Posted

How long is Jack's contract? IMO he won't be playing AFL in 2020.

Posted
32 minutes ago, praha said:

How long is Jack's contract? IMO he won't be playing AFL in 2020.

He signed a 2 year contract taking him until the end of 2019 with us paying 15% of his salary in the first year IIRC.

Posted
5 hours ago, Fork 'em said:

So .......  WYL shouldn't have confronted Matthews in front of his grandkids, yet you think its ok for Matthews to punch WYL in the face in front of his grandkids.
Show them what a thug old grandad used to be on the footy field.

Your logic is flawed.

Agreed....

Posted
12 minutes ago, Bring-Back-Powell said:

So from that article we're paying 15% of Watt's salary in 2019.

What a fantastic way to wee away $70,000.

Look at the bigger picture. 

Posted
1 hour ago, Bring-Back-Powell said:

So from that article we're paying 15% of Watt's salary in 2019.

What a fantastic way to wee away $70,000.

I’d happily have paid 200-300k to move him on. He’s proven that we were right to get rid of him and we picked up Frisch who has shown heaps already. Was and always will be a great decision by the club.

Posted

The article's last line is pretty spot on, as much as Toump and Watts had application issues we failed all three of them (and others) with our pathetic inability to develop our high draft picks. 

It's bad luck for them that they joined us when we were the very definition of a rabble.

Posted
2 hours ago, Pates said:

The article's last line is pretty spot on, as much as Toump and Watts had application issues we failed all three of them (and others) with our pathetic inability to develop our high draft picks. 

It's bad luck for them that they joined us when we were the very definition of a rabble.

Watts and Trengove, maybe, but Toumpas had a year under Neeld etc., but then had two seasons at Melbourne under Roos and co. 

The other thing that gets me about this, is that Watts has done no different at Port than he did at Melbourne, and no different under Hinkley than he did under all his preceding MFC coaches.

Posted
1 minute ago, bing181 said:

Watts and Trengove, maybe, but Toumpas had a year under Neeld etc., but then had two seasons at Melbourne under Roos and co. 

The other thing that gets me about this, is that Watts has done no different at Port than he did at Melbourne, and no different under Hinkley than he did under all his preceding MFC coaches.

I go further back then Neeld, back to Bailey, and even further to Daniher. Don't get me wrong I loved the Rev when he was our coach and we had some great times under him but we haven't produce ANY out and out stars of the competition in decades. This is despite several very high draft picks. Our current crop looms as the best chance we have to do that.

But mostly I put that down to our club being unable to take players from being decent possibly A-graders to anything more. Most got to a certain point and then plateaued to just being very good.

Trenners I put more into the unlucky category, if he'd had a clean run and managed to get a chance under the current coaching panel with no injury issues he would be a gun. Watts has application problems, always has, but he was terribly managed in his first year trotted out with Ron Barrassi and put up on a pedestal before he kicked a ball for us, the years following that were just as bad. Toumpas was woefully managed where he was coming back from a serious injury (hip surgery unless I'm mistaken) and thrown in there before he had proven himself just because he was a high draft pick. Of course these are only my opinions but there are so many others we have failed to develop in the last decade (or more).

Posted (edited)

Lots of revisionism in relation to these players as usual.  Yes, they were poorly managed however I would argue that they wouldn't have made it regardless.

Watts lacked intensity and never consistently learned to watch the ball into the hands.  Self-preservation instinct too strong. Had several opportunities to change, either can't or doesn't want to.  Not consistently Afl standard and unreliable.

Trengove, not a quick player, stuffed foot, became even slower.  Not Afl standard

Toumpas, not very good, what can you do with an outside slow player with average skill and poor awareness?  Not Afl standard.

I don't care where they went in the draft. It simply afforded them more opportunity than those taken later.

