Posted
12 minutes ago, BW511 said:

I’ve had a feeling since early last year that he plays in a slightly different manner to protect his shoulders. Still think that’s true.

I've noticed it this year, unwilling to bump bodies with opposition.  And that fits with his weak tackling this year.

Posted
1 minute ago, MyFavouriteMartian said:

I've noticed it this year, unwilling to bump bodies with opposition.  And that fits with his weak tackling this year.

Same thing happened with Cameron Bruce after he did his AC joint. He was never the same.

Posted
20 minutes ago, Deeko2 said:

Mate - I’m confused. Not sure if you’re trolling or just very erratic with your posting.

You said the coaches weren’t happy with his playing, I disputed this saying he’s won two best and fairests and runners up in another. 

Then you queried the number like I was wrong and you’ve changed the topic. You’re a confusing poster - passionate yes however a bit all over the shop 

You kept posting he's got 2  B&F's.  so what.

Every player has to be accountable.  2  B&F's does not get him off playing carp footy.   That's what I was on about.   He has to fix this issue of disposal,  inside the centre bounce.

Posted
43 minutes ago, MyFavouriteMartian said:

He's not so lazy in a physical sense possibly,  but more in a mental sense imv.   I think he shuts off after he reckons his part is done. So maybe lazy in that sense.

And doesn't do enough when the ball is not in his area, hence his lack of effort to help out the defence, when the ball is coming back at us.

I've seen him more in the backhalf in the past 2 matches, than i can remember.

But he is not great, or skilled in that part of the ground. He makes a lot of mistakes.

Put him in an elite team and he’d be a star.

Posted
1 minute ago, President Dee Trump said:

Same thing happened with Cameron Bruce after he did his AC joint. He was never the same.

And a side note, bruce was giving out hospital passes as well.    But I don't think the reasons are the same.

Posted

To me his lack of confidence going forward is now causing our whole side to second-guess themselves - the obvious doesn't happen because he turns sideways and backwards, even when he has room forward.

It is quite depressing because we all know that when Olly arrived at the club he was the breath of fresh air that took us all the way to the 2018 finals but now his mix of self-preservation and fear of making mistakes is really hurting the team.

I also noticed a tendency today where players kept looking for their mates - Tomlinson's gives to Langdon, Brayshaw's love-fest with Trac and Salem.   

Posted
7 minutes ago, MyFavouriteMartian said:

He may end up being let down by his body.

He has a truly unbelievable ability to find the footy, just think physically he can’t do the extra 5% to become elite or maybe he’s not being challenged to it as he’s a big fish in a small pond

Posted
2 minutes ago, BW511 said:

He may end up being let down by his body.

He has a truly unbelievable ability to find the footy, just think physically he can’t do the extra 5% to become elite or maybe he’s not being challenged to it as he’s a big fish in a small pond

He's only been in once on shoulders;  I don't remember him putting shoulders out on field.

But if he's not fit don't go out there, get them right.

Posted
Just now, Hompy said:

I look at him play and hes always rushed. Its like hes been beaten into submission from tag after tag.

What ever it is,  it's time to get him out of the centre,  and give him a different role.  Freshen him up and let him free.

Posted

Too lazy (or scared) to read this thread but they need to try him in frwd line for a significant  chunk of time in a game. That should be a kick up the [censored]. If that doesn’t work, then the magoos. I have a sick feeling in my stomach that his disposal in the middle is a HUGE part of our overall problem and isn’t fixable

Posted
52 minutes ago, Deeko2 said:

Mate - I’m confused. Not sure if you’re trolling or just very erratic with your posting.

You said the coaches weren’t happy with his playing, I disputed this saying he’s won two best and fairests and runners up in another. 

Then you queried the number like I was wrong and you’ve changed the topic. You’re a confusing poster - passionate yes however a bit all over the shop 

You need to stop quoting him. I'm sick of trolling through his rubbish just to read a decent post.

Posted

Is he getting even more ball nowadays as teams are happy to let him have the ball as they know he will give it back to them? 
I know I would if I was coaching against him, similar to why teams don’t man up ruckman, their disposal usually stinks too. 

Posted

Going through a careless stage, and it can look ugly. Still getting a lot of it from getting to the right places. Not known as a rocket scientist (you know what I'm saying). It is clear, he will have to consistently make better decisions if he wants to become one of the best! Its there for him if he can change his evil ways... 

Posted

I don’t think anything has “happened” to Clayton. He is a player with strengths and weaknesses. He’s trying to weed out the over-reliance on handball to add more field kicking to his game. He’s not as good at it as he is at navigating through a pack, but he’s also not as bad at it as it looked yesterday with a couple of very high profile turnovers. 

The strengths that made him such a good player early are still there. His work in close is as good as anyones; in a contested situation he is extremely trustworthy to win the ball and get it out.

He’s only 22 and far from the finished picture. We are impatient because we always are, but I’m sure it will come.

Posted
10 hours ago, President Dee Trump said:

Correct. All  Australian, been terrific for us. His achievements so far have been outstanding . Has Viney ever been AA or Jones?

Together with Max and Trac in our best three for sure.

Didn’t have a good game, but cut the bloke some slack and look for the real culprits who never really impose themselves on games.

Posted (edited)

He puts in the effort to make the contest and get the ball however his disposal is lazy. Our whole team is a mess at the moment though. 

Edited by Ethan Tremblay
Posted

Garry Lyon on Oliver

“Clayton (Oliver), who I went hard on early, and his numbers are phenomenal, he’s stagnated in his football. If he wants to get to the category that many of us (think he can get to), then he needs to get greater value for his possessions.”

Posted

He has been over coached to within an inch of his life. In his first two years he was playing on instinct and thriving. Now he is second and third guessing himself, and taking disposals off balance and under pressure. I suspect it has something to do with coaches trying to mess around with his ratio of kicks to handballs.

Posted
15 hours ago, Demon3 said:

Clayton had a bad game, horrible actually, last week he was one of our best, against Carlton probably our best.. Clarry is teh type of player thatr when it works its brilliant and it works more than often, when it doesn't, people bag him for being lazy and not kicking it enough.. which there is some truth to but dropping him after a poor game is peak hysteria in my opinion. I will back him in to bounce back.

I wonder if he is being Overcoached, too many getting into his ear that he doesn't know whether to Kick, Handball etc. I reckon just say to him do what comes naturally and take game on.TOO GOOD A PLAYER NOT TO BOUNCE BACK!

Posted
3 hours ago, Dockett 32 said:

Correct. All  Australian, been terrific for us. His achievements so far have been outstanding . Has Viney ever been AA or Jones?

Together with Max and Trac in our best three for sure.

Didn’t have a good game, but cut the bloke some slack and look for the real culprits who never really impose themselves on games.

Yes and can you imagine him in a Team, that plays like one and well coached and drilled?

Posted (edited)
3 hours ago, Demonland said:

Garry Lyon on Oliver

“Clayton (Oliver), who I went hard on early, and his numbers are phenomenal, he’s stagnated in his football. If he wants to get to the category that many of us (think he can get to), then he needs to get greater value for his possessions.”

Spot on. He’s not damaging. In fact he either turned over the footy or put his teammates under pressure. One kick to the forward line went at 45 degree angle out of bounds. His handball to Smith cost us a goal. His final clanger killed off any momentum we had. 

He needs a mentor or special coaching. He has the ability. It’s the execution of delivery that is missing. 

Edited by spirit of norm smith
Xxx
Posted
15 hours ago, President Dee Trump said:

In an elite team they would tell him to calm the farm, to direct his disposals better,  or he won't be in the team.

Clarko would not tolerate such slack disposals.