Posted
18 minutes ago, titan_uranus said:

Second consecutive six day break, no TMac, no Brown, no Harmes, Jordon questionable fitness, Lever questionable fitness, Oliver still recovering from a broken thumb, flying across the country to play on a slop of a turf against an opponent Fyfe and Switkowski short of full strength with an extra day's break.

Get around us. Season-defining win coming up tomorrow night.

Gawn isn't 100% either. He'll play again, but his ankle is nowhere near what it needs to be.

Posted
5 minutes ago, Larry, Moe or Curly said:

This has got disaster written all over it. Turf wouldn't settle in a couple of days in the middle of summer, ACL Russian roulette.

I understand the AFL gave the Dockers permission to train on the ground on Weds. (to get used to the conditions FFS)

Posted (edited)
2 hours ago, Deecisive said:

I would love to see chandler get a game or two, we risk losing him if we cannot play him especially when he is in better form that some of the players who are playing now. i think we could have rested spargo or ANB to give him a chance.

You don't rest players a month out from finals in a must win game. If you meant dropped then I could see the argument for Spargo though I wouldn't do it but no way does ANB get dropped. He would have to be our number 1 pressure forward surely? The amount of run down tackles he gets is obscene.

Posted
3 hours ago, jnrmac said:

We have only had 3 home games against Essendon out of the last 19

Collingwood hasn't played at Geelong since 1999

Essendon hasn't played at Geelong once since 1993

Essendon played down in Geelong last year in about round 16 or 17 but point well and truly taken.

Posted (edited)
4 hours ago, jnrmac said:

We have only had 3 home games against Essendon out of the last 19

Collingwood hasn't played at Geelong since 1999

Essendon hasn't played at Geelong once since 1993

Makes me think back to the good old days of ‘tribal footy’ when there were 12 teams in the VFL and generally speaking we attracted the best players from SA and WA.  And we played each team twice in one season!

Don’t get me wrong, footy to me is like a religion and I passionately follow the mighty Demon gods and religiously turn up the hallowed turf to watch them play.  I even prayed for a premiership and my prayers were answered!……however, I try not to think too much about what AFL footy is now really all about….professional entertainment.  Sad but true.  

Edited by Wodjathefirst
Posted

I wonder why they bother naming players in positions.

Over the last few games I have seen different positions on AFL vs MFC website one week and magnets that changed position pre-game pretty much every week.

My conclusion is that the likelihood of the team actually lining up as published is down to zero and falling.

Posted
10 hours ago, Lord Nev said:

Gawn isn't 100% either. He'll play again, but his ankle is nowhere near what it needs to be.

Reckon he's still some ways off Nev? Maybe at 70%?

Posted
12 hours ago, jnrmac said:

From Perth Now:

Optus Stadium contractors are replacing more turf ahead of Friday night’s blockbuster between Fremantle and Melbourne, as ground staff brace for an untimely downpour as the troubled surface goes under the spotlight of national free-to-air TV.

I hope they asked both teams first.  But I doubt it. 

This smacks of helping Freo overcome a weakness in their game ie they don't handle wet conditions. 

And increases the risk of injuries!

Posted (edited)
58 minutes ago, layzie said:

Reckon he's still some ways off Nev? Maybe at 70%?

Not totally sure sorry. Just know he's still carrying it and not 100%. We're carrying a few sore ones atm apparently.

Edited by Lord Nev

Posted
3 minutes ago, Lucifers Hero said:

I hope they asked both teams first.  But I doubt it. 

This smacks of helping Freo overcome a weakness in their game ie they don't handle wet conditions. 

And increases the risk of injuries!

They were lucky to play the Manchester United vs Aston Villa game at Optus Oval last Saturday.

Saw lots of tweets from people on the other side of the world calling it a swamp aha

Posted
Just now, roy11 said:

They were lucky to play the Manchester United vs Aston Villa game at Optus Oval last Saturday.

Saw lots of tweets from people on the other side of the world calling it a swamp aha

But they wait until after Freo trains on it to replace the turf.  So replaced at Freo's request, maybe?

Posted
11 hours ago, DubDee said:

Replacing turf and then rain before the turf has set in, doesnt sound good

No injuries please!!!

I assume they replace the damaged turf with a fresh square. I would have thought those squares are so big and heavy and fitted so tightly that there should be no problems. But what would I know? Just as Webber is our go-to for medical matters, do we have a turfologist out there who can provide a professional opinion? (And, no, not Dr Turf. He might be a Melbourne supporter but his credentials do not include turfology.) 

Posted
1 minute ago, Lord Nev said:

No idea sorry. Not even sure what it means about when they start the concussion protocols from. If I hear and am allowed to say will post it though.

I mean it would definitely make sense if he was still limited with the ankle from what we're seeing on field. Human nature just wants that scrap of evidence that it's true haha. 

Posted
Just now, layzie said:

I mean it would definitely make sense if he was still limited with the ankle from what we're seeing on field. Human nature just wants that scrap of evidence that it's true haha. 

Sorry, edited my post after realizing you were asking about Gawn not Harmes, haven't had a coffee yet!

I definitely think we're a lot more banged up this year than last year, plus we've had more bad luck during the season, but fingers crossed we can finish top 4 and get everyone cherry ripe to peak during September.

Posted
3 minutes ago, roy11 said:

Yeah bit surprised it went ahead but both teams agreed I guess. Must have been under pressure from all the promoters and stakeholders? 

Posted
1 minute ago, Lord Nev said:

Sorry, edited my post after realizing you were asking about Gawn not Harmes, haven't had a coffee yet!

I definitely think we're a lot more banged up this year than last year, plus we've had more bad luck during the season, but fingers crossed we can finish top 4 and get everyone cherry ripe to peak during September.

No dramas, get that caffeine into you we got a long day ahead! 

Posted
40 minutes ago, Lord Nev said:

Not totally sure sorry. Just know he's still carrying it and not 100%. We're carrying a few sore ones atm apparently.

Any goss on how Clarry’s thumb is holding up? 

Posted
2 minutes ago, 1964_2 said:

Any goss on how Clarry’s thumb is holding up? 

Nah, no goss, sorry mate!

Seems bad though (from the outside) when watching him, was noticeable with his tackling and handballing last week.

Posted
2 hours ago, Olgreybeard49 said:

I wonder why they bother naming players in positions.

Over the last few games I have seen different positions on AFL vs MFC website one week and magnets that changed position pre-game pretty much every week.

My conclusion is that the likelihood of the team actually lining up as published is down to zero and falling.

They haven't been doing that for 20 odd years, wake up brother......

Posted
14 minutes ago, demon3165 said:

They haven't been doing that for 20 odd years, wake up brother......

True, but it's getting more and more comical.  Kozzie at CHF has to win the prize.

Posted (edited)
1 hour ago, Lord Nev said:

You can tell. Our entire midfield (including both rucks) and likely May, Lever and Salem. I mean basically most of them. 🤣

Posted
16 hours ago, John Crow Batty said:

He usually gets the sub gig.  Expect him there.

he is way below average this year and deserved to be dropped

Posted

An alternative view of JVR as an emergency is as a way to get home and see his family.

Posted

I'm still trying to work out which of the five nominal small defenders (Hunt, Hibberd, Rivers, Salem, Brayshaw) won't play in defence. The most versatile in that group is clearly Brayshaw, but he's also been our best small defender all year. Is it Jordon to the midfield for the Harmes' role and Brayshaw to the wing? Or Rivers to the wing? Is Hunt going to play forward with ANB playing Harmes' role? It's quite intriguing.