Posted

Very impressive.

Still haven't seen enough to know if he's a great kick or not but what he does have is excellent vision. He'll pick out the best teammate in a split second. 

Posted

Looks a good decision maker and has composure in traffic - although not exactly quick. 

I'd expect him to settle into AFL reasonably quickly - not sure on ceiling. Difficult one to judge 

Posted
1 hour ago, whatwhat say what said:

i'm expecting we'll go the key defender in o'sullivan if he's available with our pick, but i for one would love to add to our midfield stocks

I wouldn't be opposed to grabbing a mid like Sanders (or McKercher if possible) and take Ollie Murphy as a key defensive prospect, assuming O'Sullivan is gone.

Think he's got fantastic upside as a 200cm defender. He's skinny so will take more time but I really like how he goes about it, is aggresive and has good disposal from what I've seen.

Posted
1 hour ago, whatwhat say what said:

i'm expecting we'll go the key defender in o'sullivan if he's available with our pick, but i for one would love to add to our midfield stocks

I hope we'll be able to do both. Good KPPs tend to (not always) go in the early first round.

Posted
8 minutes ago, adonski said:

Official on AFL website too. Sanders seems like the best option for our first pick now if we’re after an elite midfielder. Expecting Mckercher and Duursma to both be gone before our pick.

Bring on the colonel!

Posted
13 minutes ago, adonski said:

Presuming they're encouraging North to trade their extra future firsts under the guise of it being possibly taken away next year if they improve.

Posted

so if north trade out their two 'bonus' end of 2024 first round picks...how the blazes can they be reviewed if another club holds them??

helps having laura kane as the new head of footy eh, who worked at north first as a consultant and then as paid staff

Posted
2 minutes ago, whatwhat say what said:

so if north trade out their two 'bonus' end of 2024 first round picks...how the blazes can they be reviewed if another club holds them??

helps having laura kane as the new head of footy eh, who worked at north first as a consultant and then as paid staff

Good point. Unless they are unable to trade them this year? 

Posted
Just now, Wells 11 said:

Good point. Unless they are unable to trade them this year? 

gives north the ammo to make a run at pick 4 and hold 2-4 inclusive

geez

we'd have killed for this sort of compensation-for-being-[censored] draft assistance when we were at our worst

Posted
2 hours ago, whatwhat say what said:

gives north the ammo to make a run at pick 4 and hold 2-4 inclusive

geez

we'd have killed for this sort of compensation-for-being-[censored] draft assistance when we were at our worst

We were gifted Pick 1 in 2009 as a Priority Pick you might recall.

Posted

It's great that the AFL has finally confirmed Sanders is not available to North unless outside Top 40 (🙂). It's not just him being available to Melbourne, but it takes pressure off other potential choices having him in the mix.

Posted

I reckon this is our likely pick. Duursma and McKercher will be off by then and I think Watson will be at the doggies.

Posted
20 minutes ago, Sydney_Demon said:

We were gifted Pick 1 in 2009 as a Priority Pick you might recall.

gifted? no, allocated - as was the rule at the time

how north got this 'assistance package' has been arbitrary and opaque

big difference between this and us getting $cully

plus i was more referring to the post-$cully era where neeld took us into the deep darks of mordor

Posted
2 hours ago, dazzledavey36 said:

Watch North now trade up for pick 4 and steal Sanders right under our feet..

Using the 2024 first rounders?

Posted
2 hours ago, dazzledavey36 said:

Watch North now trade up for pick 4 and steal Sanders right under our feet..

How can they trade up they already have pick 2 and 3?

Posted
8 hours ago, Lord Travis said:

Official on AFL website too. Sanders seems like the best option for our first pick now if we’re after an elite midfielder. Expecting Mckercher and Duursma to both be gone before our pick.

Bring on the colonel!

So what's the draft supposed to look like.

1 Read WC

2 Walter GC

3 Curtin NM

4 McKersher NM

5 Duursma HAW

6 Watson BULL

7 Sanders MEL

Can someone like Norm Smith give us a more detailed phantom draft? 

Posted (edited)
7 hours ago, WERRIDEE said:

How can they trade up they already have pick 2 and 3?

Dogs picks are 10, 17 and and future first rounder adds up to 3,815 points.

North's picks of 14, 19, two futures first picks equal 3,969 points

This would certainly give North picks picks 2,3 and 4. I'm just spitballing but it's a pretty hefty draft hand.

Posted
7 hours ago, WERRIDEE said:

So what's the draft supposed to look like.

1 Read WC

2 Walter GC

3 Curtin NM

4 McKersher NM

5 Duursma HAW

6 Watson BULL

7 Sanders MEL

Can someone like Norm Smith give us a more detailed phantom draft? 

Will wait until after the trade period to see where the draft picks might land. 

I am 99% wanting Sanders as our first pick. We want a quality mid, with pace, elite skills and decision making, and yes who can kick goals.  From this years group, it’s Reid, Mckercher and Sanders.  
Given Reid and Mckercher are likely to get drafted before our pick, then it’s Ryley Sanders for me. He would be a great addition (even with the Tassie 2028 future hanging out there). 

Posted (edited)
21 minutes ago, spirit of norm smith said:

He would be a great addition (even with the Tassie 2028 future hanging out there). 

Best case scenario is he is a gun (which you would hope for at that pick) but if he is a gun he becomes Tassie’s #1 priority and we get 4 seasons out of a kid… isn’t the goal generally 10yr+ players from a top end draft pick?  What am I missing here?

edit: wouldn’t a better chance of 10 years out of somewhere perhaps not quite as talented being a better outcome for the club? 

Edited by The Jackson FIX
Posted
1 hour ago, dazzledavey36 said:

Dogs picks are 10, 17 and and future first rounder adds up to 3,815 points.

North's picks of 14, 19, two futures first picks equal 3,969 points

This would certainly give North picks picks 2,3 and 4. I'm just spitballing but it's a pretty hefty draft hand.

Both teams now have a great hand. Dogs pick 10 might still give them the upper hand though. They could split it for a late first round and future first or a slightly better first round this year and a future 2nd. 
North May also want to use those picks to trade for players not draft talent. 
Watson’s recent form hasn’t been as good as the champs and the dogs may not be as willing to over pay. 

Posted
14 hours ago, Sydney_Demon said:

It's great that the AFL has finally confirmed Sanders is not available to North unless outside Top 40 (🙂). It's not just him being available to Melbourne, but it takes pressure off other potential choices having him in the mix.

Our "karma" payback for Mac Andrews.

Only thing is I think the AFL in their wisdom are going to change this Pick40 rule so some Clubs ( us) as usual have been affected already snd Gold Coast still don't  have any restrictions under this rule and have got 3 Academy players lined up in this draft. Perfect op for AFL to allow one msybe but restrict the other two under the Pick 40 rule. Too darned logical and fair for AFL thinking. 

If you are not Cwood and Carlton ( tribunal) or GWS  or GCSuns (rules) bring favoured you are just joining a totally abhorrent bordering on corrupt organisation that makes rules on the run!!