Posted

Sydney were not ordinary when we beat them. They were equal first on the ladder and hadn’t lost a game at that point. They’ve dropped off significantly since copping a mountain of injuries to all their key position players. 

Posted

Definitely not getting any meaningful work done today.....

Game days on work days genuinely annoy me.

Very suprised still by Salo's inclusion - really would have thought 3-4 ressies games to build some match fitness after the back to back lay offs.

Rivers to Midfield to cover Sparrow. 

Grawndy to have a field day by the looks. Should be a solid 36point win on the road

Posted
1 hour ago, deegirl said:

Going to be that person - my MFC vibes tell me we're going to lose this one.  Our form isn't great and the forward line is crunchy at best.  

Crunchy? I don't know what that means but we are the highest scoring team in the comp

Posted (edited)
1 hour ago, titan_uranus said:

If we lose we’ll be 1-2 against the top 8. 

I get the sentiment but with limited opportunities to test our game against the top 8, I don’t know if a loss will mean our gameplan has to come under question. 

If we lose, Port will have beaten us, Brisbane and the Dogs. They may well deserve to be in the same conversation as Brisbane (no one currently is in the same conversation as Collingwood IMO).

Yep Collingwood are looking good enough to choke in another GF.

COLLLLLLIIIIIIIIWOBBLES

Posted

thank christ Salem is back - i dont care if he is rusty!

I know Spargs is good at it but the reason so many of us complain about our I50 entries is because Salem has been missing, Its usually him hitting those kicks or delivering to someone in open space - i cant wait to see it again thought he might not return the way it was going

Posted
1 hour ago, deegirl said:

Going to be that person -

Our form isn't great and the forward line is crunchy at best.  

You can only beat the teams you play, we are going ok, only times we lose is if we are complacent and let them get the first quarter.

we play hard from the start a small relax does not hurt as long as the flame gets lit again.   Go hard demons

Posted
1 hour ago, Dee Zephyr said:

I hope T Mac has a ripper tonight WCW, I feel he doesn't get the respect he deserves from some. He has given fantastic service to this footy club over a long period of time. I'm thinking there's some fight still left in him.

Spot on, DZ. He looks really refreshed and he seems to be in a really good headspace. I’ve found him a little reserved on occasion, even a little moody. But this morning he was almost playful. It’s like he’s walking on air. I reckon that bodes well for tonight. 

Posted
2 minutes ago, WalkingCivilWar said:

Spot on, DZ. He looks really refreshed and he seems to be in a really good headspace. I’ve found him a little reserved on occasion, even a little moody. But this morning he was almost playful. It’s like he’s walking on air. I reckon that bodes well for tonight. 

Could also possibly mean that he was just incredibly happy to see you WCW!
Whatever, I just hope you haven’t put the moz on him. If he plays badly tonight we’ll know where to look.

Posted
7 hours ago, McQueen said:

I was chatting to Shane at the WCE game and he stated “Taj was a lock for round one had he not dislocated his finger”

Steve may said much the same thing in his Demonland interview 

Posted
52 minutes ago, Dr. Gonzo said:

Crunchy? I don't know what that means but we are the highest scoring team in the comp

We've had some good wins but against middle of the road opposition.  When the forward line doesnt work it looks horrible.

Of course should we win I'll be the first one on here praising our beautifully functioning  forward line 😁

Posted
5 hours ago, dees189227 said:

Is goody wanting BBB to play at Casey to get him into form and play him towards the end of the year getting him ready for September?

Because I thought before he hurt his back he was in good form.

Yeah, I'd prefer BBB over TMac too. I think his form has been better.

However.... It's now or never for TMac. He really can't afford another poor performance.

Maybe they're giving him one last chance. If he can't deliver then I assume they'll settle for a Fritta, JVR and BBB forward line and give them time to get cohesive in the second half of the season.

Hope he has a belter.

Posted
9 minutes ago, deegirl said:

We've had some good wins but against middle of the road opposition.  When the forward line doesnt work it looks horrible.

Of course should we win I'll be the first one on here praising our beautifully functioning  forward line 😁

PA

• Rd 1. Beat Lions by 54. Good win at home
  • Rd 2 Loss  71 pts Pies MCG
  • Rd 3 Loss 31pts Adelaide Home
  • Rd 4 Win at Sydney 2pts Good win
  • Rd 5 Win Home v Dogs 14pts OK win
  • Rd 6 Win Home West Coast 40pts meh
  • Rd 7 Win Marvel St K 7 pts Good win
  • Rd 8 Win Home Ess 5pts Avg win
  • Rd 9 Win North Away 70 pts meh

A few good wins but are undermanned big time at the moment.

We have got this.

Posted

I hope we rise to the occasion. Big Friday night game against a top performing team. 
Soft games are good, but too many of them can see complacency kick in. 
A big contest is just what we need to spark a really strong 4 quarter effort. 

Posted
8 minutes ago, Jaded No More said:

I hope we rise to the occasion. Big Friday night game against a top performing team. 
Soft games are good, but too many of them can see complacency kick in. 
A big contest is just what we need to spark a really strong 4 quarter effort. 

Win the next 3 and we are a real contender. 2 out of 3 and we're up there.

1 out of 3 and questions will be asked.

Zero out of 3... insert your own conclusions

Big Game tonight !!

Posted
6 hours ago, WalkingCivilWar said:

It’s 6 degrees here, raining and cold af. And only 12 hours ‘til game time!

Good times 😳

It’s a good thing I packed nowhere near enough clothes; carry-on being only 7kg limit. Warm clothes are so overrated anyways, amirite?!

😳

We thank you for your sacrifice, WCW. Go Dees.

Posted (edited)

I'm getting tired of the argument that we haven't beaten anyone decent, at a point in the season where we've only just played half of the competition this has to be the mootest point going.

There were plenty of listener questions on the pod as well. One even suggesting we could be the worst 7-2 team of all time. If this is what success is all about that I'm happy to keep beating up on teams under us!

Edited by layzie

Posted
1 hour ago, Jaded No More said:

Sydney were not ordinary when we beat them. They were equal first on the ladder and hadn’t lost a game at that point. They’ve dropped off significantly since copping a mountain of injuries to all their key position players. 

It is such a cheap trick when people make sweeping statements about games in retrospect.

"You beat this team but then they turned out to be garbage so that win is null and void" 

That was and still is a great win.

Posted

Twitter abbreviation for the game is Jar v Nar

sounds like two pirates having an argument

• Haha 5
Posted (edited)
9 minutes ago, layzie said:

I'm getting tired of the argument that we haven't beaten anyone decent, at a point in the season where we've only just played half of the competition this has to be the mootest point going.

There was plenty of listner questions on the pod as well. One even suggesting we could be the worst 7-2 team of all time. If this is what success is all about that I'm happy to keep beating up on teams under us!

It’s imposter syndrome, if it was cats or lions or pies we wouldn’t think any think less of them. Having said that the next month will show if we deserve to be equal flag favourites 

Edited by Garbo
Posted
1 hour ago, Neil Crompton said:

Whatever, I just hope you haven’t put the moz on him.

Nah, in the situation, give'em the Gee up. They love fans, and often declare they play for us. @WalkingCivilWar

If you are quiet and not give the support, then, I reckon that is the moz.