Posted

Jeez both Gws and Geelong looking banged up and cooked at the moment. Hopefully we win tonight and take on one of these 2 in the Prelims.

Posted
11 minutes ago, Jaded said:

[censored]. God I hate GWS and that smug [censored] Greene. [censored]!

Well jaded you'll have fun watching GWS and Geelong next week🤣

Posted
1 minute ago, BDA said:

I love Toby Greene the footballer. He has has silk steel and mongrel in equal measure. But he should be suspended for bumping the ump. No excuses for that behavior at all. He has to be suspended

Yep and that was really deliberate. I just do not get why he puts himself in these dumb situations. You cannot jump bump the ump like that and he bumped him hard. 

But gee what a great game, ours better not be like that tonight. I could not handle it. But sydney kicked 6 straight points and most of those goals were getable. They will rue those misses. 

Posted
7 minutes ago, Chook said:

Love Green's reaction on the siren. He's a polarising figure for sure. I happen to reckon he's awesome.

That was awesome! I love seeing that sort of unbridled passion. 

Posted
44 minutes ago, Males said:

Is Green In trouble for that small hip and shoulder on the umpire at 3/4 time? Or just a fine?

22.2 REPORTABLE OFFENCES 
22.2.2 Specific Offences
Any of the following types of conduct is a Reportable Offence:
(d) intentionally making contact with, or striking, an Umpire;
(e) attempting to strike an Umpire;
(f) spitting on or at an Umpire;
(g) behaving in an abusive, insulting, threatening or obscene manner towards or in relation to an Umpire;
(h) using abusive, insulting or obscene language towards or in relation to an Umpire;
(i) unreasonable or unnecessary contact with an Umpire;
(j) carelessly making contact with an Umpire;
(k) disputing a decision of an Umpire;

Posted
3 minutes ago, dees189227 said:

ours better not be like that tonight. I could not handle it.

Please not another heart-stopper for us. Still reeling from last week. A ten-goal thumping should do nicely. 

Posted
13 minutes ago, BDA said:

I love Toby Greene the footballer. He has has silk steel and mongrel in equal measure. But he should be suspended for bumping the ump. No excuses for that behavior at all. He has to be suspended

I think it will depend on the umpires report about the incident. It didn’t appear malicious, more a brain fade.

Posted

Just saw the Greene/umpire incident. If the AFL have any integrity whatsoever regarding the refereeing of the game, that should be automatic suspension.

One of the big problems the game has lack of umpires at lower levels. If the AFL green light as acceptable, they're going to have some of this sh*t in junior football.

Did the ump report him? He should have. Unbelievable if he didn't. Are the umps cowed by the AFL into not doing their jobs properly?

Posted
9 minutes ago, dl4e said:

Well jaded you'll have fun watching GWS and Geelong next week🤣

This is going to be the end of me 🤮

Posted
9 minutes ago, Mazer Rackham said:

Just saw the Greene/umpire incident. If the AFL have any integrity whatsoever regarding the refereeing of the game, that should be automatic suspension.

One of the big problems the game has lack of umpires at lower levels. If the AFL green light as acceptable, they're going to have some of this sh*t in junior football.

Did the ump report him? He should have. Unbelievable if he didn't. Are the umps cowed by the AFL into not doing their jobs properly?

I'm pretty sure you know the answer to that last question

Posted
17 minutes ago, Mazer Rackham said:

One of the big problems the game has lack of umpires at lower levels. If the AFL green light as acceptable, they're going to have some of this sh*t in junior football.

There’s no such thing as as junior football these days thanks to the virus.

Posted (edited)

The rules around the umps are ridiculous in the AFL. we need to be getting closer to the mutual respect shown in soccer and rugby. Brushing past the ump and making contact or touching the ump should not even be considered for a suspension. Obviously anything aggressive needs to be stamped out but if we treat umps like protected species they will never get the respect they deserve 

it would be travesty if Greene misses against the Cats. But based on the past dumb decisions he will miss 3 plus games over a non incident 

Edited by DubDee
Posted
4 minutes ago, DubDee said:

The rules around the umps are ridiculous in the AFL. we need to be getting closer to the mutual respect shown in soccer and rugby. Brushing past the ump and making contact or touching the ump should not even be considered for a suspension. Obviously anything aggressive needs to be stamped out but if we treat umps like protected species they will never get the respect they deserve 

it would be travesty if Greene misses against the Cats. But based on the past dumb decisions he will miss 3 plus games over a non incident 

There is no way this is a non incident if that behaviour filtered down junior football would be horrendous. 

Posted
8 minutes ago, DubDee said:

I thought it was aggressive. He walked straight through him while telling him what a shot job he was doing for no reason. Intent was there. 

Posted

Sydney were I think the next best side after us in terms of W-L record against the top 8, so IMO it's huge that they're out.

GWS is in form but Greene said post-match he hasn't felt that cooked before in a while and they'll be on a six-day break into their semi final vs Geelong.

I'd expect Geelong to win and be our PF opponent. We shouldn't forget we were 44 points down to them a week ago and they were leading us at the final siren. Tuohy might be back for that game, too.

Posted

The Lions should beat whoever wins today.

Geel should beat a Greene-less GWS. The most selfish player in the league is Toby and he needs to be made an example of - you want umpiring to get better? Not going to happen unless you come down hard on the overt disrespect and malevolence that Greene's little bump embodied.

Melb vs Geel

Port vs BL

Thankgod we won that last game. Scott, Danger and Selwood were selling nonsense last week with the 'had to play in Adelaide either way'... lol, what a bunch of self-deluding tossars they are.

We should beat Geel but they will try to stop us from playing footy and frustrate us and we have to be 'in the moment' as Jake Lever says.

Port will easily get past BL in my opinion - Andrews is injured and Dixon will beat him. Their mids are too quick for the Lions. 

Posted (edited)

Im assuming we are all barracking for the Dogs today:

image.png.7b34825a41b197c7f6fcf7ba7be82855.png

The Bombers drought keeps breaking records.

6,196 days and counting #MightyBombers #GoDons

Edited by Jibroni
Posted (edited)
22 minutes ago, Jibroni said:

Im assuming we are all barracking for the Dogs today:

image.png.7b34825a41b197c7f6fcf7ba7be82855.png

The Bombers drought keeps breaking records.

6,196 days and counting #MightyBombers #GoDons

I'm not fussed who wins.  They are in the Lions/Port side of the finals draw. 

We can only play them if one of them get past the Lions and Port in the next few weeks and we make the GF.  Doubt  they will.

Posted

What would top this weekend off would be for the bummers to get rolled so I don't have to hear about them again for the rest of the finals. 

Plus there finals record of losses would still roll on