Skip to content
View in the app

A better way to browse. Learn more.

A full-screen app on your home screen with push notifications, badges and more.

To install this app on iOS and iPadOS
  1. Tap the Share icon in Safari
  2. Scroll the menu and tap Add to Home Screen.
  3. Tap Add in the top-right corner.
To install this app on Android
  1. Tap the 3-dot menu (⋮) in the top-right corner of the browser.
  2. Tap Add to Home screen or Install app.
  3. Confirm by tapping Install.

Farewell James Harmes

5 hours ago, Grapeviney said:

There's a third kick which everyone has forgotten - to Jack Watts in the dying moments of Queen's Birthday 2017.

Good spot up GV!

14 hours ago, La Dee-vina Comedia said:

I think this is a really good point. Players like James Hird, Dustin Martin and Scott Pendlebury seem to have already worked out what they're going to do with the ball before they've got it.

I think that's definitely true.

Although Martin and Pendlebury, from my very uneducated perspective, look(ed) like technically very sound kicks, as well. I wouldn't say the same for James Hird - it was everything else that made his disposal so good.

18 hours ago, Go Ds said:

So a lot of our players went from winning a flag to damaged?

After winning the flag much occurred, perhaps look at former presidents for answers

On 11/02/2026 at 07:31, DeeZone said:

Some one will write a book one day Demonsone and connect all the dots but not in my lifetime. I’m still waiting for the Eagles story following the 2006 Premiership.

It will never come out because of the premiership win.

I'll tell you when stories come out, when you never hold the cup above your head.

Edited by YesitwasaWin4theAges

21 hours ago, Grapeviney said:

There's a third kick which everyone has forgotten - to Jack Watts in the dying moments of Queen's Birthday 2017.

I must have watched that clip 1000 times. It will never grow old. Thanks Harmsey - always a DEMON ❤️💙

22 minutes ago, jane02 said:

I must have watched that clip 1000 times. It will never grow old. Thanks Harmsey - always a DEMON ❤️💙

It's a shame that the 3AW call of that goal is no longer online - Tim Lane at his very best ,with a deafening noise from the crowd in the background. Like you, I watched it 1000 times.

"Oscar McDonald with a little runner up towards Harmes on centre wing,

"Watts running into space for him at half forward.

"Will run onto a nicely bouncing ball.

"Outside 50, crosses 50, has a bounce

"On tired legs, closes to 30, and KICKS THE GOAL!!

9 hours ago, Demonsone said:

After winning the flag much occurred, perhaps look at former presidents for answers

Ok. I'm not necessarily disagreeing with you - our last few years have been atrocious.

Was listening to SEN this morning with Tom Morris.

According to Morris, Harmes was desperately keen to play on and pleaded with the Dogs for one last chance.

However, apparently the Dogs said to him that he'd lost trust with the playing group and the club overall and demanded he retire. Too many stuff ups they reckon.

Morris also mentioned that Steve May was going to spend the entire season at Casey, at all costs, should he have refused the offer of retirement/pay out.

• Author
15 minutes ago, Bring-Back-Powell said:

Was listening to SEN this morning with Tom Morris.

According to Morris, Harmes was desperately keen to play on and pleaded with the Dogs for one last chance.

However, apparently the Dogs said to him that he'd lost trust with the playing group and the club overall and demanded he retire. Too many stuff ups they reckon.

Morris also mentioned that Steve May was going to spend the entire season at Casey, at all costs, should he have refused the offer of retirement/pay out.

Harmes issues were the exact reason the club also moved him on. Some of his off field antics and activities were getting out of control.

Source: Current Melbourne player

3 minutes ago, dazzledavey36 said:

Harmes issues were the exact reason the club also moved him on. Some of his off field antics and activities were getting out of control.

Sounds like joining Moe is a risky decision.

As soon as I heard about his retirement a mate and I both said to each other almost simultaneously, three strikes.

• Author
26 minutes ago, Supermercado said:

Sounds like joining Moe is a risky decision.

I get a sense there is some brown paper bags stuff happening at that footy club with some of the players they have been able to recruit..

I see Harmesy has linked up with Benny Crocker as well through the footy.. another questionable character to say at least.

15 minutes ago, Rab D Nesbitt said:

As soon as I heard about his retirement a mate and I both said to each other almost simultaneously, three strikes.

That’s three d**kh**ds gone. Are there any left?

18 minutes ago, dazzledavey36 said:

I get a sense there is some brown paper bags stuff happening

I think it may have been bags of a different nature that caused all the trouble to begin with.

8 minutes ago, Demonstone said:

I think it may have been bags of a different nature that caused all the trouble to begin with.

Could you please elaborate in fine detail? I have a good nose for this kind of thing so don’t cut anything out.

36 minutes ago, John Crow Batty said:

That’s three d**kh**ds gone. Are there any left?

Not in these exact words, but Chappy intimated the same at the Season Launch on Monday night. Of course, he didn’t mention names but I knew to whom he was referring. It was a No DH zone convo. Then I happened to knock over a glass on his table. He rolled his eyes and said,”… of the players, that is. The fans, not so much.” 🤣

1 hour ago, dazzledavey36 said:

Wanted to bring this up at the time but all the dots are now aligned.

J.Watts, Clarry, Harmesy, Maysie, J. Smith, Hulkamania and who ever else i have not touched on.

These cultural issue have been visible for 10 plus years.

The club have made the right calls to eradicate this.

56 minutes ago, Rab D Nesbitt said:

Yep.

You complete most of the pre season and you decide to retire, doesn’t make any sense.

He wouldn't have received a payout either?

No press confrence to announce his retirement either that's a red flag that this decision wasn't mutual.

Edited by YesitwasaWin4theAges

17 minutes ago, Ghostwriter said:

Not in these exact words, but Chappy intimated the same at the Season Launch on Monday night. Of course, he didn’t mention names but I knew to whom he was referring. It was a No DH zone convo. Then I happened to knock over a glass on his table. He rolled his eyes and said,”… of the players, that is. The fans, not so much.” 🤣

Yep

Drain the Swamp (hopefully, drained)

• Author
34 minutes ago, YesitwasaWin4theAges said:

Yep.

You complete most of the pre season and you decide to retire, doesn’t make any sense.

He wouldn't have received a payout either?

No press confrence to announce his retirement either that's a red flag that this decision wasn't mutual.

He would have received a payout of his remaining contract which finished up at the end of the year.

On 11/02/2026 at 13:58, Grapeviney said: