NON MFC: Rd 14 2021

3 minutes ago, Better days ahead said:

The Suns are a pointless ego trip for AFL HQ. Never played finals, can't keep players, losing culture, no supporters. The outlook is grim. The NRL struggle to keep the titans viable so what makes the AFL think they can make a go of the Suns.

This ends in one of two ways. The Tasmanian Suns or disbandment

Logical choices Better days but I doubt it will happen. The AFL have poured so much $$ into them already, I doubt they could stand the loss of face in capitulating and admitting a huge failure.

Imagine if all that money had been pumped into Tasmanian footy in the first place  !

I have a bit of a man crush on Touk Miller. He has an all round game. Never stops running, tackles all day and no one breaks his tackles and his disposal and decision making is first class. I’d love him in the red and blue

Port Adelaide true to form smashing up on a weak side. Flat track bullies. And Suns are playing badly enough to be a danger game for us when we meet.

Edited by John Crow Batty

8 minutes ago, Megatron said:

I have a bit of a man crush on Touk Miller. He has an all round game. Never stops running, tackles all day and no one breaks his tackles and his disposal and decision making is first class. I’d love him in the red and blue

Agree. An under rated player for sure

I hope we're putting in the ground work with Ben King's manager as well.

20 minutes ago, Bitter but optimistic said:

Logical choices Better days but I doubt it will happen. The AFL have poured so much $$ into them already, I doubt they could stand the loss of face in capitulating and admitting a huge failure.

Imagine if all that money had been pumped into Tasmanian footy in the first place  !

Everything that can be tried has been tried. Draft picks and coaches have come and gone. Can’t keep throwing good money after bad. I reckon once the current HQ administration are gone the decision will be made.

21 minutes ago, whatwhat say what said:

gold coast has long been a graveyard for professional sports clubs

Exactly. I've been up here since 91 (ex Vic) and not one sporting club has survived for any decent length of time. It's such a transient community on GC with many ex Vics but support their own teams and not many actual Qld GC supporters. I've been at Metricom a few times and it feels like a local game of footy where you could park your car by the fence if allowed. They are doomed.

25 minutes ago, Bitter but optimistic said:

You’re absolutely right BBO. And, in the meantime, we have to endure putrid, irrelevant tripe. 
It really is ego, with the added bonus for Execs of sunning themselves whilst bathing in their own wankery.

It’s a boys club. How else can you explain why and how a bull crapper like Lethlean can parachute across to the Saints.

1 hour ago, Better days ahead said:

The Suns are a pointless ego trip for AFL HQ. Never played finals, can't keep players, losing culture, no supporters. The outlook is grim. The NRL struggle to keep the titans viable so what makes the AFL think they can make a go of the Suns.

This ends in one of two ways. The Tasmanian Suns or disbandment

The Tassie Lumberjacks !!! 

Geez, Joel Selwood’s a dirty player. He’ll get off with a fine but I think the penalty should be harsher. There’s no question of intent vs lack of intent. It’s 100% intentional and it’s dirty, underhanded tactics that we don’t need to see. 
And I don’t think it’s a good thing for little kids who play footy to see. They emulate their heroes, and like it or not (for me it’s a not) he is a hero to lil Cats fans. 

Edited by WalkingCivilWar

20 hours ago, Stevienic23 said:

Roots anything that walks is my mail

Not gonna hold that against him.
That's why you play AFL .... Isn't it?

17 minutes ago, WalkingCivilWar said:

Geez, Joel Selwood’s a dirty player. He’ll get off with a fine but I think the penalty should be harsher. There’s no question of intent vs lack of intent. It’s 100% intentional and it’s dirty, underhanded tactics that we don’t need to see. 

Fine for both incidents but for me this is why they should make 2 reprimanding incidents equal a one week suspension. It kept happening with big name stars like Gary Ablett jnr and Tom Lynch where they’d get fine after fine for small dirty little things but never enough suspension in isolation. But if you keep doing it, it should result in a suspension. I know that they had this with the points system but that system got overly complicated with points and early pleas getting 25% discount. 

Selwood is a great player but like almost every great player he has a little dirty streak to him. Judd was the same. 

36 minutes ago, WalkingCivilWar said:

And I don’t think it’s a good thing for little kids who play footy to see. They emulate their heroes, and like it or not (for me it’s a not) he is a hero to lil Cats fans. 

But Wayne Carey really likes him! Says he’s the best captain in the game.

To be fair, judging by the way he feels about himself, Wayne’s not a very good judge of character.