Christian Petracca

15 minutes ago, Demonland said:

What an absolute rabble of a club we are. 

You just know things a cooked when Gary Lyon squirms whenever he's asked something.

I'm pretty [censored] at Petracca in all of this but never has a club unravelled quite like this.

1 hour ago, Oxdee said:

The guy has 3-4 more years of good football then his brand is gone. No brand other than Jordan continues past a players retirement. 

You obviously haven't received a recorded birthday message from Warwick Capper. 

• Haha 13

Just now, praha said:

You just know things a cooked when Gary Lyon squirms whenever he's asked something.

I'm pretty [censored] at Petracca in all of this but never has a club unravelled quite like this.

Certainly can't remember the last time the club went through this type of experience with a current player. 

Shane Woewodin perhaps? That was pretty messy and ugly.

20 minutes ago, Dockett 32 said:

How can any of that be considered ‘fair compensation’.

We got two firsts and a second for Jackson?

Jackson was 20/21 when we traded him. Trac will be 29 next season coming off a very bad injury. I think the proposed trades are a bit optimistic.  

31 minutes ago, Jaded No More said:

I am starting to think that his delusions of grandeur are going to get him into a lot of trouble. 

Not sure they're entirely his, but yes.

2 hours ago, Fanatique Demon said:

This is true. And the parallels with Trac are amazing.

A few years ago my wife gave me a mug that said “World’s Greatest Husband”. It was my Norm Smith!  We had moved into a beautiful house and everything was great! 

One day I was using the Karcher to clean the stone wall in front of the house. After a while I felt tired and went inside for a rest before I’d finished. The wife said I should finish it that day because we had guests the next, and a half clean wall would look odd. She sent me back out there when I was really hurt. I continued with it until I couldn’t even hold the hose. Something was obviously wrong, so my wife called the ambulance and soon enough I was in intensive care. I’d suffered an extreme heart attack and had only 1% blood flow. 

The doctors worked on me with an emergency operation and saved my life. I was in intensive care for four days. I wasn’t allowed visitors because of Covid. 

That’s all true.

It’s only now, watching Trac, that I know what I could have done next.

While recovering I could have plotted. I didn’t like the direction of the marriage. (How could she not know that my arteries were clogged?)

In order to extricate myself from the marriage, I could give my wife one reason. I could tell my friends another. And I could tell a few stories to the neighbours as well.

There’s sure to be someone else interested in me. Maybe someone with more friends, or famous friends that would help me enjoy my life, like I deserve. Hey, maybe a rich woman. I know a couple of well connected wealthy widows who like to throw big parties. Then I could tell my dad jokes in front of a larger audience. I’d love the attention!

It would be a great way to build my brand.

Thanks Trac.

I’m sorry for your health issues, but this is one of the funniest posts I’ve seen in a while. Thanks for bringing merriment to the communal wrist slitting which is this thread.

2 minutes ago, Colm said:

Jackson was 20/21 when we traded him. Trac will be 29 next season coming off a very bad injury. I think the proposed trades are a bit optimistic.  

I don’t.

Multiple AA, Norm Smith, B&F , Premiership player  and a big contrat indicating he intends going on for a while yet.

Be quite interesting if a grievance committee found in his favour ( which seems doubtful).

I mean three first rounders in ‘this years’ draft might [censored] every other club as the last non Tassie influenced  draft for a while.

Potentially nuclear alright.

I’d love for him to try the grievance tribunal. It would be a completely frivolous claim and he is taking on the League and the Club in doing so. They ticked off his treatment. The Drs at hospital would support the club doctors. He is getting some terribella advice from somewhere 

Edited by Kick_It_To_Pickett

11 minutes ago, dazzledavey36 said:

Certainly can't remember the last time the club went through this type of experience with a current player. 

Shane Woewodin perhaps? That was pretty messy and ugly.

Mitch Clark was messy, but this is staggering and incomprehensible.

How much of this is being over dramatised by the media. I feel like the AFL should step in and tell them to calm down.

I find it astonishing that two entities who have spent so much time together aren’t able to get together over a coffee and cake and talk this through. Maybe that’s happened and it’s just irreparable

jeez

50 minutes ago, Mickey said:

No way would they help him get to the club he wants. AFL have no interest seeing a star player walk out on his club without the club getting a fair return

If CPs central grievance is the club's mishandling of his injury any claim would have little chance of succeeding. The AFL  ok'd the protocols followed at the time. And there is a mass of published evidence where he expressed no hard feelings about it. Add to that a mountain of communications he had with Goodwin in the weeks following...all positive, according to Goodwin.

4 hours ago, Demonland said:

Off topic but that type of tech as it improves exponentially is going to be a massive problem in the future particularly in the political spectrum and perhaps elsewhere.

Would be quite handy right now. Club just mocks up a video of Trac's manager saying he's staying put and everyone can get back to work, which considering the profile of our fan-base could spare the Australian economy approximately $1 billion in lost productivity and related job losses. 

• Haha 5

All this just does more damage to the Melbourne football clubs reputation.

It’s just another chapter in ugliness which would only deter decent players in wanting to come to us.

As one commentator said the MFC has a dreadful stink about it right now.

A combination of terrible luck and poor management.

1 minute ago, DeeZee said:

It’s just another chapter in ugliness which would only deter decent players in wanting to come to us.

The injury was terrible luck but I'd say everything else appears to be poor management.

Trac knows well enough that his brand will return if he lands at another big club with adoring fans ... it is all about money ... it is all about money outside of footy and after footy ... "let the place burn" gee if that's what he said its just terrible ... kids that adore him are listening to this and he just doesn't have the awareness it seems

Edited by Demons1858

2 minutes ago, DeeZee said:

This is why picks are better - if Trac goes like this then we need to start again with a new group as we're not going to be able to attract anyone of note.  Our kids are good - we add a few more the next two years and it will turn around.

Maybe there is a stalemate and radio silence from both player and club because the issues  (aka “grievances”) run very deep and touch on matters that are the subject of current or future legal proceedings and neither party wants to go there. I have no idea but I can’t for a second accept that the current strategy of Trac is the result of professional/paid advisers. 

2 hours ago, Jjrogan said:

This guy has no idea. trac5 has almost 500k followers. You reckon they are all going to leave?  Ok, boomer.  He can make $10,000 a post. He can post something once every 2 days and he'll be making more money than he does playing football.  Wouldn't be surprised if the goal is 1 mln followers, as much as it 300 games.  

His personal brand has 170,000 followers - the websites I oversee content for have around the same on LinkedIn. His cooking page making pasta and sandwiches has closer to 500,000, but I imagine the engagement rate other than in the past few days would be relatively low and no-one will give a stuff in a couple of years when he retires.

He's not being paid $10,000 by the Australian Egg Council to link to a post cooking a frittata. 

It would obviously be appealing to be doing social media stuff compared a grueling recovery process and slogging his way through another pre-season, especially after his serious injury, but I think he's being lured by easy cash now and not understanding his brand isn't all that special to begin with and is currently being tarnished beyond repair.  

1 hour ago, binman said:

The last sentence is such an obvious point.

I mean how many clubs want to spend a million bucks a year on a player that prospective teammates thinks is a diva?

I’d like to think so, but how much will JHF be on?

"Over the weekend and into yesterday he made it clear to the Demons that he wants to be traded with the five years remaining on that contract worth $1 million per season."

Does this mean he wants to be traded to a club willing to pay him $ 1 million over 5 years?

34 minutes ago, praha said:

Our sponsors must be thrilled.....this is damaging our club in so many ways.