Posted
Just now, Yze_13 said:

Yep - I'm not saying he's got a job for life. All I'm saying is in my view he'll be given a 'normal' year with 'normal' footy to lift the bar, and after 5 years, if it doesn't happen, the Board will move then.

What happens in this putative 5th year? Memberships leak away, sponsors dry up, players look to go elsewhere, every match Sunday twilight ... will there be any club left after a 5th year of Goodwin?

Posted

Thinking about this game and the Bulldogs game

We got killed on the clearance, because both WB and Freo had system, fed 1,2,3 Handballs back, around and out to a running player

Watching it tonight it was obvious, that many times they won the ball and 1 or 2 handballs back to a player in a predictable position who could kick it forward

Our players caught ball watching and running around like headless chooks

Awful to watch, but clearly a System failure at the hands of the coach

Posted
24 minutes ago, jumbo returns said:

Anyone got a positive?

I saw an interview with an elderly gentleman once. He was a Holocaust survivor. He lost all his family when he was a young boy, yet he had a positive view and enjoyed life. When he was asked how he was able to achieve this attitude he replied that he celebrated every day, because if he woke up in the morning it was a good day!

So following his guidelines, I woke up this morning and was thankful. That was a good start. 

Then I watched Melbourne play Fremantle.?

Posted
20 minutes ago, Deesprate said:

Goody

Freo were better than us

have to rely on other results - wtf

we need to get more ruthless - sack himself

where in it together

good we have experience of nearly being in finals

where not quite there - please

we were boring but intensity ramped up after half time

disappointing - understatement

two game to go simple be better

focus on what we can control

prepare as best we can. Bingo where going to work incredibly hard

Lyon cut him asunder about being ruthless. Stop talking DO

Lyon no answers well done Gary

We have experience of nearly being in the finals?

we need to play better football?

good gravy ???

Posted
Just now, Mazer Rackham said:

What happens in this putative 5th year? Memberships leak away, sponsors dry up, players look to go elsewhere, every match Sunday twilight ... will there be any club left after a 5th year of Goodwin?

I have no idea what happens. Hopefully, with another strong pre-season and some shrewd recruiting, we come out on fire, make the 8 with 2-3 rounds to spare, and win the GF by 20 goals against the Pies.

The Club's survived plenty worse than a 10th place finish.

Posted
2 minutes ago, Earl Hood said:

Yep many of the first round decisions have reflected that we thought we were in the window, early picks for Lever and May etc. now we find ourselves well outside finals with [censored] all draft picks. Great. 

Lever is a shadow of his former self. He can still take an intercept grab, but TBO, I cant see much else to his game other than a giant moustache and a dearth of confidence.

And another thing.... why is Max Gawn allowed to kick? There isn't a shred of evidence that he can actually kick, so why does he continually refuse to give it off to the few players than can kick the footy. Astounding!

Posted
2 minutes ago, Dame Gaga said:

Then I watched Melbourne play Fremantle.?

Monday Night Horror Theatre ... this week, a brutal gang of dock workers vivisect and dismember an entire team of hapless and unsuspecting football players

Posted (edited)

Ive stayed away from the internet for most of the year when it comes to footy. For my own sanity, but mostly for the boss and my little one who does NOT like dad watching footy at all...(me screaming at the TV). Havent watched a single game in front of them all year.

The combination of last year plus this bloody bastardised season has killed my interest.

But that... that was just not on. Not good enough by ANY stretch.

For 20 years of AFL we have **** the bed when its on the line.

We are a good footy team on our day. That day is too few and far between and we are happy to have that occasional win and rest on it for the next 2-3 games.

I dont think I will ever see a cup in my lifetime and im swaying towards just giving it all away.

Not getting another cent from me.

Edited by DSP
Posted
1 hour ago, leucopogon said:

Bartlett and Mahoney should be sacked for offering that contract to Goodwin. Calling it now, Kozzie is a bust.

It’s early days with Kozzie but early indications are concerning for a high pick. Fumbles and doesn’t kick goals. 

Posted
3 minutes ago, Yze_13 said:

I have no idea what happens. Hopefully, with another strong pre-season and some shrewd recruiting, we come out on fire, make the 8 with 2-3 rounds to spare, and win the GF by 20 goals against the Pies.

