Posted

The fact he met with Freo mid season only further supports my thinking that he knew last year too that he was going back to WA and had he been honest we could have traded him last year for a lot more. Including Cerra. 
Was obviously hoping for another flag. 

Posted
1 minute ago, Demonland said:

I thought clubs weren't allowed to court players under contract mid-season?

In hindsight you can tell he was already in Freo from that point on. His heart wasn't in it. I know we were trying to win a flag and also get the most value for him on the trade table but it would have been nice if we could have let him rot out the year in the 2s.

Posted
14 minutes ago, Lucifers Hero said:

We could promote Turner scheduled for 2023, one year early and take just one pick to the draft.

Having said that Lamb said last week we will take two draftees so some movement to come with #13 or as you say 2023 picks.

We will have Weid pick.

Posted

He was always going back home.

Otherwise we would have tied him up with a longer deal a year ago.

7 million to go back home and play for the club you supported as a kid?

Who wouldn’t take that deal of a lifetime?

Posted
1 minute ago, Kelpien said:

In hindsight you can tell he was already in Freo from that point on. His heart wasn't in it. I know we were trying to win a flag and also get the most value for him on the trade table but it would have been nice if we could have let him rot out the year in the 2s.

It would have been one of those situations where they weren't 'talking' but they were 'talking'. 

Posted
18 minutes ago, Stiff Arm said:

So...

Met directly with Freo mid year in-contract with MFC

Said later in the year he hadn't thought too much about a new contract and was focused on footy

Once Dogga indicated he was returning to WA was open to either club

MFC said during trade time the Dogga hadn't indicated which club

Honestly, what a dumb [censored] Dogga is. Surely his manager would've told him emphatically to not say anything too revealing, just thank MFC and the fans, say he's happy to be home and that he looks forward to playing footy next year. Amongst the most stupid things he could've said was that he met with Freo mid year and decided then that he was leaving to go there

Yep.

After hearing his press conference I'm pretty dirty on him especially after being one of his big supporters on here against people who were having a crack.

The fact that he made his decision up so quickly at the mid year break leaves me with an incredibly sour taste in my mouth.

On top of getting reamed on the trade deal it's certainly a real bitter feeling.

I wish him zero success with Freo.

Posted
3 minutes ago, Kelpien said:

Of course they are. We literally had meetings with Grundy all throughout the season. Literally every club does that.

Posted
1 minute ago, Redleg said:

We will have Weid pick.

Maybe but we haven't used a pick over 35 for the last three years and I doubt the Weid pick will be better than that ie a 2nd round pick.

We could get a better pick from Ess if we include a future pick with

weidemen but they don' have much to offer this year and they need points for Davey jr so are more likely to offer a future pick for Weidemen.

Posted
6 minutes ago, Jaded No More said:

The fact he met with Freo mid season only further supports my thinking that he knew last year too that he was going back to WA and had he been honest we could have traded him last year for a lot more. Including Cerra. 

I think if we hadn't won the flag he would've requested the trade last year. That high from winning probably would've been greater than any desire to go home. 

It was during Christmas time apparently where he had the first talk with his manager where he really started considering going home. 

Posted
4 minutes ago, mmwd6 said:

I think if we hadn't won the flag he would've requested the trade last year. That high from winning probably would've been greater than any desire to go home. 

It was during Christmas time apparently where he had the first talk with his manager where he really started considering going home. 

I think that is probably the closest to the mark any theory of ours will get. 

Posted
15 hours ago, 4_Kent_Watts said:

Nobody with any type or part of brain working would want to live in Western Sydney. It's worse than our Western Suburbs. 

Rude & rude.  Coming from someone I'm guessing hasn't set foot in either.

Posted
30 minutes ago, Lucifers Hero said:

We could promote Turner scheduled for 2023, one year early and take just one pick to the draft.

Having said that Lamb said last week we will take two draftees so some movement to come with #13 or as you say 2023 picks.

This is just a guess but I reckon we might use 1 or 2 of the F2's for a pick (or picks?) this year (moving up in the draft as well?)

