Dan Houston

Seems like we’re in that horrible place clubs get to when we’re caught pushing for another flag or having a deeper reset. Except the consequences of getting that wrong now are huge given Tassie coming in. Look at the mess the Tigers are in.,

Against that we have brought in many young players already and Gawn is nowhere near done. 

I find myself vacillating . 

8 hours ago, gs77 said:

Glad I'm not the only one doomscrolling d'land at 1.10am!

dont you guys sleep?

2 hours ago, Wells 11 said:

Seems like we’re in that horrible place clubs get to when we’re caught pushing for another flag or having a deeper reset. Except the consequences of getting that wrong now are huge given Tassie coming in. Look at the mess the Tigers are in.,

Against that we have brought in many young players already and Gawn is nowhere near done. 

The solution is to target undervalued assets and build the list without compromising it.

Free agents, fringe players cheaply available, mature age pick ups, trade back in drafts and accumulate bonus picks. As well as trading our players when the time is right to sell high.

And if you do chase a big fish make sure you’ve got them on the hook and pay with peanuts (late first rounders). 

There’s really 2 factors that make chasing Houston in any way feasible - Port are willing to let him go for a fair price for compassionate or other reasons and we can get the deal done with a package of later picks.

2 hours ago, Wells 11 said:

One thing to be optimistic about is that the Tiges don't have any kids near the level of Windsor or McVee. One issue is that they're being belted even with their Pickett (Bolton) and Rivers (Baker) playing every week.

He's a good half back flanker. He's help our team immediately with his elite foot skills.

However, he's 28 next year, so realistically has only a few seasons of top shelf footy left. He's likely already played his best footy. As good as he is, I don't think he's a club changer or will catapult us into premiership contention short term, which he'd need to do for pick 6/7.

Pick 6/7 could give you an elite midfielder for a decade. They're club changers. You don't trade a pick that high unless it's for a gun key forward or defender. Half back flankers can be found cheaper. Cumming from GWS is a free agent and therefore no draft pick required for similar output.

Premiership teams have an elite midfielder, usually multiple. They're usually drafted with first round picks. When Taylor has recruited mids for us with top 10 picks he's brought in Petracca, Oliver, Brayshaw, Windsor. We have the chance to bring in our next Trac or Clarry or Gus to pair with Windsor and build our next flag around.

Focus on the midfield. Houston is not what we need for the draft price we pay.

image.thumb.png.616d2669111455d01cca6fb2ecdec709.png Food for thought on the quality of pick 6 in this years draft, maybe it's not the be all and end all, agree with others if we can split pick 6 into 2 late first rounders, give port one of those and maybe Future second rounder, which Port may value as around pick 28ish, may do the trick. Take our future first and this years late first rounder to trade up. Many other connotations of this theory can be looked at.

Edited by Viscount Cardwell
added content

9 hours ago, Garbo said:

By the end of this season he’s going to be a 2x aa,

Yes but can he be a 4 or 5xAA? That's what we'd be hoping for if we trade out a top 6 or 7 pick for him considering his age.

12 hours ago, middleagedemon said:

How did that 'champion data top 5 best users in the comp' go tonight @Bring-Back-Powell?

A long, penetrating and accurate kick is what he is. And if that makes him a top 5 best user in the comp, that should tell you more about champion data in isolation than anything else. 

Use your eyes. They will tell you the full story. 

Isn’t that exactly what we need in this club? Our skill level is a disgrace all over the field and a major reason why we lost last night. We need help in this area.

Oh, and he got in the best players on the AFL website’s match report for probably the 20th time this year.

I’m not advocating trading pick 6 alone for him and I suspect the club won’t either, therefore he’ll probably go elsewhere or stay at Port.

But you seem to be denigrating a player who is quite frankly more skillful than any MFC player on display.

46 minutes ago, Dr. Gonzo said:

Yes but can he be a 4 or 5xAA? That's what we'd be hoping for if we trade out a top 6 or 7 pick for him considering his age.

yes

easily

he'll get more attention playing in melbourne, purely and simply as the majority of the afl industry is based here

Edited by whatwhat say what

1 hour ago, Viscount Cardwell said:

image.thumb.png.616d2669111455d01cca6fb2ecdec709.png Food for thought on the quality of pick 6 in this years draft, maybe it's not the be all and end all, agree with others if we can split pick 6 into 2 late first rounders, give port one of those and maybe Future second rounder, which Port may value as around pick 28ish, may do the trick. Take our future first and this years late first rounder to trade up. Many other connotations of this theory can be looked at.

I would say this is the most likely strategy we would be trying to implement. Freo would be the obvious choice if they had someone they really like at pick 6. Give us two of 12, 13 or 16 for pick 6 (with other future or 2nd rounder involved probably).

But there are other teams primed for this trade as well. Especially Richmond whose first picks are 5 and 27. They're surely going to try to improve their first-round draft hand.