The word "hopefully" is doing a lot of work here

Posted
2 minutes ago, Graeme Yeats' Mullet said:

I've had half a dozen learnings and might have one more before bed

I learned that Fritschs kicking is so bad at the moment, he can't kick the ball off the ground.

Fritta learned that it hurts your foot when you kick the ground really hard.

Posted
9 minutes ago, Earl Hood said:

Yep many of the first round decisions have reflected that we thought we were in the window, early picks for Lever and May etc. now we find ourselves well outside finals with [censored] all draft picks. Great. 

Keep in mind this year's draft is heavily compromised with NGA and father-sons so the lack of a round one pick was a gamble with a pick more lowly rated than usual.

Posted
Just now, Mazer Rackham said:

The word "hopefully" is doing a lot of work here

I think we're all hopeful of a 20-goal GF win!

I only want one. I'm jealous of the supporters of other teams who've been there and got to experience it all - and some 3 times in a row.

Posted
5 minutes ago, Yze_13 said:

You on the payroll

Posted

Bloody useless, never gonna win a game with 7 changes, and bringing in blokes who haven’t played for months, Goodwin no good!! Why does he continue to play ANB??? 

Posted

Im fascinated that many on here are commenting on Goodwins press conference.   As in, how the hell can anyone bear to listen to him.  I would rather eat dog sh%#.  I'm [censored] serious.  

Imagine the mood inside the hub.  Tommy Mac, servant of the club on the outer, his brother also.  Bennell can't get a game.  Jones has been treated like garbage by goodwin and it's reflected in Jones poor showing in recent weeks.  Nev, little champion, not good enough?  FMD

Hahaha...I'm laughing out loud at how Goodwin put OMAC up forward last week.  What a [censored] disaster of a move that was and to think a bloke on a million dollar plus contract thought that a good idea.  Hahahahahahah.  I can't stop laughing.   Oh no, its devloping into a sob now and I am gonna break down and ball my [censored] eyes out...Hahahahahah!! Im laughing again....Im up and down like a yo yo.

Right get a grip, yes back to the 'imagine the mood inside the hub'   It must be absolutely [censored].   They have to look one another in the eye, and keep living together for another 2 weeks.  Jesus.  How horrible.  

I wish the club would sack Goodwin this week.  Just to show some goddamn testicles.  Make a [censored] statement.  I wish for that so so bad.

I want Garry Lyon to coach.  I want him to get off his fattening [censored] in the studio and get back down to the club and get his hands dirty. We need someone who loves the club, and who will rally the players.  Or a successful experienced coach.  Paul Roos the yoga loving, no doubt tantric sex performing lover, can go and get stuffed as well now, as he appointed Goodwin.

And for the love of God, can we delist Alex Neal Bullen as soon as possible.  What an unbelievably useless player he is.  Every.  single.  time. he. steps. on. the. [censored]. ground.  Christ almighty.

Right just quickly, who else can bugger off...uuummm

Viney, catch ya mate, love your effort but you're actually not very effective.

Clarry is half ineffective as well.  But actually its probably just the man management.  So maybe im a bit irrational about Clarry.  I do love the useless [censored].  

Harmes, no good.

The wagners.  catch ya fellas.

Ill give kozzie the benefit of the doubt for another year.

Rightio all, I'm off.  For the season.  I'm just exhausted.  I'm so low in terms of supporting this club its not good for my mental health.

Posted
6 minutes ago, Nelo said:

It’s early days with Kozzie but early indications are concerning for a high pick. Fumbles and doesn’t kick goals. 

Every time Kozzie goes near the ball I am reminded of that time I accidentally dropped a tennis ball on my sleeping cat

• Haha 6
Posted
19 minutes ago, praha said:

100%

If Round 23 2017 didn't open people's eyes, and if the Hawthorn loss in round 4 2018 didn't, if that Swans loss didn't, if that Prelim didn't, if last year didn't, and if this year hasn't opened your eyes... you must be dead!

That issue has not been fixed . Those are horror goals 

Posted

So I received an email from the club this week. Would I like to do a survey for the MFC? Yes I would! Turned out to be all about the sponsors. Really? Is that all they want to know from their members, how much we know or care about the sponsors at this point in time.

Anyway I still completed the survey and the last part asked if I had a message of support for the team. You are kidding. They should be giving me, a loyal and paid up member for many years, a message of support. I sure need it. I'm in Melbourne, and I follow Melbourne. What a combination. 

They are just lucky they didn't send it after this game tonight.