18 minutes ago, Roost it far said:

Seriously why would you want to play for the Saints? 

He was offered a deal that would not only set him up for life but give him a list spot for the rest of his footy career. He's a promising player but not a star. Will never get offered close to that in his footy career again.

31 minutes ago, KozzyCan said:

He was offered a deal that would not only set him up for life but give him a list spot for the rest of his footy career. He's a promising player but not a star. Will never get offered close to that in his footy career again.

Which just further proves my point 

Finn Callaghan was the only GWS player under 30 to get more than 20 touches a game last season.

He's a capable, mostly outside, tall midfielder with a good long kick.

That is valuable, but not $1m/year valuable, and certainly not anything like what St Kilda were offering.

I feel like this quote describing St Kilda's multi-million-dollar scattergun could be added to the hypocrisy thread -

“The Saints are unashamedly ambitious. It doesn’t mean they’re short sighted, they want to improve their list, they want to bring in talent, Callaghan fits that bill because he’s from Bayside, he’s durable, they liked him from the moment he was drafted.

“Where they go next is anyone’s guess, but they’re not going to die wondering. If you’ve got the money to spend, then that’s what you need to do to pry players out of clubs.”

If it were us, the story would be about pathetic desperation, loose with salary cap space, disrespecting our current players, and being a club which players have universally rejected.

3 hours ago, roy11 said:

According to reports, GWS Giants rising star Finn Callaghan has already rejected a verbal offer from St Kilda and is expected to commit to the Giants beyond this season.

The 21-year-old’s contract expires at the end of 2025 and recent reports claimed the Giants had made Callaghan’s contract extension the club’s priority over the off-season.

Now Channel 9’s Tom Morris reports Callaghan is close to ticking off a four-year contract extension with the Giants — valued at around $4 million.

According to the report, St Kilda came hard for Callaghan’s signature and was preparing a 10-year, $17 million offer. It would have been the richest contract in the history of the AFL.

We like to complain about not being able to snare a big name player, but surely there is a player out there who'll bite off one of these mammoth St Kilda contracts, just shows how "equalisation" doesnt always exist for the smaller clubs.

If that rumored $17m for 10 years offer is true and and to come home and he is knocking it back for $4m over 4 years, wow, just wow.

55 minutes ago, Little Goffy said:

Finn Callaghan was the only GWS player under 30 to get more than 20 touches a game last season.

He's a capable, mostly outside, tall midfielder with a good long kick.

That is valuable, but not $1m/year valuable, and certainly not anything like what St Kilda were offering.

I feel like this quote describing St Kilda's multi-million-dollar scattergun could be added to the hypocrisy thread -

“The Saints are unashamedly ambitious. It doesn’t mean they’re short sighted, they want to improve their list, they want to bring in talent, Callaghan fits that bill because he’s from Bayside, he’s durable, they liked him from the moment he was drafted.

“Where they go next is anyone’s guess, but they’re not going to die wondering. If you’ve got the money to spend, then that’s what you need to do to pry players out of clubs.”

If it were us, the story would be about pathetic desperation, loose with salary cap space, disrespecting our current players, and being a club which players have universally rejected.

You reckon Saints are media darlings?

2 minutes ago, adonski said:

Maximus on the recruitment drive

I know we could never match what the Saints are offering (and I don’t think he leaves the Blues anyway), but geez he’d be almost the ideal player for us to chase

A first or second ruck option who can genuinely play forward - not many of them around 

Just now, demoncat said:

I know we could never match what the Saints are offering (and I don’t think he leaves the Blues anyway), but geez he’d be almost the ideal player for us to chase

A first or second ruck option who can genuinely play forward - not many of them around 

Yep, I (we) may be in the minority but I'd throw everything at him

44 minutes ago, adonski said:

Maximus on the recruitment drive

Ruckman often say stupid things.

Edited by Gator

12 minutes ago, adonski said:

Yep, I (we) may be in the minority but I'd throw everything at him

And then plenty more. He’s perfect for us. 

Just now, Demon Disciple said:

How could he become the best player of the current generation, if he isn’t even the best player in the league?

I don't think Max's comments should be analysed too deeply

16 minutes ago, Demon Disciple said:

How could he become the best player of the current generation, if he isn’t even the best player in the league?

Or the best player in his current or our future team

• 4 weeks later...

Perhaps time for a 2025 edition with alleged MFC interest in out-of-favour Port key forward Ollie Lord and general player movement speculation begins early yet again.

9 minutes ago, chook fowler said:

Looks like we're on the nose - can't attract a decent CEO let alone A grade players

Not denying we don't have issues like the next club. But i squarely put the public tantrum put on display by Sir Trac last year as something that has had quite a profound and lasting impact on the club. Again not saying the issues weren't there, but he has cause quite a [censored] stir. I seriously hope we get rid of him.

1 minute ago, GS_1905 said:

Not denying we don't have issues like the next club. But i squarely put the public tantrum put on display by Sir Trac last year as something that has had quite a profound and lasting impact on the club. Again not saying the issues weren't there, but he has cause quite a [censored] stir. I seriously hope we get rid of him.

I think the club need to get guys like Trac and Gawn involved in discussions with players, like Geelong have done in the past.

Only way to get past these issues are for them to give their opinions to incoming players and why they think it will be great place to play.

3 minutes ago, DistrACTION Jackson said:

I think the club need to get guys like Trac and Gawn involved in discussions with players, like Geelong have done in the past.

Only way to get past these issues are for them to give their opinions to incoming players and why they think it will be great place to play.

Wasn't Gawn involved in the Grundy discussions? Given how that one worked out, he is the last person that should be trying to recruit players.

4 minutes ago, poita said:

Wasn't Gawn involved in the Grundy discussions? Given how that one worked out, he is the last person that should be trying to recruit players.

He spoke to Grundy, but he isn't involved in the actual recruitment process of identifying players.

You must have misunderstood what I mean, I don't mean Gawn and Trac should be looking for trade targets, that's just ridiculous. Just that if there is a stigma about the club with potential targets then the leaders should be involved.

6 minutes ago, DistrACTION Jackson said:

He spoke to Grundy, but he isn't involved in the actual recruitment process of identifying players.

You must have misunderstood what I mean, I don't mean Gawn and Trac should be looking for trade targets, that's just ridiculous. Just that if there is a stigma about the club with potential targets then the leaders should be involved.

I think it’s paramount the leaders are involved. You gotta sell the dream to new recruits.

17 minutes ago, poita said:

That's a stretch , yes? I'm sure sometimes a club ask some of the players' opinion. But I doubt players are actively spending their spare time doing recruiting work. At most a captain or a player friendly with the potential recruit may have a chat. But that's hardly recruiting.