POSTGAME: QF vs Brisbane

8 minutes ago, dazzledavey36 said:

Did see this lol..

Wasn't happy alright, but I think once Goodwin explained to him why he was dragged he would easily been just as happy.

And let's be honest, for Steven May to be on the bench in the company of Oliver, Petracca and Gawn for thr last 5 minutes speaks volume just how much he is extremely rated by the coaching staff.

👍

2 minutes ago, Dee Viney Intervention said:

Really impressed with Tom “ Viagra “ Sparrow. Just hard at it all night and has cleaned up his disposal.

Good call. Thought he played his best. Shout out to Nibbler too.

6 hours ago, Nairobi_Demon said:

So many top efforts it’s hard to know where to start: Rivers, Kossie, ANB...  You could almost list the whole team.

I was particularly impressed with Sparrow’s game and I thought Langdon was back to his first half season form where he gets all the way up into the forward line and hits the score board. First time he has kicked a goal since round 13. I wonder whether they’ve been saving this part of his game for finals. 

My only concern is TMac. He’s never been fast but he seemed particularly slow today and lacked awareness of what was happening around him. I’d back him in but gee I hope he can find some of his form from earlier in the season.

Rivers had a ripper last quarter.

The thing about this club is the TEAM factor.

Every week someone else steps up to play a ripper

And usually a player that was quiet the week before proves themself the next.

Except for Clayton who is always par excellence.

And yes Tmac has been way off but if he does recapture his early form of the year ..look out.

Gee Im glad we have bbb.

Edited by leave it to deever

6 minutes ago, leave it to deever said:

Do we want to play cats or giants folks.

Personally i want to face the giants.

Gimme the cats. I would love to see them psychologically damaged.

I would love to see them get their hopes up and then for us to dump them out the way West Coke did to us in 2018

Content to peruse on the last Sunday winters morning for 9 months.

Magnificent Melbourne - The Roar (Match Review)

Talking Points - The Roar.

What Did We Learn? - Mongrel Punt

Edited by Engorged Onion
  • Thanks 4

10 hours ago, Mel Bourne said:

I left Joel Smith out of my passionate/fairly drunk appraisal of the team. Thought he was good! His pace came in handy against Charlie Cameron. Kept up with him in the pocket, and quashed a goal that could have been a dambuster for them. 

I counted 4 goals where he was directly or very closely responsible 

23 minutes ago, leave it to deever said:

Who cares we will beat either.

• Shocked 2

I said it last week and will again today. This 22 came back from the dead to beat the cats on there dung heap and secure top spot. We then beat a good side by 5 goals to go into the prelim. The very best sides do not have every player excelling every week. Why change them?

Looking forward to watching the replay later after my wife has finished her screen-time with Better Homes and Gardens (a happy marriage is full of compromises). Before that happens I just want to mention how impressed I was with Trent River's pressure acts when the Lions were challenging us; first class effort.

9 hours ago, Rusty Nails said:

Viney solid and didn't make too many mistakes

Viney won 5 free kicks, and gave none away (next best was one 3, then all 2’s and 1’s). He was better than solid. Played his normal uncompromising inside game that demands oppo attention (for which he was rewarded) and makes life so much better for Tracc and Clarry. Didn’t overplay his role, was a perfect team-oriented effort. I reckon he’s reset from his 2 week holiday…..a blessing in disguise. 

so good watching all this unfold.  So enjoyable with the kids.  We are on cloud nine.  

That second quarter was insane.  We absolutely stopped brisbane dead in their tracks.  Was like the final quarter of a game where we often choke the death out of a team.  But there was still 15 minutes in the 1st half to go!

We were fantastic.  The smothers, the almost smothers, tackling intensity - animals.  We've put a heap of oppo players in the hands of their medicos this year.  They bloody well want it bad this group.  They are locked in.  There's no bruise free footy with this lot!

Tmac looked like he couldnt walk in the rooms after the game.  I hope he's ok.

Did people notice gawny and jones celebrating with each other in the rooms?  Good feels.

The Nibbler was good last night.  I'm one of his critics.  

All of them.  Fantastic.  Did themselves and us and the club very proud.

Anyone have any thoughts on the vibe around choosing to have Gawn, Petracca, Oliver and May on the bench for the last 5 or so minutes?

Resting/Protection?

Proving that the team can perform without them?

Revelling in watching the lads?

2 minutes ago, Engorged Onion said:

Anyone have any thoughts on the vibe around choosing to have Gawn, Petracca, Oliver and May on the bench for the last 5 or so minutes?

Resting/Protection?

+  D) Making a statement to the rest of the competition.

1 hour ago, BDA said:

Great win. Poor goal kicking the only blot on the performance. That was a 10-goal smashing if we kick straight.

Agreed. We are a very good team, start nailing our chances and we will be a great team. We will dominate our competition.

28 minutes ago, Undeeterred said:

I counted 4 goals where he was directly or very closely responsible 

He was no where near him at the forward stoppages 

Needs to learn the craft

12 minutes ago, Engorged Onion said:

Resting/Protection?

Putting our most valuable assets out of harm’s way for sure. Imagine if Clarry did a knee in the last minute, Josh Bruce style, when the result was already settled.

Rumour has it that it was meant to be Jake Lever that came off, but old Rick didn’t know where the bench was so Maysie had to come off instead.

48 minutes ago, leave it to deever said:

Giants, because it will mean Geelong went out in straight sets, and we started the rot.