Tracca 862 Posted March 15, 2024 Posted March 15, 2024 30 minutes ago, Diamond_Jim said: Agree.. they are vulnerable Darcy will play back. He had an excellent VFL season in 2022 as a forward. Was tried early 2023 at AFL level as a forward and then moved back. Dropped and then injured for most of the season Darcy isnt playing 1
Demon Dynasty 17,165 Posted March 15, 2024 Posted March 15, 2024 35 minutes ago, demoncat said: Looks a much stronger team than last week (although we’ll be missing Bowey 😢) I’m guessing if BBB is listed then TMac has been bought in to play back? I do like the flexibility he offers and the fact that he can chop out for Max in the ruck He would need to have had a miraculous summer (physically). He couldn't get off the ground to contest any ruck work late last year and barely managed to contest imv. 1 1
fr_ap 2,566 Posted March 15, 2024 Posted March 15, 2024 Wary of the dogs. Middle of the Rd last few years yes....but this is what they do. Putter around mid table for years then have one year out of the box where they are nigh-unbeatable. Their midfield depth looks significantly better with Sanders (who is a gun) and Harmes - I still would rather him playing for us rather than them. Down back they do look a little green, so we need our forwards to fire. Don't underestimate them - have similar weapons to us really
Roost it far 10,135 Posted March 15, 2024 Posted March 15, 2024 “And in a daring and bold move the Melbourne coach swung Tom McDonald up forward where he managed to do nothing for the remainder of the game” 1 2 1
Demon Dynasty 17,165 Posted March 15, 2024 Posted March 15, 2024 27 minutes ago, sue said: You're working you way to the top of the list of negative for negative's sake posters. How about you sprinkle something positive - just for comic relief. This is on WCW for opening the "Good News Week - Positive only" thread. I fear Roost is now balancing out his "negativity" here!
Roost it far 10,135 Posted March 15, 2024 Posted March 15, 2024 1 minute ago, Demon Dynasty said: This is on WCW for opening the "Good News Week - Positive only" thread. I fear Roost is now balancing out his "negativity" here! It’s the club who’s picked Templeton and Moore!! 1
Lexinator 1,931 Posted March 15, 2024 Posted March 15, 2024 Good to see Taj getting a game, would like to see him getting a fair crack this season. 1
Diamond_Jim 12,772 Posted March 15, 2024 Posted March 15, 2024 2 minutes ago, Roost it far said: It’s the club who’s picked Templeton and Moore!! Moore did win a Brownlow when playing at MFC I'll give you Templeton and raise you Diamond Jim Tilbrook 1 1
Demon Dynasty 17,165 Posted March 15, 2024 Posted March 15, 2024 Just now, Roost it far said: It’s the club who’s picked Templeton and Moore!! Moore was ok! Is that your positive offsetting the negative Roost!?? 1
Demon Dynasty 17,165 Posted March 15, 2024 Posted March 15, 2024 Just now, Diamond_Jim said: Moore did win a Brownlow when playing at MFC I'll give you Templeton and raise you Diamond Jim Tilbrook Diamond's debut was one of the most exciting build ups of any MFC debutante i can remember, alongside Templeton & fabulous Phil. 1
Diamond_Jim 12,772 Posted March 15, 2024 Posted March 15, 2024 2 minutes ago, Demon Dynasty said: Diamond's debut was one of the most exciting build ups of any MFC debutante i can remember, alongside Templeton & fabulous Phil. I forgot Fabulous Phil And then there was our drafting of the Jarman brothers who refused to come over but joined Adelaide when they came into the comp. We really were cursed
titan_uranus 25,255 Posted March 15, 2024 Posted March 15, 2024 (edited) Schache was unretainable. Good luck to Brown who has played very well in this corresponding game the past two years. Pickett and Woey for Spargo and Laurie is significant improvement. Immediately more balanced and quicker. The Marty Hore story is a ripper. Let’s hope he holds up. The benefit to keeping Salem in the mid means it’s got double the potential payoff. Finally, TMac for Tomlinson. I didn’t think Tomlinson was that good last week but equally didn’t think he was so bad as to be dropped. Particularly not for TMac, who hasn’t played defence at AFL level for years and hasn’t played good AFL football for 2 years either. I think, perhaps, the idea is that he follows Lobb into the ruck to relieve Gawn and allow us to leave JVR forward. If that’s it, I can see it, but I’m so wary of whether he can hold up in the backline and fearful of turnovers by foot. Edited March 15, 2024 by titan_uranus 1
Demon Dynasty 17,165 Posted March 15, 2024 Posted March 15, 2024 Just now, Diamond_Jim said: I forgot Fabulous Phil And then there was our drafting of the Jarman brothers who refused to come over but joined Adelaide when they came into the comp. We really were cursed Yes ... with Darren initially joining the wee & pooh. I'll never forget it as he punished everyone thereafter including us 1
adonski 13,266 Posted March 15, 2024 Posted March 15, 2024 T Mac might be playing ruck/fwd, might not even be in defence Could he even be sub....! Used or unused?
