Posted (edited)
19 hours ago, Fitz Fitzpatrick said:

Kennett - need about 5 million more of his kind in this nanny state. What he said is dead right. How we celebrate and watch sport is uniquely Australian and it’s getting changed by PC police and immigrant security guards who have NFI - and nor should they . They didn’t grow up following footy like we did. They can’t be expected to understand the nuances of our culture - but equally so, it shouldn’t be a capital offense to point that fact out. 

I agree with some of this but Kennett was not dead right. As someone who was born here, is a third generation Australian and knows the game back to front but when seen in person could pass for a ‘new arrival’ as Mr Kennett put it I found the comments pretty offensive. 

Edited by layzie

Posted

Gotta love people.......................not directed at anyone.

Posted
1 hour ago, layzie said:

I agree with some of this but Kennett was not dead right. As someone who was born here, is a third generation Australian and knows the game back to front but when seen in person could pass for a ‘new arrival’ as Mr Kennett put it I found the comments pretty offensive. 

And as someone who wasn’t born here but is as feral as any third generation Aussie and who looks just like one, I also find his comments offensive. 

The AFL needs to look at why fans are so irritate and try and fix it. 

Posted

I was , as usual, sitting among Melbourne members yesterday and I wasn’t alone in making some less than charitable remarks towards the soft bodied creatures that feed off carrion and putrescence. “ [censored] morons” seemed a popular refrain.

However, in defence of myself and those sitting nearby I have to say that the [censored] deserved it.

In all the years I have been following football I reckon this year has been the most confusing in terms of when/why the whistle is blown. Some decisions are simply incomprehensible 

Posted (edited)
21 hours ago, Fitz Fitzpatrick said:

Kennett - need about 5 million more of his kind in this nanny state. What he said is dead right. How we celebrate and watch sport is uniquely Australian and it’s getting changed by PC police and immigrant security guards who have NFI - and nor should they . They didn’t grow up following footy like we did. They can’t be expected to understand the nuances of our culture - but equally so, it shouldn’t be a capital offense to point that fact out. 

Worthy of a permanent ban from this site. Xenophobia a clear breach of the code of conduct and someone with such a pathetic world view isn't going to change.

Posted
10 minutes ago, Bitter but optimistic said:

I was , as usual, sitting among Melbourne members yesterday and I wasn’t alone in making some less than charitable remarks towards the soft bodied creatures that feed off carrion and putrescence. “ [censored] morons” seemed a popular refrain.

However, in defence of myself and those sitting nearby I have to say that the [censored] deserved it.

In all the years I have been following football I reckon this year has been the most confusing in terms of when/why the whistle is blown. Some decisions are simply incomprehensible 

I loved the chorus of boos for umpire 23 when he came off the ground after paying holding the ball against Hore when he was so clearly tripped. 

The umpiring buffoonery this season has mad it impossible not to get abusive. These unprofessional displays of adjudication are costing teams goals and wins. It’s not ok.  

Posted
11 minutes ago, Jaded said:

I loved the chorus of boos for umpire 23 when he came off the ground after paying holding the ball against Hore when he was so clearly tripped. 

The umpiring buffoonery this season has mad it impossible not to get abusive. These unprofessional displays of adjudication are costing teams goals and wins. It’s not ok.  

i agree

but what makes me mad is i understand an umpire can make a split second mistake especially if his viewing angle is not optimal, but what grates is there are three umpires out there and at least one must have seen it was a trip. So why didn't he/they come in and confer with the umpire who made a mistake. It is so rare to see a secondary umpire do this and i don't understand especially in obvious mistakes.

Posted
14 minutes ago, Jaded said:

Indeed Jaded. Most fans are pretty fair minded if they can see that free was there, they'll cop it (albeit begrudgingly).

It is confusion and inconsistency that raises the shackles. 

Posted

I disagree. I am shocked to say I think the umpire got that one right. On the whole, it appeared to be more holding the ball than a trip.

If anything, our backline deserved the penalty based on stupidity.

Posted
On 6/20/2019 at 10:34 AM, demonstone said:

Hmmm ... joined today, posted the exact same thing under the same username on at least one other footy forum. 

Sounds like an IPA fanboi with an agenda and definitely not a Demons supporter.  Jog on mate.

2-A31088-E-1273-4-F4-B-BD65-A82-E4313-E7374748-BF-4019-4597-9-BE8-B21-BB547-FE4-

Posted
Just now, Moonshadow said:

I disagree. I am shocked to say I think the umpire got that one right. On the whole, it appeared to be more holding the ball than a trip.

If anything, our backline deserved the penalty based on stupidity.

Live I thought trip. I watched the replay and think it wasn't.  Given I was sitting at the opposite end of the ground I'll give the umpire right on the spot the benefit of the doubt.

I was more annoyed at the fact the ball had got down that end after us faffing around with it at our end.

Posted
8 minutes ago, Hunt29 said:

I heard someone in the MCC call out ‘chewy on your boot’ yesterday. 

I’m all for abusing umpires and opposition players but that’s crossing the line. 

Posted
40 minutes ago, Hunt29 said:

I heard someone in the MCC call out ‘chewy on your boot’ yesterday. 

I would have thought “cavier on your RMs” would be heard more from the members.

Posted

I shouted out ,”Ya hairy [censored]!”,yesterday a few times and didn’t get kicked out.

Posted
2 hours ago, binman said:

Live I thought trip. I watched the replay and think it wasn't.  Given I was sitting at the opposite end of the ground I'll give the umpire right on the spot the benefit of the doubt.

I was more annoyed at the fact the ball had got down that end after us faffing around with it at our end.

"The passage of play occurred directly in front of us and we can declare most sincerely that our player was forcefully and blatantly TRIPPED!! Thank you." - Statement from the unofficial Marty Hore Fan Club.

Posted

I got a laugh out of a security guard yesterday, when I asked if I could be evicted for what I am thinking about the umpires.

Posted
2 hours ago, binman said:

still thought it a trip. one angle seemed much more clear. remember anything below the waist is illegal (tripping)

Posted
1 minute ago, daisycutter said:

still thought it a trip. one angle seemed much more clear. remember anything below the waist is illegal (tripping)

No DC. Anything below the knee is a trip 

Posted (edited)
20 minutes ago, Moonshadow said:

No DC. Anything below the knee is a trip 

ah yes, knees not waist

p.s. scrotum plus attachment excluded :)

Edited by daisycutter
Posted
11 hours ago, binman said:

Worthy of a permanent ban from this site. Xenophobia a clear breach of the code of conduct and someone with such a pathetic world view isn't going to change.

Lol.