On 03/04/2023 at 13:08, Rodney (Balls) Grinter said:

There's usually a few master givers of nicknames at footy clubs and nicknames can be derived from the most randomness of 'stuff'.

As an asides, I've actually been woundering where 'Chin' came from?

“Chin” is because of Kade’s chiselled chin.

I’m not sure why Judd is nicknamed “knuckles” but I reckon it suits him and it’s stuck now anyways.

Tommy Sparrow’s nickname is “Spaz” around the club, and according to his mum it’s what he insists on being called. Still feels kinda weird to hear it being yelled out though. 

He signed a contract extension until the end of 2025. 

It's a bit early for the "is he going home?" angst.

On 04/04/2023 at 02:43, Demonstone said:

He signed a contract extension until the end of 2025. 

It's a bit early for the "is he going home?" angst.

Also he's a cute kid. Surely we can organise him a Melbourne based girlfriend!

On 03/04/2023 at 23:42, WalkingCivilWar said:

I’m not sure why Judd is nicknamed “knuckles” but I reckon it suits him and it’s stuck now anyways.

Tommy Sparrow’s nickname is “Spaz” around the club, and according to his mum it’s what he insists on being called. Still feels kinda weird to hear it being yelled out though. 

Remember 'knuckle-puck time' in Mighty Ducks?

On 30/03/2023 at 03:13, Queanbeyan Demon said:

Clearly the FD have no idea what they're doing.

Not everyone makes the correct call 100% of the time. The Dees were bundled out of the finals last year relatively easily and the forward line had issues for a big chunk of the season, it needed something different to change course. Anyways, the lad made a pretty good debut against Sydney, well done 👍

I'm told that he looks like craig sholl (late of Norf) whose nick name was knuckles, I think

On 04/04/2023 at 06:30, No. 31 said:

Not everyone makes the correct call 100% of the time. The Dees were bundled out of the finals last year relatively easily and the forward line had issues for a big chunk of the season, it needed something different to change course. Anyways, the lad made a pretty good debut against Sydney, well done 👍

I think the fact that he had such an impressive debut is proof that the FD knew exactly what they were doing. 

Sparrow/Spaz is kinda frenetic, so make sense to me.

I played footy with a bloke called Barry who's nick name was Spaz which wasn't so frenetic and rather unkind in alot of respects really.

Both have in common that they were absolute club legends, respected by all for the people they are and real heart and soul type of players that would put their body on the line and give every ounce of energy to the team and I think that's the part that matters most.

Edited by Rodney (Balls) Grinter

It was like watching The Ox in 1992. Raw Talent, and he fully backed himself 

About Time we had a Serious Forward 

Watch the first Gus and gawny pod cast from this year, they discuss why Mcv has the nickname knuckles but I can't be bothered finding it lol

On 04/04/2023 at 19:36, AzzKikA said:

Watch the first Gus and gawny pod cast from this year, they discuss why Mcv has the nickname knuckles but I can't be bothered finding it lol

Wish I had time for all these shows. Only really have time for the DL pod lately. 

On 04/04/2023 at 07:29, Roost it far said:

I think the fact that he had such an impressive debut is proof that the FD knew exactly what they were doing. 

Perhaps you are correct, but without a time machine, we will never know 😁

On 05/04/2023 at 00:22, layzie said:

Wish I had time for all these shows. Only really have time for the DL pod lately. 

Missing out mate, great one last week with the reach people.

On 05/04/2023 at 02:35, AzzKikA said:

Missing out mate, great one last week with the reach people.

Will try and squeeze it in today! Big advocate for Reach.

Edited by layzie

On 04/04/2023 at 13:44, Sir Why You Little said:

It was like watching The Ox in 1992. Raw Talent, and he fully backed himself 

About Time we had a Serious Forward 

Totally agree. Very similar. I think it’s the agility he shows and confidence 

Can I ask why he didn't get the rising star nomination? He's only in his second year isn't he? I just thought kicking 3 goals to help your team win would be better than the west coast guy who got 20 disposals and played in a team that got thrashed.

Nothing against him but midfielders get everything 

On 05/04/2023 at 06:21, dees189227 said:

Can I ask why he didn't get the rising star nomination? He's only in his second year isn't he? I just thought kicking 3 goals to help your team win would be better than the west coast guy who got 20 disposals and played in a team that got thrashed.

Nothing against him but midfielders get everything 

I was surprised too dees189227, thought most weeks a game like that would bank it.

I liked Ginbey's game in the Derby though and I think it was a reward for his first 3 weeks of good work.