5 minutes ago, BrisbaneDemon said:

It appears the club is steadfast on continuing with Simon, I do believe it is time for Mr Nice Guy Goodwin to put the blowtorch on some of the over paid senior players, he calls friends, at years end, there needs to be some list changes to help him:

Players to be offered up for trade:

• pole position- J.Lever (injury prone and so out of form)

• C.Oliver (just get what you can and get him off the books)

• C.Salam

• B.Fritsch (I don’t think a single team mate would miss his selfishness)

• C.Spargo

Coaches changes:

• employ a senior assistant to help from the box if he stays on the ground

• A strategy coach to teach forward defense and teach our forwards to lead back to the ball for easy marks

• A strategy coach for ball movement into the F50

• Choco messaging early has been lost for the past 4/5 years, a fresh voice is required

• Bring in an experienced director of football to challenge Simon and the assistants, Richo hasn’t done enough over the past 4 years

I had to turn the TV off after 1/2 time, were so unenjoyable to watch, we miss easy kicks, fumble and continue to kick behinds

Agree Richo need to go.

52 minutes ago, dazzledavey36 said:

He'll see out his contract.

I've wanted him gone since the Gold Coast game but after realising the cost if the club sacked him would be enormous.

This club is due for a fresh and new voice.

CAARRRRYSSST wont renew my membership, and others need to vote with their hard earned!

I know we won't make a move this year, but I'm just sick and tired of watching us lose the same way again, and again, and again.

I know we've made shifts in our game plan, but if Goodwin is going to persist with the same guys who just can't compete aerially ahead of the ball, or defenders who just want to sag off on their opponents then that's on him.

Edited by At the break of Gawn

1 minute ago, At the break of Gawn said:

I know we won't make a move this year, but I'm just sick and tired of watching us lose the same way again, and again, and again.

I know we've made shifts in our game plan, but if Goodwin is going to persist with the same guys who just can't compete aerially ahead of the ball, or defenders who just want to sag off on their opponents then that's on him.

It just astonishes me we can't get our forward entries and structure right. As soon as we get it within 70m of goal we just play dumb football. Petracca's kick to Melksham summed up our issues in that part of the ground.

Just now, KozzyCan said:

It just astonishes me we can't get our forward entries and structure right. As soon as we get it within 70m of goal we just play dumb football. Petracca's kick to Melksham summed up our issues in that part of the ground.

Agree in other parts we break even or win, get it into our F50 total breakdown unless they panic !

And the coach's press conferance was fantasy land stuff! CARRYST SIMON take some responsibility!

6 minutes ago, picket fence said:

And the coach's press conferance was fantasy land stuff! CARRYST SIMON take some responsibility!

He did! Carryst!

He acknowledged that it’s on both players and coaches to ensure that what we practice actually shows up on game day.

He also acknowledged that our forwards were rubbish and we kicked the ball to them with no composure. Nothing “fantasy land” about anything he said.

1 hour ago, dazzledavey36 said:

He'll see out his contract.

I've wanted him gone since the Gold Coast game but after realising the cost if the club sacked him would be enormous.

This club is due for a fresh and new voice.

It’s a given, we can’t afford to sack him early but is there anything in his contract that stipulates that he has to be the main man who calls the shots? In any other workplace he would be moved on, the same failures occurring for 3 seasons with hardly a recognition they should be rectified. I suspect he just doesn’t really believe that the game has moved on, that far. By that I mean I believe Simon begrudgingly accepts changes are needed but believes his basic 2021 formula will still work, that is backline presses up, win contested ball, bang it forward, get a stoppage, hold it in, conjure a score, rinse & repeat over and over. However yes this season ball movement has definitely sped up and we are sharing the ball around more until we get to the F60+ but then it’s often just bang it forward.

To us outsiders there seems to be zero emphasis on goal kicking accuracy, no demand that we develop a forward line strategy where forwards lead toward the ball carrier, forwards that try to get separation from their opponents, just some fr**king movement, FFS ahead of a ball carrier. Particularly that there are No penalties applied to the old guard when they repeatedly just bang the ball mindlessly forward, burning team mates in better positions. Oliver, Viney and Tracc are repeat offenders.

During our run of wins (5 out of 6) recently, Oliver was almost exclusively handballing to a player on the outside, not kicking, ball carriers were looking for short targets in the F50. For some reason in the last 2 weeks, Oliver is dump kicking and ball carriers are dumping long kicks into the F50?

A restructure and some new faces might be a possible answer to get a fresh approach. Some new assistant coaches and maybe the football operations manager actually calls the shots on game strategy and has a greater say in selection.

1 hour ago, 640MD said:

Agree in other parts we break even or win, get it into our F50 total breakdown unless they panic !

Watching port go forward with players free all over the place and leads to kick to compared to us where we have a crowded mess and every player running to the same spot was stark.

50 minutes ago, titan_uranus said:

He did! Carryst!

He acknowledged that it’s on both players and coaches to ensure that what we practice actually shows up on game day.

He also acknowledged that our forwards were rubbish and we kicked the ball to them with no composure. Nothing “fantasy land” about anything he said.

So what the bloody hell has he done about for the last 3/4 years??

why, after such promising signs during our run of 5 wins in 6, have we reverted to type?

our list is very overrated. the results bear that out. I doubt another coach will do any better with them.

23 minutes ago, BDA said:

I doubt another coach will do any better with them.

You don't even need to doubt, changing coaches would achieve nothing. (Has been shown countless times.)

Real change can only come through list change.

25 minutes ago, BDA said:

why, after such promising signs during our run of 5 wins in 6, have we reverted to type?

Change in personnel for one. e.g., across that period we had (mainly) May, Turner and TMac down back. We've swapped out a more-than-competent Tom McD for an underdone Lever. Not only is Lever not (yet) pulling his weight, the whole backline structure and system has been thrown out as we saw today.

As for the key forwards, the revolving door up there is never going to help anyone.

On 09/06/2025 at 16:02, Macca said:

Could be that Goodwin can't fix it because our players just can't or won't change their ways

Can't. Not in the short term at least, and not without changes in the players they're playing alongside. Put Scott Pendlebury in that team and watch what happens to Clarry and Trac.

1 hour ago, BDA said:

our list is very overrated. the results bear that out. I doubt another coach will do any better with them.

Our prime movers have terrible disposal and no ability to steady before disposing of the ball. Our entire game falls down because of this. We can’t go into next year with Petracca, Oliver and Viney all in the team. That’s the reality even I didn’t want to face. You can’t execute a game plan that requires good disposal with these 3 running around in the middle.

Ready for it … blah blah blah … what is really needed is to call out the goalkicking and the poor really poor kicking inside50 (bombing it in)

Simon Goodwin talked about a reset, but it's one that's meeting with some resistance.

The Demons sit in 15th spot with five wins and nine losses, their season on life support as finals become little more than a mathematical possibility.

"We have changed a lot in the last 12 months, we certainly took stock at the end of last year," Goodwin said after the match.

"We've made some progression in the last eight to nine weeks after a really slow start to the season, but we've never looked at outcome as where we want to be as a footy club, we want to look at our process, make sure we keep building.

"We've still got work to do to be the team we want to be, and to be consistently challenging all teams in the competition, and we won't waste a day, we won't waste a week in our pursuit of doing that.

"Ultimately, our challenge is to be a really strong footy team again."

Same issues last 4 seasons, hasn’t been able to fix them, which has cost us a flag!, it’s copy & paste, it’s been 9 seasons sure won a flag that’s great thanks, but it’s time, the $$ to pay him out vs what is costing us in membership and gate receipts. Finishing bottom 6 back to back is accepting mediocracy which we have history

Edited by Demonsone

Goodwin is the master of motherhood statements. We wont waste a day or week. If this is the case why is our forward line so bad. Fours years no improvement. JVR is a classic example compare his leading patterns to Georgiades. That not on the player but the coaches. I wish the media drilled in on one area of zero improvement and held Goodwin to account. Gawn kicking would be a start. Petty complete failure would be another.petty can play what has happened.

1 hour ago, bing181 said:

You don't even need to doubt, changing coaches would achieve nothing. (Has been shown countless times.)

Real change can only come through list change.

Goody coach for life!

7 minutes ago, Deesprate said:

Goodwin is the master of motherhood statements. We wont waste a day or week. If this is the case why is our forward line so bad. Fours years no improvement. JVR is a classic example compare his leading patterns to Georgiades. That not on the player but the coaches. I wish the media drilled in on one area of zero improvement and held Goodwin to account. Gawn kicking would be a start. Petty complete failure would be another.petty can play what has happened.

Spot on! Jvr development impeded by having to ruck! I don’t see Georgiadis having to ruck!

5 minutes ago, Demonsone said:

Spot on! Jvr development impeded by having to ruck! I don’t see Georgiadis having to ruck!

It so frustrating the players carry the can. JVR in Port side yesterday probably would have excelled. Crucified in Goodys set up but the media just accept Goody BS. As Joh used to say talking to the media is like feeding the chooks. Next Goody will move to don’t your worry about that. His presser provide zero insight just platitudes.

You can see we have gone away from the exciting, risk taking football that we played during the 5 wins and reverted to bombing it long. I think this was due to playing finals becoming a possibility, thus the players tightened up. Now that we can’t play finals, I hope we will see the younger brigade selected and that exciting brand return.

I found Garry Lyon’s speech interesting at the Hall of Fame night. He mentioned Balmey as one of his favourite footy people and immediately proceeded to say that he wished he played for longer under Danners.

A new voice is needed in my opinion. At the moment we could barely do worse and yet people defend Goodwin.

Maybe Goodwin is the Balmey in this case and a new coach is Danners?

With the way we’ve structured the list and TPP we clearly think we can compete. By that metric, the last 18 months have been an abject failure. With Goodwin still struggling to implement a winning game plan, who is to say next year will be any better?