boy https://www.melbournefc.com.au/news/1635019/viney-stays-true-demons-new-deal-with-dees Edited August 20, 2024 by The Stigga 2 2 Quote
poita 3,944 Posted August 20, 2024 Posted August 20, 2024 25 minutes ago, Adam The God said: We're following the Geelong model. Great to have Jack re-signed until 2028. Except that Geelong don't hand out 4 years to guys in their 30s. I love Jack Viney and never thought he'd leave, but a 4 year deal is insane. Quote
waynewussell 6,976 Posted August 20, 2024 Posted August 20, 2024 Stick that in 'ya pipe and choke on it, doubters! Quote
Bang Bang Bang 5,875 Posted August 20, 2024 Posted August 20, 2024 Fantastic! Barring a catastrophe, he should get to 300 games. A bit disappointed Lamby didn't consult with DeeSpencer prior to this, but I'll take it. 3 Quote
biggestred 5,311 Posted August 20, 2024 Posted August 20, 2024 16 minutes ago, Antioch said: What sort of complete [censored] writes this about Viney whose leadership is not in question at all? Huh? Jack wrote it. It's clearly a thinly veiled swipe at the media who think the culture is [censored] cos if it was he wouldn't be bringing his daughters into the club?!? Quote
Sir Why You Little 37,452 Posted August 20, 2024 Posted August 20, 2024 13 minutes ago, Demonland said: Demons for Life ❤️💙😈 Do this again Boys…September Memories with a good bottle of Grey Goose Big Night 🥃 1 1 Quote
Adam The God 30,721 Posted August 20, 2024 Posted August 20, 2024 Just now, poita said: Except that Geelong don't hand out 4 years to guys in their 30s. I love Jack Viney and never thought he'd leave, but a 4 year deal is insane. What are you talking about? Jack is 30. Tom Hawkins is 36... Dangerfield 34, Duncan 33 and Selwood played until he was 35. It's not beyond the realm of possibility that Jack will get another deal after this one... 4 Quote
Chook 15,068 Posted August 20, 2024 Posted August 20, 2024 Such a poor show of reactionary-ism from this terrible club to snap-sign Gawn and Viney on long term contracts just to try in vain to present the image of a functioning footy club. #Sad #Sarcasm 1 3 Quote
Billy 2,566 Posted August 20, 2024 Posted August 20, 2024 Well I’ll be buggered things aren’t as bad as the footy world thinks Media can go & get you know what Onya Jacky boy MFC royalty 1 Quote
Garbo 1,567 Posted August 20, 2024 Posted August 20, 2024 (edited) Love Viney but is this the right move, he would be 35 by the end of that contact, not many make it that long let alone smallish inside mids. Edited August 20, 2024 by Garbo 1 Quote
Axis of Bob 11,944 Posted August 20, 2024 Posted August 20, 2024 4 minutes ago, poita said: Except that Geelong don't hand out 4 years to guys in their 30s. I guess Tom Stewart is going to need a new lawyer then!! 1 1 Quote
adonski 13,252 Posted August 20, 2024 Posted August 20, 2024 Deloitte clearing paying off for Jacky boy #ArtOfTheDeal Quote
Billy 2,566 Posted August 20, 2024 Posted August 20, 2024 Can’t we just be happy he’s signed, might be one year to long but who cares. Some supporters are a miserable lot 3 2 Quote
Demonland 74,418 Posted August 20, 2024 Posted August 20, 2024 1 minute ago, Billy said: Can’t we just be happy he’s signed, might be one year to long but who cares. Some supporters are a miserable lot Just wait for the media boffins to start getting stuck into us about the length of the extension. 5 Quote
old55 23,860 Posted August 20, 2024 Posted August 20, 2024 29 minutes ago, DeeSpencer said: 4 years for a beat up one dimensional mid who has to nurse a cooked shoulder through half the game. Look I agree that 4 years is a stretch but there is such a thing as shoulder surgery and I've long believed Jack could be very effective in the forward 50. With Gus and ANB leaving we're desperately short of off-field leadership - Max, Jack, Lever (who you don't rate) and then daylight, to steward a lot of young players on the rise. IMO we've paid a premium for what Jack can deliver in this area. 3 1 Quote
Sir Why You Little 37,452 Posted August 20, 2024 Posted August 20, 2024 6 minutes ago, Garbo said: Love Viney but is this the right move, he would be 35 by the end of that contact, not many make it that long let alone smallish inside mids. I would think in 2025 his contract will be front loaded and then will gently taper. He may still be worth 1 year contracts after 35. He is Jack Viney He is just as big a Legend of the Club as Max, Tracc or Gus 3 1 Quote
DeeSpencer 26,670 Posted August 20, 2024 Posted August 20, 2024 10 minutes ago, Adam The God said: What are you talking about? Jack is 30. Tom Hawkins is 36... Dangerfield 34, Duncan 33 and Selwood played until he was 35. It's not beyond the realm of possibility that Jack will get another deal after this one... Happy to be proven wrong but can you find any of them signing a 4 year deal? Or even a 3 year deal over 30? Wheres the faith between the club and player that they’ll keep playing at the right pay rate for as long as needed. 4 is bonkers. Quote