We've dealt with the GCS & GWS before so there's the conduit

Thus keeping 2 x F1's for next year's draft ... and we can move up in next year's draft using those 2 F1's (along with any other picks we obtain) 

Posted
29 minutes ago, Stiff Arm said:

Honestly, what a dumb [censored] Dogga is. Surely his manager would've told him emphatically to not say anything too revealing, just thank MFC and the fans, say he's happy to be home and that he looks forward to playing footy next year. Amongst the most stupid things he could've said was that he met with Freo mid year and decided then that he was leaving to go there

Unfortunately players have to lie in the AFL set up as it is. Everyone does it. But in saying that I also agree with you. The back half of his season was [censored] and he let us down in two losing finals. He might  have been injured but, even so,  the perception that he was no longer invested is now around him. Way better fr him to say less and more carefully. He feels all too casual about things  . let’s see how that flies at the dockers. 

He’s not the sharpest tool in the shed Jacko and he’s still very immature as a character  . Something tells me that arriving back in Freo, around all his old mates, and as the now highly touted , million dollar star isn’t going to help him mature quickly either. Wouldn’t surprise me to see him take 4- 5 years to get the most out of his talent. Fingers crossed on that. 

Posted
25 minutes ago, Jaded No More said:

He was always going back and soon rather than later.   Writing was on the wall two years ago when he extended his contract by only one year.

Neither he nor mfc were going to break his contract last year.

Posted
9 hours ago, HarpenDee said:

Apologies.

Its good to offset the anger at losing out on this deal with the knowledge we'd be looking at $1mill a year over 7 with our already tight cap. Could be a blessing in disguise?

Best case scenario Jackson stays.

But now that's not the case, there is no question that him leaving relieves salary cap pressure.

There's no way we would have paid him a million a year, but we would have had to pay overs for a few seasons. He won't hit peak until he's mid twenties, but we would have had to pay peak wages.

And freo are having to pay way overs for the next couple of years.

Posted

I'm filthy with the way the season ended. There's no way Jackson should have played the last 2 finals for us. We've been hood winked big time as he now admits he decided to leave back in June. What Jackson served up in those last 2 games cost us a finals win with those pathetic displays against the Swans & Lions. Goody should have seen the signals from Jackson & promoted Weid. At least he would have had a fair dinkum crack.

Posted

I can't believe we played Jackson through the second half of the season when it was clear to Blind Freddy and his dog that he was leaving. He couldn't have been looked less interested in being a Melbourne player through that period, and certainly did nothing to enhance his trade value.

I wish him a meaningless career at Fremantle finishing 15th in the B&F each year in a side that goes nowhere.

Posted
9 hours ago, Kick_It_To_Pickett said:

Absolutely spot on. He had committed to Freo mid year and played like it. Lied to everyone and then just casually admitted to it today. Still hasn’t really offered a reason why he wanted out. Says he wasn’t homesick. Literally, I wanted to play for Freo, as I supported them as a kid. More like, I am getting paid heaps of cash and I get to go home. 

Rubbish, one of his best games was against the Lions immediately after the bye. He then got injured and played like it for the rest of the year. I hold nothing against Jackson at all.

Posted
8 hours ago, bing181 said:

If Freo have the same picks next year, 13 + 32, the points value of that is pick 6 but is close to being pick 5. If they drop a place or two or academy picks or whatever push them slightly up the order then it quickly becomes pick 5. Any combo of mid first round with mid second round works out around pick 5, it doesn't even take much to be looking at pick 4, e.g. 10 + 29.

OK, grain of salt, and of course Freo would be hoping that they'd improve their position, but that's how the points play out. Who knows how Taylor and Lamb play their cards here.

Yeah I get the "points value" I just think its a fallacy and was being facetious in my post. Of course there are always diamonds in the rough but nothing really beats the quality you get with high end draft picks. Packaging up lower picks because they equal out points wise (based on what? A subjective AFL system to assist with FS/Academy bids) doesn't make up for the lost potential of a player like Oliver or Petracca.