Clarrie’s absence isn’t a cause for concern imho. Tuesday is the main training session, if he’s absent on Tuesday then maybe we should worry. 

3 minutes ago, fr_ap said:

Tbh, I found the energy from the players quite lacking. The energy from the crowd and kids was terrific but almost deflated when the players came past. I think they're hurting & their confidence has taken a bit. 

It was a low energy session overall so perhaps a harsh judgement but it didn't fill me with confidence at all meeting a Carlton team on cloud 9 in full hunter mode.  

It felt the same to me too. Perhaps naively I'd expected them to be briskly jogging as a group across to Gosch's, with some pep talk amongst each other, but wasn't the case. Fingers crossed for Friday. 

20 hours ago, Superunknown said:

What is disturbing is that's actually not news to anyone who actually watches the way they play...even when they are up and running.

Taking a shot at Brayshaws choice of kick is ignoring the fact its not a one off .

4 minutes ago, gs77 said:

It felt the same to me too. Perhaps naively I'd expected them to be briskly jogging as a group across to Gosch's, with some pep talk amongst each other, but wasn't the case. Fingers crossed for Friday. 

Me too. Let's hope the sports scientists told them not to exert themselves. Smiling and being positive really takes it out of you 

Was there and was told by a supporter that Ben Brown has trained twice in the past week- once with the women.He looked all right to me.

Will he replace JVR?

When he went to walk off he thanked us for coming to training.Nice bloke.

15 minutes ago, OutOfTheCentre21 said:

JVR is missing this week. 

Oh of course my bad

1 hour ago, sue said:

True, but all you need do is look at the final scoreline to see which team was most affected by misses.

You know that old line…

’Bad ——- is bad ——!’

You know what I mean 

1 minute ago, dazzledavey36 said:

Tomlinson trained with the senior group?

Yes

23 minutes ago, gs77 said:

If they were ebullient we'd be hearing reports of "they don't care". Of course they're hurting, they know more than anyone what they let slip. I predict a big statement on Friday.

34 minutes ago, fr_ap said:

Tbh, I found the energy from the players quite lacking. The energy from the crowd and kids was terrific but almost deflated when the players came past. I think they're hurting & their confidence has taken a bit. 

It was a low energy session overall so perhaps a harsh judgement but it didn't fill me with confidence at all meeting a Carlton team on cloud 9 in full hunter mode. 

I think they're tired after 3 top 4s in 3 years getting bashed from pillar to post for lately, little reward. The injuries might have killed us I think. The remaining teams seem to have an energy and hunger about them that I don't sense from our group. 

Of course I hold hope and it was still a fun time, kids loved it and the DJ helped ,but feels a little inevitable to me right now. Like a looming exam you just know you're not prepared for. 

On the footy itself, a few observations:

-I have some faith Turner would do ok up forward even though that's probably illogical. He's a neat set shot, holds the ball all the way down to his foot. It may be an interesting move to tell him to play 'defence' on Weitering. He'd make an OK fist of it I reckon if he played from behind. 

-Clarry absence very mysterious. Let's hope nothing to see there. 

-Trac looked a little....green? When he ran out but trained fine. Such a loose set shot, either middles them or sprays them.

-AMW struggled with the short hit up kicks in the forward drill. 

-Ben Brown moved surprisingly well, looked no worse than Tom Mac tbh. 

-Energy in the midfield group far higher than in the fwd/backs group. Led by Viney. We are lucky to have him.

-Fritsch and ANB in good spirits, more interactive with fans than most. 

-love the way Verrall moves and have a lot of hope for what he could become. 

-Spargo is a little too negatively demonstrative imo. Does it in games too. Touch of the Hogan's. Probably frustrated with his year I'd imagine. 

Can't think of much else, any questions shout out will do my best 

Cheers for the update.

I honestly wouldn't be surprised if last year's straight finals exit has crept into the mindset of some of the players, and all of a sudden there is that fear in the back of their minds.

As you say, there is probably an element of mental fatigue from not only Thursday nights game but also from finishing top 4 three years in a row.

It can become extremely taxing when you putting in all the hard work for little reward in September. 

11 minutes ago, old55 said:

If they were ebullient we'd be hearing reports of "they don't care". Of course they're hurting, they know more than anyone what they let slip. I predict a big statement on Friday.

Agree entirely.

• Author

Plenty of supporters were here today.

The players, though reserved, had a bit more noise about them than the last Wednesday's open training.

Usually they are having fun, getting amongst each other, and have smiles on their faces, only a little of this was observed.

Hope the stress isn't getting to them. They need the win against Blue, and to get the Mojo on.

Clarry is a worry, hope it is only a loading/recovery situation. Given that, he cannot seem to control his efforts when in a session. If tendon, then it can flare post 24–48 hrs after use, and be right to go again. He should be good, unless he picked up another niggle.

BBB is a chance to replace JVR, as Grundy trained with the mids. Gawn sitting out the session, he was in training gear and had about 10 minutes of work with the trainer.

Turner is also a chance to get a gig as a forward (bit of a "hail mary"), 

Tomlinson looking strong, is he likely to get the sub position? (maybe not flexible enough)

JJ working hard and showing reliable kicking skills.

