Posted
7 minutes ago, Bingo said:

I think he'll be playing elsewhere next year...He could easily come out and re-commit to the Dee's but his silence is defining.

What I think we're seeing is the negotiations happening behind the scenes. Clubs will be currently orchestrating their list strategies for the off season and our reiterated public stance that Petracca will be a Dee for the next 5 years and will be traded under no circumstance, is the clubs way of stating clearly that the offer needs to be too good to refuse. 

I think it's likely Petracca will stay, but we trade him if the deal is good for us.

Posted
15 hours ago, Norm Smith's Curse said:

Well Carlton fans are talking likes its a live trade. 

Yeah well as iterated last week this is definately on the go!

Posted
2 hours ago, dazzledavey36 said:

I'm calling it now. Petracca will never come back the same player after what has happened to him

He has been traumatised and while it's understandable that he is not thinking clearly, his mental state may have been compromised for the remainder of his career

Ironcally, he needs Melbourne right now...familiarity and an immediate support structure. Melbourne will also lower their expectations for his output next year than any other club who sell the farm to get him, especially a big club with huge supporter base.

Is this not a good enough reason then Dazz to strike while the iron is hot! Id take Mc Kay and picks in a heartbeat to get this trade done, would you??

Posted (edited)
2 hours ago, Kent said:

Jeffo ? Others in his draft have already played 40 plus games What is wrong with him

Does he have Weid disease? Looking like a bust to me I hope not!

He is a Key Forward. They take much longer to develop. We just have to accept he is not going to be in the calibre of the great full forwards. 

Edited by Gawndy the Great

Posted
39 minutes ago, Demonstone said:

I'm a little bit worried that the Petracca thread now resides in the Trade Thread.

Does @Demonland know something we don't?

We have had this thread in the Trade Thread since we opened up the Trade Thread.

Posted (edited)
3 hours ago, Demonsone said:

Its frustrating & disappointing on what’s occurring as it’s been handled poorly by club and player and it’s become a circus! Great clubs handle this stuff in house and I would be filthy on both  club and player IF requesting a trade after signing a long term deal! How our club has found a way to unravel since winning a flag is mind boggling when you consider the experience of Pert and not sure whos ultimately responsible for this, is it on the footy dept, richo , goody ??

Great clubs like who? Collingwood, who have had many cultural and player issues aired publicly. Hawthorn who have had massive help from the afl in sweeping their racism issues during their glory days under the rug. West coast or Essendon and their drug problems? 

Just cause it’s our turn doesn’t mean other clubs haven’t copped [censored] too. Doesn’t mean they handled things any better than we are. We can’t judge how we’ve handled it yet. 

Edited by von

Posted (edited)

It's a pity we can't sell him to an AFL equivalent of the Saudi Pro League for big $$$. At least he couldn't come back to bite us on the field. 

Edited by Rab D Nesbitt
  • Haha 5
Posted
2 minutes ago, Rab D Nesbitt said:

It's a pity we can't sell him to an AFL equivalent of the Saudi Pro League for big $$$. At least he couldn't come back to bite us on the field. 

What about the Gaelic Football league? 🤔

Posted
Just now, ElDiablo14 said:

What about the Gaelic Football league? 🤔

Good idea but I think it might still be an amateur competition. No $$ for Trac or us. 

Posted
5 minutes ago, Rab D Nesbitt said:

Good idea but I think it might still be an amateur competition. No $$ for Trac or us. 

Alternatively, there was a player from the NRL that made the move to the AFL.

Could we see Petracca playing at the Melbourne Storm? 😅

Posted

Reckon he's as good as gone but if you want to cheer yourself up then hop on over to his Insta stories and treat yourself to some Ralph Lauren Polo Aftershave for Father's Day.

Christian-Petracca-christianpetracca-Ins

• Haha 6
Posted
1 hour ago, Gawndy the Great said:

He is a Key Forward. They take much longer to develop. We just have to accept he is not going to be in the calibre of the great full forwards. 

Agree partly Gawny ( not so great) but on the contrary Jeffo will be a very good player and Kent ( who has as much understanding of young key position players as his namesake Dean did in playing footy ) is also bereft of the draft and its player developments. 