Edited by Young Blood

12 minutes ago, Young Blood said:

I would say this is the most likely strategy we would be trying to implement. Freo would be the obvious choice if they had someone they really like at pick 6. Give us two of 12, 13 or 16 for pick 6 (with other future or 2nd rounder involved probably).

But there are other teams primed for this trade as well. Especially Richmond whose first picks are 5 and 27. They're surely going to try to improve their first-round draft hand.

Curious what happens with Freo/Richmond given the links to Baker and Bolton. It's not like they need kids desperately atm.

Its going to be an interesting off season. 

It would take around 8 years for promising mids to reach their peak

It is difficult to recruit AA mids unless one is going out of your team

Im bullish that we have enough role players to develop whilst Clarry, Tracc and Vines are in there

A good group of talls that have versatility of skills

How to support Max is a major concern as well as a mature tall forward

What is the gameplan that we need to be adhering to?

2 hours ago, Dr. Gonzo said:

You think we are certain to get the next Bontempelli do you, as it’s more they are a bust. The point is no matter who they are they aren’t going to be a better player than Houston in the time frame this team has left in a flag window. So if the goal is to win flags then Houston is going to give us the best chance.

Edited by Garbo

2 minutes ago, Garbo said:

You think we are certain to get the next Bontempelli do you, as it’s more they are a bust. The point is no matter who they are they aren’t going to be a better player than Houston in the time frame this team has left in a flag window. So if the goal is to win flags then Houston is going to give us the best chance.

The problem is that we actually have a really good drafting record under Jason Taylor, he has a lot more wins than busts, and if we recruit Dan Houston it perhaps makes us better for 2-3 years, but then the cliff comes and we are trying to rebuild right as Tasmania enters the league. 

I am all for recruiting Houston, but not if it means including pick 7 in the deal, we need to keep using our strong draft selections for the next 2-3 years to stay competitive and find our recruits outside of that. 

Good player, will make us better. Get it done. People thinking we will fall off a cliff because our best players are around 30 years old. 

Look at how well Boak and Pendlebury still are . Good players find a way to keep contributing. 

Best case is future 1st and keep this years pick 6. 

2 hours ago, Viscount Cardwell said:

No McKercher’s but maybe half a dozen Ryley Sanders’ level mids. Many of which might take 2-3 years to come good. Some really good tall prospects too 

9 minutes ago, Pipefitter said:

Good player, will make us better. Get it done. People thinking we will fall off a cliff because our best players are around 30 years old. 

Look at how well Boak and Pendlebury still are . Good players find a way to keep contributing. 

Best case is future 1st and keep this years pick 6. 

2 massive statistical outliers.

There’s reason to believe Gawn can keep going at a good level if given more support.

But we had 7 A graders in 2021:

Gawn, May, Tracc, Oliver, Viney, Salem, Lever.

Aside from Max I’d have 3 in serious decline and 2 (Tracc, Lever) with injury concerns and 1 in Oliver in his own category.

3 hours ago, DeeSpencer said:

2 massive statistical outliers.

There’s reason to believe Gawn can keep going at a good level if given more support.

But we had 7 A graders in 2021:

Gawn, May, Tracc, Oliver, Viney, Salem, Lever.

Aside from Max I’d have 3 in serious decline and 2 (Tracc, Lever) with injury concerns and 1 in Oliver in his own category.

That is a good reason we need to use our earlyish 1st rounder and back in we get another A Grader.

8 hours ago, Garbo said:

Can Houston go through the middle or is he better suited across half back? Because we need midfield depth with good ball use, a key forward and a backup ruck ahead of another half back flanker.

11 hours ago, DeeSpencer said:

The solution is to target undervalued assets and build the list without compromising it.

Free agents, fringe players cheaply available, mature age pick ups, trade back in drafts and accumulate bonus picks. As well as trading our players when the time is right to sell high.

And if you do chase a big fish make sure you’ve got them on the hook and pay with peanuts (late first rounders). 

There’s really 2 factors that make chasing Houston in any way feasible - Port are willing to let him go for a fair price for compassionate or other reasons and we can get the deal done with a package of later picks.

…. Or player.

46 minutes ago, Dr. Gonzo said:

Can Houston go through the middle or is he better suited across half back? Because we need midfield depth with good ball use, a key forward and a backup ruck ahead of another half back flanker.

No he doesn't go through the middle. Half back is his position. Think Rivers'/Salem's usual role HB role but plays higher up the ground. He's an elite ball user and decision maker as a rebounding HB. He would sure up that position so Rivers and eventually Judd can spend more time in the middle. He'd be a perfect fit for a side thats dying for better ball users.

Edited by Young Blood

11 hours ago, Viscount Cardwell said:

We're to be believing a big footy poster about this? 

Surely not.