Demon Dynasty 17,165 Posted March 15, 2024 Posted March 15, 2024 (edited) 10 minutes ago, titan_uranus said: Particularly not for TMac, who hasn’t played defence at AFL level for years and hasn’t played good AFL football for 2 years either. I think, perhaps, the idea is that he follows Lobb into the ruck to relieve Gawn and allow us to leave JVR forward. If that’s it, I can see it, but I’m so wary of whether he can hold up in the backline and fearful of turnovers by foot. Reckon JVR's done ok playing the chop out and forward. Maybe they just want to see how he goes playing the solo role? Edited March 15, 2024 by Demon Dynasty
Demonstone 23,569 Posted March 15, 2024 Posted March 15, 2024 14 minutes ago, Diamond_Jim said: And then there was our drafting of the Jarman brothers We drafted Darren in the first ever VFL draft in 1986 but he refused to leave South Australia and our hold on him lapsed after three years. Andrew wasn't drafted by us at any stage. 1
Dee*ceiving 1,738 Posted March 15, 2024 Posted March 15, 2024 I think TMac will play on Lobb and follow him into the ruck. Brown and JVR can be left to play as proper forwards. Tmac or brown get subbed if we need run late.
Superunknown 4,246 Posted March 15, 2024 Posted March 15, 2024 (edited) Really thrilled for Hore. Am a fan. play Taj - he looked ok when played edit - for consideration - Taj = WW2 (Woewoe 2) Edited March 15, 2024 by Superunknown 1
SPC 3,596 Posted March 15, 2024 Posted March 15, 2024 Chandler is so very lucky! Gone backwards at warp speed 4
Dee*ceiving 1,738 Posted March 15, 2024 Posted March 15, 2024 It will hurt if we lose...but it makes sense to give the old guard a shot early in the season. If they can't do it and we fail, it will be time for the kids and recruits. Verrall, Fullarton, disco (eventually), etc...
spirit of norm smith 16,679 Posted March 15, 2024 Posted March 15, 2024 IN: M.Hore, K.Pickett, T.McDonald, T.Woewodin, B.Brown OUT: A.Tomlinson (omitted), J.Bowey (collarbone), J.Schache (omitted), C.Spargo (Achilles), B.Laurie (omitted) Tmcd and BBB on the voltaren big time. Welcome back Marty. Woey jnr and Kozzzy in. 👏👏👏 ?? Tomo !!! Wtf Fullarton ?? Maybe not ready yet. 2
Guest Posted March 15, 2024 Posted March 15, 2024 47 minutes ago, Demon Dynasty said: This is on WCW for opening the "Good News Week - Positive only" thread. I fear Roost is now balancing out his "negativity" here! Hey! Don’t blame me!!! The Rooster is negativity personified no matter what thread he chooses to besmirch (ie, all of them). To his credit though, he’ll be the first to admit that he’s partial to a bit of sch!tt stirring, unlike the inherently pessimistic sadsacks who seemingly enjoy wallowing in negativity.
Garbo 1,567 Posted March 15, 2024 Posted March 15, 2024 So we plan on running Gawn into the ground again it seems, none of the other talls are going to give him enough chop
Roger Mellie 4,205 Posted March 15, 2024 Posted March 15, 2024 5 hours ago, DubDee said: i recall Hore being a nice kick but could be wrong I recall him being a beautiful kick when under no pressure. Under a little pressure, he would start to dump kick. Hopefully, Hore Mark 2 will show more composure with the heat.