Posted
1 minute ago, Rod Grinter Riot Squad said:

Good teams win when not at their best and our forward efficiency was very poor tonight. 

I for one am very happy with tonight 

Snap

Posted
11 minutes ago, A F said:

System, baby. We'll keep winning with this system. We strangle sides and absorb pressure like a top team, even when we're not playing well. Sign of a very good team. We're still the best team in the comp. Essendon were playing for a finals spot and they couldn't have played any better and we still beat them.

That was a tremendous gutsy grinding win against a hot team with everything to play for. Go Demons!

Posted
26 minutes ago, layzie said:

Was the booing really that loud? It's easy to turn the mics up 

Yep, it was pretty loud. And every time we had a set shot they booed. I knew when they were booing Trac's second set shot he'd kick it. He feeds off that stuff. 

Incidentally, Trac's two goals were absolutely clutch. Big time player.

And I called Sparrow's goal too. He's a nice penetrating kick, and when the rest of the players on the ground struggled to kick the distance from 50, he made it easily. Ripper!

• Like 22
Posted
24 minutes ago, Colm said:

But after tonight the Bombers can go and get stuffed

Congratulations! You are now a bona fide Dees diehard. Kinda like your citizenship test, only better. ?

Posted

Third quarter was fairly good but I really liked our last 5 mins of last quarter. Thaught we held them well. For the rest of the game we were rubbish. 

Posted

As most agree our forward line needs some work and whether it's BBB or someone else idk but something needs to happen if we are to go deep into September. Your defence can only do so much but you still actually need to kick goals when you have the chance and ATM were barely doing that, and it's getting worse.

Ok that said, great win, [censored] crowd, take the 4 points and move on, nothing else to see here.

Posted
45 minutes ago, chook fowler said:

Great game from Gus tonight. Hunt did a great job on Tippa as did Hibbo on Stringer. JJ and Sparrow continue to impres.The forward line needs a rethink.

Spot on. Gus 's best game for the year. Hit targets. Made spoils. Courageous.  Helped out defence 

Posted
17 minutes ago, buck_nekkid said:

I just popped into Bomberblitz for a laugh.  Now I feel dirty. 

You must immediately burn the clothes you’re wearing. And I expect you to be curled up in the foetal position on the shower floor for at least an hour. 

Posted

Great win should have put them away in the 3rd quarter but didn't it almost cost us but we held on well in the end for a well deserved win. The back half were excellent. Very proud of the  boys dare to dream.

Posted

We've lost all the polish we had earlier in the year and that was a tough game to watch. The good thing is that tough games to watch used to be 10 goal losses! Need to have our down period now and kick back into gear before finals.

Essendon supporters are the biggest bunch of whinging [censored], what an embarrassment.

Posted

It really is a strange feeling winning so often yet on reflection of so many games thinking we really haven’t played that well. I guess that’s what good teams with good defensive structures do, I really hope we can sort our forward line cohesion  though. 

Another challenge next week and it’s hard to see that being anything but a grind also. 

Posted
1 minute ago, WERRIDEE said:

Great win should have put them away in the 3rd quarter but didn't it almost cost us but we held on well in the end for a well deserved win. The back half were excellent. Very proud of the  boys dare to dream.

Good strategic last quarter. Burning plenty of early minutes.

Posted
2 minutes ago, WalkingCivilWar said:

You must immediately burn the clothes you’re wearing. And I expect you to be curled up in the foetal position on the shower floor for at least an hour. 

And have minimum 3 showers 

Posted
26 minutes ago, John Crow Batty said:

It was a tough grinding win.Essendon we’re really good. But when are we are going  to play a side that’s having an off day I wonder?

We have to accept that when you beat everyone in the 8 and are on top by two games, you become a target. Literally everyone makes it their number one objective to beat you. No-one  is going to give us easy games. And do we really want it any other way? MFC is at last respected (and even feared) by every other team. Much rather have it this way, than being the mediocre alsoran we have been for the last 40 years. Get used to it guys - we are building a dynasty!

Posted

A much celebrated comment from Bombers Bigfooty:

Stinger was eyeballing ump 14 at the end of the game then

What's he gonna do? Cheat on his missus with him?

• Haha 18
Posted
14 minutes ago, A F said:

System, baby. We'll keep winning with this system. We strangle sides and absorb pressure like a top team, even when we're not playing well. Sign of a very good team. We're still the best team in the comp. Essendon were playing for a finals spot and they couldn't have played any better and we still beat them.

Yes we have defensive system which is great and allowed us to strangle and absorb pressure. That is what won us the game again. No doubt. However if we are off just one percent , we’ll we have seen what happens there. 

If you saw the Dons stoppage and contest setups a lot of their players were outside and allowed them to walk out of the contest too easily. You need to torch sides that take such an aggressive setup yet we did not. Do that against a potent forward line like the Eagles, Port or Geelong and no system will save you. 

Happy with 12-2 but we have a really tough draw coming up and need to start finding some good form to take into finals. 

Posted (edited)

My highlight is the same week after week.

It’s watching the opposition stalled at defensive 50, looking sideways, backwards and every which way, with nowhere to go, before an eventual dump kick under pressure which invariably lands in our hands.

I wasn’t fussed that we started poorly - our defensive game was on from the first bounce and as @A Fpointed out, when that happens we usually win. 

Edited by Grapeviney
  • Like 18

Posted

Its better to be bitching about how we won than bitching about how we lost.

4 points is 4 points.

Besides they were an in-form team high on confidence.

We did ok i reckon.

Posted

Tough game to watch our kicking was atrocious But we still led for most of the night and we are now 1 down and 5 to go. I just love this winning feeling and I don’t care how Ugly the wins are. We sit on top of the Ladder and you have to love that.

Keep it coming Dees.!!!!

Posted

I just realised… I lost $100 tonight!!! YAY!!!!!

Yep, I put $100 on the scumbags just to soften the blow in the event that we lose. (I do it every week. Usually $10 or $20. Essendon are special though, for them it’s $100.)

I’M SO HAPPY TO HAVE BLOWN $100 ❤️?

Posted

rutton interview post game, journos crying about the umpiring

give me a break

• Angry 2
Posted
56 minutes ago, david_neitz_is_my_dad said:

The Essendon fan tears are what make this a great win.

Absolutely 

Love Oliver but he's such a bloody head case. Wins it like no other and gets clear looks to put it i50 - proceeds to stop, pivot, handball sideways or backwards to players on their back foot. Needs to grow up - gawn had 4 cracks at him tonight 

A brilliant player, brilliant - but childish. Would love choco to mentor as the kid has no ceiling