Posted (edited)
2 hours ago, Elwood 3184 said:

Tom Papley says good evening.

Tom Papley and Christian Petracca are two separate people. What worked for one may not work for the other.

edit: Tim Kelly probs also says good evening. He’s also not Christian Petracca. 

Edited by WalkingCivilWar

Posted
3 minutes ago, deelusions from afar said:

IF what is being reported by the "journalists" is true... then it's just so sad.  We waited for 57 years to break the drought and our Norm Smith medal winner wants out of the club when after a number of things unravelled a few years later.

It's bad enough that the likes of ANB and Harmes will have finished their careers elsewhere when we watch the 2021 replay... but would never have thought the Trac would be elsewhere.  I thought he was our next Captain.  I made a book about him for my nephews. It's heartbreaking.

I remember the pain of Woey and Farmer and they were bad enough... but this is another level.😭

Perhaps The Curse continues until we finally win one at the G, in front of our home crowd.

Posted
15 minutes ago, Jack7 said:

This time last year,Goodwin said on numerous occasions "we won't trade Brodie Grundy under any circumstances"

This trade will get done as was Grundy's.

As long as we keep Clarry and Viney,i'm happy to lose Trac,he's a self centrered sook who runs his own selfish agenda in a team environment,a culture killer or the 10% we had left.

Let's get the best deal and move on,he's 29 and won't return to his best after this mental trauma.

Totally agree. As some have mentioned, there'd be some doubt he'll ever recapture that form after those injuries.

He's gone.

He's burnt his bridges with all of these leaks.

Let's get some young fast kids into the club. A couple more Caleb Windsor's and another good forward this year and we'll move on.

Hope we pull a good deal for him.

He and his management team appear to be devoid of any integrity.

Posted

McClure just insinuated Tracc and Goodwin have had a deteriorating relationship while Lloyd suggested team mates have suggested its best for Tracc to go. What a mess.

• Shocked 2

Posted

The reasons listed on footy classified if true raises red flags for both club and player & shocked as it questions the character of the player, losing finals and small crowds , building own brand… very concerning if true & definitely selfless has gone out the window! 

Posted (edited)

Take the two polar extremes.

At one end, you have a club who has completely mismanaged every aspect relating to this situation, whether it's how we dealt with Clarry last year, or Trac's KB injury, or whatever else is going wrong behind the scenes. We are falling apart and the most professional player on our list doesn't want to be a part of that any more.

At the other end, you have a player who has become disenfranchised from the club and is seemingly prioritising selfish desires over the club's and his teammates, all the while tearing the club down from the inside and making us even worse off than whatever we were before.

Neither of those situations will be entirely true.

But I'm sure the truth is a blend of both.

For the club to be in a situation now where our most important player, both on-field and off-field, no longer wants to be here is an indictment on the club. It does not matter what you think about Trac, it is an indictment on the club that we are even anywhere near this level. 

But there is a degree of Trac prioritising the wrong things that I think is becoming clearer. Part of that may well be the impact of his injury on his decision-making, but regardless, we now have a player who appears to no longer have the trust or connection with his own teammates, and I think that says something about how he has carried himself.

Whether or not this is fixable remains to be seen. If there isn't a deal out there that is extraordinarily substantial in value, it's going to have to be fixable, because Trac leaving pushes us down into levels of irrelevance that we literally cannot afford right now. 

Edited by titan_uranus
Posted
2 minutes ago, Norm Smith's Curse said:

McClure just insinuated Tracc and Goodwin have had a deteriorating relationship while Lloyd suggested team mates have suggested its best for Tracc to go. What a mess.

Is the McClure insinuation from his segment on Nine earlier this evening?

Posted
3 minutes ago, WalkingCivilWar said:

Tom Papley and Christian Petracca are two separate people. What worked for one may not work for the other.

edit: Tim Kelly probs also says good evening. He’s also not Christian Petracca. 

