3 minutes ago, WalkingCivilWar said:

Very taxing day/night for you OD, but good on you for making the effort to be there. 💕

It was a very good night WCW. Come winter it will be sadly TV for me. Good timing I am off to NZ for the next game. 

Never watch the sunday footy show on channel 9.

Thought I'd flick it on to see them talk about the dees.

Instead I just suffered through 10 mins of some stupid supposedly comedic quiz.

A footy show?

13 minutes ago, Fork 'em said:

I was worried he'd hurt himself flying for that speccy a few mins earlier as he got up gingerly.
When he flipped back onto his feet I knew he was ok.

I can't remember a better ruckman than Gawn.
Teasdale and Round won Brownlows when I was a kid.
Simon Madden was a great ruck who went forward, took big marks and kicked goals.
Footscray had a big ruckman they used wax lyrical about but I can't remember his name.
Had burn scars and always wore long sleeves.
But I can't say I remember too much about their games.
Doubt Trac, Gawn or Clarry will win a brownlow as they take too many votes off each other.
But they'll deserve one.
Multiple flags will just have to do I s'pose.

The great Gary Dempsey 

2 minutes ago, old dee said:

The great Gary Dempsey 

Yeah, but was he as great as Gawn?
I know he wasn't a premiership captain 😉

Edited by Fork 'em

1 minute ago, binman said:

A footy show?

And they wonder why ratings are low. It is like the game last night with all the [censored] before the start. Isn't the game enough?

1 minute ago, old dee said:

And they wonder why ratings are low. It is like the game last night with all the [censored] before the start. Isn't the game enough?

There's a reason I don't tune in till they bounce the ball.

39 minutes ago, hemingway said:

Folks have talked about fitness but did you see Petracca flip off the ground, off his back onto his feet. Never seen that happen on the footy field. Now try doing that in the backyard. It is impossible for most of us,  it requires incredible strength and flexibility in the core. That was my highlight. No wonder he is impossible to tag. A raging bull. Once in a generation. Oh, maybe we have two or three once in a generation players. It’s like looking back and saying how lucky you were to see Barassi or all those other champs from those days. We are very lucky to see our current crop of players. 

I just did, Ernie. My chooks all ran for cover and my son’s threatening to have me committed. 

2 hours ago, zeldacat said:

Thanks for clarifying,  now I get it👍

No worries!

It's kind of funny because people also think winning by a higher margin is the most important thing when it comes to boosting percentage but keeping the opposition to a low score counts for a lot too.

1 hour ago, Dr. Gonzo said:

I don't think the Dogs are a fellow contender, a genuine middle of the road team with that defense.

Crowd was 48k last night, for those there what do you think the split was? On tv the crowd looked good and seemed like we were far louder than they were. Our games often look bad on tv because our supporters are all in the northern stand but the southern stand seemed pretty packed last night on level 1 and 2.

The AFL members stand was almost empty as neither mfc nor bulldogs have many AFL members.  That stand is always nearly empty at our Home games vs smaller clubs and i/state clubs.  When it is fuller at our games it is opp fans.

Agree too much hype - trying to follow Gridiron, when AFL footy the game stands on its own!

Went to Super Bowl recently great experience but 4.5 hours duration, 60 mins game of which ball only in play for 11-12 minutes of 4.5 hours, so needs a lot of gift wrapping and BS noise, to make it an event.

AFL under 3 hours, game typically 120 mins, ball in play 80 mins, we don’t need all the BS!

AFL best sport to watch by a country mile!

Has there been any discussion of Clarry's kicking the ball over the fence? (I avoid the game day thread religiously).  What motivated him?

10 minutes ago, WalkingCivilWar said:

I just did, Ernie. My chooks all ran for cover and my son’s threatening to have me committed. 

Were you ....err... scantily clad at the time WCW?

Just asking.

At least we didn't have that blaring music at the breaks!  Big improvement.

Good to see our AFLW team do a Premiership lap of honour.  But disappointed that the applause wasn't what was deserved.

Just now, sue said:

Has there been any discussion of Clarry's kicking the ball over the fence? (I avoid the game day thread religiously).  What motivated him?

That was so close to us the ball nearly took our heads off. The look on his face was one of frustration, from memory that was in the middle of the Dogs best patch. 

18 minutes ago, old dee said:

The great Gary Dempsey 

He was a wonderful ruckman to watch. Len Thompson too.

Different era, almost a different game back then

23 minutes ago, binman said:

A footy show?

Footballers & footy journalists trying to do comedy is cringe!

4 minutes ago, Stiff Arm said:

He was a wonderful ruckman to watch. Len Thompson too.

Different era, almost a different game back then

Yes they didn't have anywhere near the fitness of modern players. One reason they were part time players.

12 minutes ago, sue said:

Had a mental breakdown 😂

10 minutes ago, Lucifers Hero said:

Good to see our AFLW team do a Premiership lap of honour.  But disappointed that the applause wasn't what was deserved.

Everyone in our area were clapping?

6 minutes ago, pinkshark said:

Was Bailey Laurie subbed out for being injured or otherwise?

Otherwise. He only had the 4 disposals and got subbed out. 

The sub rule has changed this year so it is no longer to cover injury, but can be used tactically as desired.

Just now, Lord Travis said:

Otherwise. He only had the 4 disposals and got subbed out. 

The sub rule has changed this year so it is no longer to cover injury, but can be used tactically as desired.

I think he was always getting subbed out for Melksham anyway. But wasn’t setting the world on fire so it was the right call regardless. 

15 minutes ago, Bitter but optimistic said:

Were you ....err... scantily clad at the time WCW?

Just asking.

Please stop picturing it!