Overall it was a quick session, started with run throughs, then went to kicking drills within the forward arc with 4 starting points in congestion and some kaos. They spilt into their lines.

Backs finding spread and delivering through the middle.

Mids going lateral before heading into the forward area.

The Forwards delivering into their clump, where Stafford hangs out and directs.

They grouped, signed some small balls for the crowd , and then went into some simple goal kicking drills.

They left the field in drips and drops.

Edited by kev martin

18 minutes ago, dazzledavey36 said:

I honestly wouldn't be surprised if last year's straight finals exit has crept into the mindset of some of the players, and all of a sudden there is that fear in the back of their minds.

I have no doubt that's the case dazzler. Hell that fear is hard to shake for me as a fan. It's human nature

I hope they acknowledge it internally.

Actually forgot one more

- Woewodin is a player we should be getting games into asap in my opinion. Not saying he is SF, PF, GF ready (though he won't do any worse than Laurie), but he has a very good in-out skillset and has a lot of upside I think as either a wing or midfielder. Has talents many of our mids don't have. Very smooth mover, hit all of his set shots just about and just has a bit of spunk I reckon 

53 minutes ago, WalkingCivilWar said:

Clarrie’s absence isn’t a cause for concern imho. Tuesday is the main training session, if he’s absent on Tuesday then maybe we should worry. 

Haven't seen or heard anything about a soreness or injury scare after last game. Would be surprised if that were the case.

1 minute ago, FireInTheBennelly said:

Apologies for opening this can of worms, but, did Fritta train?

Yes, trained well, good energy stayed out longer signing autographs 

3 minutes ago, ElDiablo14 said:

Haven't seen or heard anything about a soreness or injury scare after last game. Would be surprised if that were the case.

I really wouldn’t read too much into today’s training session. I’m not saying I think it was just for S&Gs but the fact that it’s an *open session, it’s a short session and the players are signing autographs etc. tells me that maybe it shouldn’t be taken too seriously, by us fans anyways.

* an open session means cameras are there. As is the wont of our Club, outsiders will see only what the Club wants them to see. 😉 

25 minutes ago, kev martin said:

Plenty of supporters were here today.

The players, though reserved, had a bit more noise about them than the last Wednesday's open training.

Usually they are having fun, getting amongst each other, and have smiles on their faces, only a little of this was observed.

Hope the stress isn't getting to them. They need the win against Blue, and to get the Mojo on.

Clarry is a worry, hope it is only a loading/recovery situation. Given that, he cannot seem to control his efforts when in a session. If tendon, then it can flare post 24–48 hrs after use, and be right to go again. He should be good, unless he picked up another niggle.

BBB is a chance to replace JVR, as Grundy trained with the mids. Gawn sitting out the session, he was in training gear and had about 10 minutes of work with the trainer.

Turner is also a chance to get a gig as a forward (bit of a "hail mary"), 

Tomlinson looking strong, is he likely to get the sub position? (maybe not flexible enough)

JJ working hard and showing reliable kicking skills.

Overall it was a quick session, started with run throughs, then went to kicking drills within the forward arc with 4 starting points in congestion and some kaos. They spilt into their lines.

Backs finding spread and delivering through the middle.

Mids going lateral before heading into the forward area.

The Forwards delivering into their clump, where Stafford hangs out and directs.

They grouped, signed some small balls for the crowd , and then went into some simple goal kicking drills.

They left the field in drips and drops.

Tell me you're joking about BBB...pleeease.

A forward line built around TMac and BBB  is ...........difficult to justify

48 minutes ago, dazzledavey36 said:

Cheers for the update.

As you say, there is probably an element of mental fatigue from not only Thursday nights game but also from finishing top 4 three years in a row.

It can become extremely taxing when you putting in all the hard work for little reward in September. 

Absolutely agree, the pressure is all on us now. Carlton are playing on a wave of emotion and have momentum as did we in 2021. I just hope we get off to a good start breaking the shackles a bit by playing some positive, attacking football.

• Author
11 minutes ago, IRW said:

Tell me you're joking about BBB...pleeease.

A forward line built around TMac and BBB  is ...........difficult to justify

BBB was in the training squad, and going ok.

Knows the role well, as opposed to Turner. 

Takes a big defender, leaving Fritta and/or Smith freer.

Not saying absolutely, only a possible. 

Edited by kev martin

If we name BBB and TMac I’ll be staying home on Friday night. 
Also  it’s little wonder the players are a tad flat. They blew a golden ticket to a GF, lost a best mate, quite likely for good and are now thinking “sheesh, this could be straight sets again” I’d be taking swings at poor kids with hands out for high fives if it was me. Not to mention it’s Sunday freaking morning!!

59 minutes ago, old55 said:

I wouldn't be too concerned re lack of energy today given were not playing until Friday. As WCW mentioned the main session is on Tuesday and keeping level at this stage in the week will put us in good stead in the build up to Friday night.

Agree with those who were disappointed by this session. Half paced, nothing pressurised that I saw, the forwards versus defenders drill in front of me, which featured May and Lever, was competitive in name only. In preservation mode, fair enough. I thought BBB looked a little bit proppy in the warm up runs. Max was wonderful with the kids. Grundy seemed grumpy - he has to be picked for Friday - channel the anger and look out Blues.