Guest Posted April 3, 2023 Posted April 3, 2023 10 hours ago, Rodney (Balls) Grinter said: There's usually a few master givers of nicknames at footy clubs and nicknames can be derived from the most randomness of 'stuff'. As an asides, I've actually been woundering where 'Chin' came from? “Chin” is because of Kade’s chiselled chin. I’m not sure why Judd is nicknamed “knuckles” but I reckon it suits him and it’s stuck now anyways. Tommy Sparrow’s nickname is “Spaz” around the club, and according to his mum it’s what he insists on being called. Still feels kinda weird to hear it being yelled out though. Quote
Orion 332 Posted April 4, 2023 Posted April 4, 2023 Please don't ask to be traded back to Perth Quote
Demonstone 23,573 Posted April 4, 2023 Posted April 4, 2023 He signed a contract extension until the end of 2025. It's a bit early for the "is he going home?" angst. 1 1 Quote
Jaded No More 68,976 Posted April 4, 2023 Posted April 4, 2023 1 minute ago, Demonstone said: He signed a contract extension until the end of 2025. It's a bit early for the "is he going home?" angst. Also he's a cute kid. Surely we can organise him a Melbourne based girlfriend! Quote
layzie 34,528 Posted April 4, 2023 Posted April 4, 2023 6 hours ago, WalkingCivilWar said: “Chin” is because of Kade’s chiselled chin. I’m not sure why Judd is nicknamed “knuckles” but I reckon it suits him and it’s stuck now anyways. Tommy Sparrow’s nickname is “Spaz” around the club, and according to his mum it’s what he insists on being called. Still feels kinda weird to hear it being yelled out though. Remember 'knuckle-puck time' in Mighty Ducks? Quote
No. 31 1,404 Posted April 4, 2023 Posted April 4, 2023 On 3/30/2023 at 2:13 PM, Queanbeyan Demon said: Clearly the FD have no idea what they're doing. Not everyone makes the correct call 100% of the time. The Dees were bundled out of the finals last year relatively easily and the forward line had issues for a big chunk of the season, it needed something different to change course. Anyways, the lad made a pretty good debut against Sydney, well done 👍 1 Quote
Fritta and Turner 4,696 Posted April 4, 2023 Posted April 4, 2023 7 hours ago, WalkingCivilWar said: I’m not sure why Judd is nicknamed “knuckles” but I reckon it suits him and it’s stuck now anyways. I'm told that he looks like craig sholl (late of Norf) whose nick name was knuckles, I think 1 Quote
Roost it far 10,136 Posted April 4, 2023 Posted April 4, 2023 58 minutes ago, No. 31 said: Not everyone makes the correct call 100% of the time. The Dees were bundled out of the finals last year relatively easily and the forward line had issues for a big chunk of the season, it needed something different to change course. Anyways, the lad made a pretty good debut against Sydney, well done 👍 I think the fact that he had such an impressive debut is proof that the FD knew exactly what they were doing. 5 Quote
Rodney (Balls) Grinter 11,064 Posted April 4, 2023 Posted April 4, 2023 (edited) 13 hours ago, WalkingCivilWar said: “Chin” is because of Kade’s chiselled chin. I’m not sure why Judd is nicknamed “knuckles” but I reckon it suits him and it’s stuck now anyways. Tommy Sparrow’s nickname is “Spaz” around the club, and according to his mum it’s what he insists on being called. Still feels kinda weird to hear it being yelled out though. Sparrow/Spaz is kinda frenetic, so make sense to me. I played footy with a bloke called Barry who's nick name was Spaz which wasn't so frenetic and rather unkind in alot of respects really. Both have in common that they were absolute club legends, respected by all for the people they are and real heart and soul type of players that would put their body on the line and give every ounce of energy to the team and I think that's the part that matters most. Edited April 4, 2023 by Rodney (Balls) Grinter Quote
Sir Why You Little 37,457 Posted April 4, 2023 Posted April 4, 2023 It was like watching The Ox in 1992. Raw Talent, and he fully backed himself About Time we had a Serious Forward 2 Quote
AzzKikA 2,371 Posted April 4, 2023 Posted April 4, 2023 Watch the first Gus and gawny pod cast from this year, they discuss why Mcv has the nickname knuckles but I can't be bothered finding it lol Quote
layzie 34,528 Posted April 5, 2023 Posted April 5, 2023 4 hours ago, AzzKikA said: Watch the first Gus and gawny pod cast from this year, they discuss why Mcv has the nickname knuckles but I can't be bothered finding it lol Wish I had time for all these shows. Only really have time for the DL pod lately. 1 Quote
No. 31 1,404 Posted April 5, 2023 Posted April 5, 2023 18 hours ago, Roost it far said: I think the fact that he had such an impressive debut is proof that the FD knew exactly what they were doing. Perhaps you are correct, but without a time machine, we will never know 😁 Quote
AzzKikA 2,371 Posted April 5, 2023 Posted April 5, 2023 2 hours ago, layzie said: Wish I had time for all these shows. Only really have time for the DL pod lately. Missing out mate, great one last week with the reach people. Quote
layzie 34,528 Posted April 5, 2023 Posted April 5, 2023 (edited) 22 minutes ago, AzzKikA said: Missing out mate, great one last week with the reach people. Will try and squeeze it in today! Big advocate for Reach. Edited April 5, 2023 by layzie 1 Quote
640MD 3,568 Posted April 5, 2023 Posted April 5, 2023 13 hours ago, Sir Why You Little said: It was like watching The Ox in 1992. Raw Talent, and he fully backed himself About Time we had a Serious Forward Totally agree. Very similar. I think it’s the agility he shows and confidence 1 1 Quote
rpfc 29,027 Posted April 5, 2023 Posted April 5, 2023 18 minutes ago, Demonland said: Amongst some awful company there. I mean, just…the worst. 1 Quote
layzie 34,528 Posted April 5, 2023 Posted April 5, 2023 33 minutes ago, Demonland said: Ginbey from West Coast looks like a tackling machine as well. 26 already! Quote
dees189227 12,512 Posted April 5, 2023 Posted April 5, 2023 Can I ask why he didn't get the rising star nomination? He's only in his second year isn't he? I just thought kicking 3 goals to help your team win would be better than the west coast guy who got 20 disposals and played in a team that got thrashed. Nothing against him but midfielders get everything Quote
layzie 34,528 Posted April 5, 2023 Posted April 5, 2023 2 minutes ago, dees189227 said: Can I ask why he didn't get the rising star nomination? He's only in his second year isn't he? I just thought kicking 3 goals to help your team win would be better than the west coast guy who got 20 disposals and played in a team that got thrashed. Nothing against him but midfielders get everything I was surprised too dees189227, thought most weeks a game like that would bank it. I liked Ginbey's game in the Derby though and I think it was a reward for his first 3 weeks of good work. Quote