Posted
19 hours ago, Petraccattack said:

Jake Melksham is in our top 5 most important players.

Change my mind.

Wouldn't dare change your mind - you're correct. The only forward who knows how to play as a forward, find space, beat an opponent to the ball with a variety of delivery/set shot/snap shot options. Runs well, too. Can take a mark rather than a 'specky' by finding the space to make it simpler and easier, and consistent. I'd rank 'em: 1. Gawn 2. Clarrie 3. Brayshaw 4. Melksham 5. Viney when fit. 

Posted
11 minutes ago, Deemania since 56 said:

Wouldn't dare change your mind - you're correct. The only forward who knows how to play as a forward, find space, beat an opponent to the ball with a variety of delivery/set shot/snap shot options. Runs well, too. Can take a mark rather than a 'specky' by finding the space to make it simpler and easier, and consistent. I'd rank 'em: 1. Gawn 2. Clarrie 3. Brayshaw 4. Melksham 5. Viney when fit. 

TMac would have to be close to the top 5 - just ahead of Melk IMO

Posted
2 minutes ago, chook fowler said:

TMac would have to be close to the top 5 - just ahead of Melk IMO

Any calls on value added(ness) amongst players is going to be arbitrary, controversial and perhaps inaccurate so I take your point. I also value TMac highly and for me, he's Number 6. Thank heavens these guys play as a team, heh? 

Posted

From JLT2 side:

IN            OUT

Keilty (23rd player)

Frost -> May (susp)

Jones -> JKH (inj)

Viney -> Stretch (omit)

Melk  -> Hunt (omit)

I was not all that impressed with Hunt forward. Idk where he fits right now. I have a feeling they intend to play Lever, Omac and May in the same side. So to have that structure I think Hore plays in the Lever role as 3rd defender. Until someone bangs the door down I think Lewis holds his spot. Misso seemed to indicate there was some doubt on Smith getting up for round one so either hunt gets a chance or maybe stretch gets a gig on the wing and fritch goes forward. I share the ANB/Spargo conserns but I doubt they will break the status quo without an obvious replacement. So this is where my side sits now but it changes every day, infact it changed 3 times while I was writing this:

Nev   OMac  Hibb

Hore  Frost  Lewis

Salem Oliver Fritch

Trac  TMac   Melk

ANB   Weid   Spargo

Gawn  Viney Brayshaw

Jones Harmes AVB Smith (Stretch/Hunt on standby for Smith)

KK*, May(Frost), Hannan(Smith) and Lever(Hore) missing from first picked side.

*I'm not 100% sure on KK being a walk up start, but without injury i think they'd play him, idk who would go out though

Posted
3 hours ago, Deemania since 56 said:

And he stands up when needed on the big stage.

Posted
1 hour ago, ArtificialWisdom said:

Nev   OMac  Hibb

Hore  Frost  Lewis

Salem Oliver Fritch

Trac  TMac   Melk

ANB   Weid   Spargo

Gawn  Viney Brayshaw

Jones Harmes AVB Smith (Stretch/Hunt on standby for Smith)

KK*, May(Frost), Hannan(Smith) and Lever(Hore) missing from first picked side.

*I'm not 100% sure on KK being a walk up start, but without injury i think they'd play him, idk who would go out though

Agree can't see them wavering much from what you've got there.

Apart from no Hannan or Tyson this is pretty much the team we won two finals with last season. It may not be the fittest but its a proven side.

image.png.ec153efbc1139e27e99ef2906ed1a14e.png

I look forward to seeing KK, Hunt, Garlett, Stretch and the new young kids battle down at Casey for a spot

Posted
5 minutes ago, Clint Bizkit said:

In Dave Misson's report it sounds like Joel Smith is in serious doubt.

Someone should be held account for this. I understand the desire to play with 22 but the fact that both Smith and Fritsch had to play on while injured in a JLT match, which could jeopardize their start to the season is a huge stuff up IMO.

Posted
18 hours ago, WERRIDEE said:

At least Frost has speed Hipwood burned Oscar off a few times.

Mate, I’m in my 60’s and could burn Oscar off.