Posted

So many variables involved that any sort of outcome wouldn't surprise

The ideal preference (for most) is that he stays and is back at his best for round 1 next season

But physically and mentally is that possible? Will he even be able to complete a decent pre-season?  

If he is traded, who to? And what do we get back in return?  Unders? Maybe overs?  

And retiring under medical grounds is a possibility.  Full contract paid out?  

And then are we ever going to find what exactly Petracca's issue is with the club?  (the Coach is not the issue, apparently) 

Until there's a commitment one way or the other, the story could go on for another 7 weeks

Posted

If trac leaves, will be egg on the faces of Goodwin, Richo & Pert who have all publicly said not leaving! The backlash from members and supporters will be huge and creditably of the club will be in question and our history of poorly managing of a once in a generational player which the club has built itself around… very sad if this happens 

Posted (edited)
12 minutes ago, Demonsone said:

If trac leaves, will be egg on the faces of Goodwin, Richo & Pert who have all publicly said not leaving! The backlash from members and supporters will be huge and creditably of the club will be in question and our history of poorly managing of a once in a generational player which the club has built itself around… very sad if this happens 

Even if he is going they have got to play the part and say he’s not to get maximum value in any trade, I noticed he wasn’t at the game on Friday whilst I saw nearly every other player who wasn’t playing, as a few others have said above I’d have more concern over tracs playing future period and while I would love him in the red and blue next year it might also be for the best if he isn’t.

Edited by Garbo
Posted
5 minutes ago, Demonsone said:

I just can't see what else they could have said under the circumstances.

Posted
18 minutes ago, Macca said:

And then are we ever going to find what exactly Petracca's issue is with the club?  (the Coach is not the issue, apparently)

This is the point that was explicitly stated in the original TM expose on the issue that, and it pains me to say it, lends some validity to the story. Why include that point unless it was explicitly requested by the leaker? Perhaps Trac didn't want to throw Goody under the bus.

If true who did he want to throw under the bus. That is the crux of the matter.

Posted
4 minutes ago, Garbo said:

Even if he is going they have got to play the part and say he’s not to get maximum value in any trade, I noticed he wasn’t at the game on Friday whilst I saw nearly every other player who wasn’t playing, as a few others have said above I’d have more concern over tracs playing future period and while I would love him in the red and blue next year it might also be for the best if he isn’t.

Trac was at the game. He was in the box and then at the race to farewell Ben Brown with the rest of the players. 

Posted
4 minutes ago, Deeminion said:

I just can't see what else they could have said under the circumstances.

There isn't much else they can say. Both Goody and Pert would have a lot of media training and with that comes the ability to answer questions truthfully, without giving away too much information.

If you listen to Goody's presser after the game he said 'as it stands right now Christian will be a Melbourne player next year', or something to that effect. That is basically saying, at this stage he is contracted but if there are changes i.e. a strong offer then this may change.

Posted
1 minute ago, Jaded No More said:

Trac was at the game. He was in the box and then at the race to farewell Ben Brown with the rest of the players. 

Happy to stand corrected, must have missed him. 

Posted
3 minutes ago, Garbo said:

Happy to stand corrected, must have missed him. 

In fairness to you it was very easy to look away from the game on Friday night!

Posted
2 minutes ago, Deeminion said:

This is the point that was explicitly stated in the original TM expose on the issue that, and it pains me to say it, lends some validity to the story. Why include that point unless it was explicitly requested by the leaker? Perhaps Trac didn't want to throw Goody under the bus.

If true who did he want to throw under the bus. That is the crux of the matter.

Maybe, but I reckon this is all about the duty of care talk emanating from the club when Petracca was hurt in the KB clash

Again, a whole host of variables including the club and 3 doctors not knowing the extent of his injuries.  Harsh words spoken or words spoken with assumptions that Petracca was going to be ok

How many times does a player suffer broken, cracked or bruised rips where there is no damage to the spleen?  At a guess I'd say most of the time

The extent of the injury wasn't revealed until hours later