Edited by Guest
Posted
5 hours ago, Pates said:

Mate they failed themselves 

Always up to the indivigual

just very very poor selections by a management looking for mesiahs and solutions to poor cultures

thank god that is over with

Goodbye jackie 

Posted

i'm so bored of this 'watts was a sacrificial lamb to marketing' narrative

i'm almost certain - and, please, someone with access to stats correct me if i'm wrong - he was doing very, very well in the vfl in the weeks leading up to qb 2009, including a bag of goals the week before

everyone remembers him being gang-tackled in the opening moments on field but no one remembers the pirouette away from a tackler minutes later and the drill kick down field

he has / had all the skill in the world...just none of the application 

Posted

My Brother recently played golf with a good mate of Watts.  He said Jack is a great bloke and really talented, but that footy just isn't the be all and end all for him.

It's just not that important to him.  

Taylor Walker is a [censored], but he's the polar opposite.  It's everything to him.

The warning signs were there ten years ago when Watts was asked how he coped with a loss.  He said he got over it pretty quickly.

Posted (edited)
33 minutes ago, ProDee said:

The warning signs were there ten years ago when Watts was asked how he coped with a loss.  He said he got over it pretty quickly.

That can be a good thing only if you:

A) Get over victories just as easily (Jack was from the generation of Demons who considered an 8 goal win against 2013 GWS the peak of sporting ecstasy).

B) Have gotten over the loss because you have devoted all your attention on making sure that you win the next week.

Those missing elements are what ultimately screwed Jack over.

Edited by Colin B. Flaubert

Posted
On 6/13/2018 at 11:45 AM, dazzledavey36 said:

You just wouldn't trust him in a final because hes just not built for the high pressure intensity stuff.

He got showed out last week big time.

If I remember right it was Watts clinch goal that got us the QB game last year, I know he doesn’t have the intensity to play great AFL footy but he’s a demon through and through and I won’t bad mouth him 

Posted
16 hours ago, bing181 said:

The important thing is the first 3 or 4 months, when impressions are made in the kids heads.

First impressions are every hard to alter.

Attitudes sprout from those.

We had far too many kids having too much of a frolicking good time at the club.  At the time when that bloody tail was swinging wildly.

Big heads prevailing, in the smallest of ponds.

Posted
On 6/15/2018 at 10:56 AM, ProDee said:

Matthews was the most cold-blooded ruthless footballer I've ever seen.

How I wish he had played for us.

Matthews played in a different era when the way he played was not uncommon. There were outright thugs who couldn't play football (defamation laws prevent me from naming anyone, but I'll just leave  John Greening's name here as someone on the receiving end), brilliant footballers who weren't at all thuggish (Robert Flower, for example) and many who were both. Matthews - who was both - got away with it because the game allowed it, or, at least, turned a blind eye to it.

Whether Jack Watts could have made it in that era we'll never know. But I'm sure he would have found the game far more challenging than today's version.

Posted (edited)
27 minutes ago, La Dee-vina Comedia said:

That's a ridiculous proposition. He'll be 62 years old.

And we’ll still be discussing the old fella. 

Edited by Ethan Tremblay
Posted (edited)
2 hours ago, La Dee-vina Comedia said:

Matthews played in a different era when the way he played was not uncommon. There were outright thugs who couldn't play football (defamation laws prevent me from naming anyone, but I'll just leave  John Greening's name here as someone on the receiving end), brilliant footballers who weren't at all thuggish (Robert Flower, for example) and many who were both. Matthews - who was both - got away with it because the game allowed it, or, at least, turned a blind eye to it.

Whether Jack Watts could have made it in that era we'll never know. But I'm sure he would have found the game far more challenging than today's version.

Robbie would be compelled to play a different 'role' in today's footy whilst Jack could have played as a tall wingman back in the day.  Might have gone alright too. 

Sylvia is another who was better suited to footy in those decades ... just playing on one opponent on a HFF would have seen Sylvia dominate.in my opinion.  Pre-season's back in the 70's also involved a barrel or 2 on a pleasant Sunday arvo.  Bliss for many.

And Hogan playing as a pure full forward would probably see him have multiple 100 goal seasons.  Back in the day. 

A different era and in many ways a different sport.