• Haha 5
Posted
2 hours ago, hells bells said:

Someone should be held account for this. I understand the desire to play with 22 but the fact that both Smith and Fritsch had to play on while injured in a JLT match, which could jeopardize their start to the season is a huge stuff up IMO.

Further, if it was only a practice match, why was it so necessary to keep them onfield? There is a duality of purpose inherent in all of this - team availability, team selection, team coverage, team due diligence.

Posted
7 hours ago, Deemania since 56 said:

1. Gawn

2. McDonald (otherwise it's only weideman)

3. May (otherwise its oscar McDonald. God help us)

4. Oliver

5. Brayshaw

Posted

It's just our luck to spend a fortune on Lever and May to strengthen our shaky defence over the last 2 years and to have to go into round 1 of 2019 without either of them!

Posted
On 3/11/2019 at 5:36 PM, ProDee said:

I didn't think he got him in the head.  I'm obviously wrong.

But gee, the game has been sanitised to within an inch of its life.

Yeah yeah, I know it's still tough and they hit hard, etc.

I just wish it wasn't based on the whims of one man called Christian. Then there's the decision to ok Mumford's punch to the head. It's not that it's sanitised - let's face it, it needed to be - it's just the glaring inconsistencies which really make me feel inclined to walk away and just stop following it. The rules are called Rafferty's. They make them up as they go along.

Posted

Westhoff is the matchup that worries me. He is a gun - highly mobile, good in the air and dangerous around the goals. If we can neutralise him it will go a long way towards winning the game.

Posted
5 hours ago, Clint Bizkit said:

In Dave Misson's report it sounds like Joel Smith is in serious doubt.

Some very big holes in the team for the opening round, and some of these holes represent players who will be selected and will play but are carrying something other than a headcold. Another injury or two and the Dees are in big trouble for some weeks, I'd say.

Posted
Just now, Deemania since 56 said:

Some very big holes in the team for the opening round, and some of these holes represent players who will be selected and will play but are carrying something other than a headcold. Another injury or two and the Dees are in big trouble for some weeks, I'd say.

I agree, our limited depth will be stretched.

Posted
Just now, chook fowler said:

Westhoff is the matchup that worries me. He is a gun - highly mobile, good in the air and dangerous around the goals. If we can neutralise him it will go a long way towards winning the game.

Agree about that summation of Westhoff - he has been a bogey-man for us for some years ... so I'd ask Vanders to have a rest on him across the game with some close pats on the back (of the head) and a few little run-throughs that will slow him down.

Posted
44 minutes ago, sisso said:

It's just our luck to spend a fortune on Lever and May to strengthen our shaky defence over the last 2 years and to have to go into round 1 of 2019 without either of them!

Cringe-worthy, just like sucking a lemon. 

Posted
9 minutes ago, chook fowler said:

Agree, we’re going to need to thrash them in midfield to limit the supply to their forward line as we have the B team key defenders in, could possibly leak goals as we have in the first two JLTs. Shootout anyone?

Posted
26 minutes ago, Deemania since 56 said:

We'll be fine. 

Posted
6 hours ago, hells bells said:

Oh I dunno, when I spoke to Bayley at the sponsors function, he was cool and had no worries abiut being available fir Rd 1, just got a knock on the hip, was going home to ice it up

Posted

Fritsch will be fine for round 1. He will have a light week due to a cork right on the hip point. A lot of icing up and rehabbing.

Posted

My round 1:

FB: Hibberd - Oscar - Jetta

HB: Lewis - Frost - Salem

C. Jones - Oliver - Fritsch

HF: Melksham - Weid - Trac

FF: Spargo - TMac - Vanders

R: Gawn - Viney - Brayshaw

I: Harmes - ANB - Smith - Hunt

E: Hore - Stretch - Keilty

Posted
20 hours ago, Deemania since 56 said:

It would be an interesting discussion 56, where would you rank Jetta?

He’d be in my top 5, irreplaceable imo.

Posted (edited)
18 hours ago, Petraccattack said:

And he stands up when needed on the big stage.

I just noticed he bumps Frawley after he kicks it. I didn’t think that goal could get any better.

Edited by Wrecker45
Spelling