Lachie Neale is the closest in terms of “star power”. He wanted out but for family reasons, and stayed. 
I presume things didn’t get this bad between him and the rest of the playing group tho.

Posted
18 minutes ago, Jack7 said:

This time last year,Goodwin said on numerous occasions "we won't trade Brodie Grundy under any circumstances"

This trade will get done as was Grundy's.

As long as we keep Clarry and Viney,i'm happy to lose Trac,he's a self centrered sook who runs his own selfish agenda in a team environment,a culture killer or the 10% we had left.

Let's get the best deal and move on,he's 29 and won't return to his best after this mental trauma.

Trac will play more good football no doubt, but at 29 he’s at the peak if not slightly passed his best football.

As much as it would hurt to see him go, it would help fasten our “rebuild” and if we look too offload Trac, then clearly we are in rebuild mode. Where would that leave the club with Clarry?

Pick 5, plus a few more juicy picks, could certainly launch our new midfield brigade. And I’d much rather leaders of Gawn and Viney showing them the ropes, than the likes of Trac and Clarry, who are immature by comparison.

Posted
5 minutes ago, Norm Smith's Curse said:

McClure is full of [censored]. Trac has no issue with Goody. In fact the original leak from his camp via Morris made particular note of that. 

I think the second part of that is true tho. 

Posted

I reckon because of the water under the bridge we trade him to Freo for Serong and Brayshaw. Build a brand in the most isolated city in the world. 

Posted

IMO, the three most telling pieces of information to come out of tonight's reporting are:

1. Sam Edmund saying he wants to play somewhere with "leadership from the top office". As clear an indication as we've had that there are issues between Trac and the board, and/or Pert, and/or Richardson.
  2. Caro saying that there was a board meeting going on as Footy Classified went to air. It sounded like that was a snap meeting. If so, that's not the sign of a club who is wholly resolute in the whole "we're not trading him" piece (although that may remain the position following the meeting).
  3. Lloyd saying that he's spoken with other players at the club who now think it's best that Trac leaves. That's almost the biggest piece of news to come out of it all. 
Posted

I remember the off season when schwarz did his knee and soon after we lost charles and jakovich permenantly .  lyon hurt his back and Tingay cut his leg so badly on a glass door he was never the same. It felt utterly calamitous and the dream was over. This has got the same sour , bitter, sad feeling re Brayshaw, Oliver and Trac . I’m starting to brace myself. 

• Sad 6

Posted
Just now, Norm Smith's Curse said:

I reckon because of the water under the bridge we trade him to Freo for Serong and Brayshaw. Build a brand in the most isolated city in the world. 

Few too many bitters tonight Normie

Posted

Not only that my boss is going to be well annoyed when I spend another trade period buried on my mobile the whole time...

Posted

I know, how about Trac plays down at Casey for 5 years.

Enjoy the big crowds, good form and high off field earning / brand deals at a VFL Club. 

• Clap 3

Posted
2 hours ago, dazzledavey36 said:

What a clusterfurk. Heads must roll over this. Poor leadership, poor governance, poor culture. End of story.

Posted
1 hour ago, Undeeterred said:

Not sure if serious. Please tell me you aren’t 

Greg Wells yes.

Posted

I believe Gary Pert came under a lot of pressure and scrutiny at the MFC board meeting tonight and didn’t present well.   Could he be the Boards sacrificial lamb in order to repair Trac bridge?   Personally I hope Pert, Rofey and Trac all pack their bags…

• Shocked 3
Posted
2 hours ago, DistrACTION Jackson said:

I mean Buddy left the Hawks after they just won a premiership, though he was a free agent. He’s a much bigger player than Trac, so I would have to say that would’ve been worse, but then they won two more flags 😂

Buddy didn't leave the Hawks with bitterness between he and the club though, he left due to the money and contract length plus wanting more anonymity in Sydney. He didn't torch the club on his way out and move to a cross town rival. Completely different circumstances.

Posted (edited)

q

Edited by loges