Posted
39 minutes ago, Dee Zephyr said:

Slight change of topic. Casey has another bye this weekend, didn’t they have one a few weeks ago? Does the VFL schedule their byes to coincide with the AFL side?

That makes Garlett and Stretch without a competitive game for nearly 3 weeks by the time the Port game comes around.

Bloody hell, you serious? This happened last year too. Idiotic scheduling.

Posted

Petty in for Vince. Joel Smith can play a running defender role, he has pace. Hunt has not done enough in the Casey games to warrant selection. Nor has Garlett. Nor, for that matter, has Weideman, but going forward he is a better option than Pederson. I would give Pedo another go against Port. Tyson could come in, one of ANB, Hannan or Petracca to go out.

Posted

I would move Petracca back to a half forward role, with no midfield time and put Tyson back in. Probably at the expense of Hannan. 

Spargo went missing for the entire first quarter and isn't hitting the scoreboard. I'd bring Garlett back and give him a crack. 

And...I can't believe I am about ti write this. Frost has to come in. We are too think down back to handle Dixon, Westhoff & Watts. Frost to Dixon, O Mac to Westhoff, J Smith to Watts. 

In - Tyson, Garlett & Frost

Out - Hannan, Spargo, Pedersen. 

Posted

At the end of the day we need five more wins , we are not world beaters. I just don't understand Brayshaw not being in the middle.

You always look slow when you don't have the ball. Our centre work yesterday reminded me of the Neeld era.

Plenty of talented players have been dropped before let Petracca go back and get 50 at Casey. We can squeeze a kid or two in if they will have a crack.

We still leak goals.

Posted

i think using  Brayshaw  for a tagging role is up there with the more perplexing coaching moves ive seen in a while. Kid is in the touch of his life, coming off 35 & 39, confidence sky high.. but we sacrifice him for a run with role?  its mind boggling really when you think about it.

Posted

I'm expecting three changes and reasons below.

Out: Pedo  In: Weids.

It is really a five-horse race for that one spot in the side as our dummy forward option, who can back-up ruck and bring it to ground.

I suspect Tim Smith will be fit, but his lack of rucking prowess could hurt us against Dixon or Westhoff, just as Pedo's poor showing as the backup tap man against Cox will probably end his AFL career, unless Gawny gets injured and he becomes a necessity.

Frosty is an option and played out of the goalsquare for most of the VFL game v Pies, but really he should be played as a backman and the fact that he didn't just shows you how much out of favour he is. If pace is a pre-requisite, then he's in. But that won't happen yet.

Bugg (as with Tim Smith) is an option if we want to go small up forward and just concede the ruck duels when Gawny rests by using Harmes or T-Mac. His form has been great in the VFL and his kicking for goal unbelievably good. I'm sure he'll play again soon.

But Weids is showing that he's more agile this year and getting a better tank to get to contests. Sure he's not there yet, but he's getting closer IMO and he deserves the shot at it after a solid game of getting the ball to ground in the VFL against the Pies.

Out: Petracca In Stretch

It's statement time for Trac and the Saints and Billings have shown that sometime it's needed. He won't like it, but he needs to go back and dominate the centre square in the VFL and make sure his tank can cope. At least four times under pressure he kicked poorly yesterday - that's a direct pass to the magoos unless you are a star. And he ain't ... yet.

If Stretch doesn't play he should lodge a law suit that says he will never ever be 23rd man again as every time he has done it in the past, he gets demoted further down the order. With Trac out, Angus goes to the middle and Billy gets his shot on the wing ... in Adelaide, where he will be playing next season if we keep diddling him.

My guess though is that we will go Garlett to inject pace instead, but on VFL form, Bill deserves the spot more than anyone - Tyson being the only other mid to have regularly dominated VFL games to that high level.

There is a case also for Garlett to replace Hannan - but Mitch would be pretty stiff - and I reckon Mitch works harder.

Out: Vince In: Petty

Against Port, we need another tall down back (Dixon, Westhoff) and after watching the magoos, I suspect we will give this guy a try. My preferred option is to surprise by starting Hogan down there but that won't happen because sides prepare as forwards/mids and defenders these days and coaches rarely switch players around out of those confines. Sure Petty's still a bit slow and doesn't read it like a pro yet, but given Goody has ruled out Frosty, there's only two alternatives - Petty or Keilty - who both look the same anyway. Petty is a nice precise kick and you can tell he'll get stronger as he matures.

The decision to drop Bernie is a biggie and I'd be comfortable if we don't end up doing it for this game and instead play him on his mate Jack Watts. But the back seven needs restructuring - yes I know it worked well against the weak teams with Lever - but the top, fast teams with good long kicks are exploiting us and as mentioned by others, it's either Jordy or Bernie that has to move out of there.

By the way, I don't see Port as an explosive fast team like the Tigers and Pies, so our precision style defence should hold up. But what chance JW kicking the winner with one minute to go.

Posted
16 minutes ago, Deespicable said:

By the way, I don't see Port as an explosive fast team like the Tigers and Pies, so our precision style defence should hold up. But what chance JW kicking the winner with one minute to go.

I think if Wines, Rockliff, Boak and SPP get hold of us around the clearances Polac and Wingard will cause us all sorts of problems.

Get beaten on the inside and they have the run and good quick ball users on the outside to make us look very slow

Posted

Tyson has a great record against Port and Boak in particular...

Do we play horses for courses, his VFL form was good on the weekend?

Posted

I think 3 certain changes.

Weideman for Pedo

Garlett for Spargo

Tyson for who ever

Petty and Baker I think will give us a better structure.

Petracca gets another chance due to Hunt's injury.

Posted

I'd like Petty in just because he has everything physically and could become a great player. Yes he will make mistakes, but i think much like we did with Oscar we should just get games into him.

I think Tyson is a key in. Got smashed in the middle and i hate when we start putting Harmes, ANB, Vince and Spargo in the middle instead of just letting the actual in and under mids do their job. I understand they need a rest which is why Brayshaw, Petracca and Tyson should be the rotation options.

Out's for me.. I think Bernie isn't offering a whole lot atm. Maybe his experience will be handy if we add Petty into the mix. Can't just go for young blood all over the pitch. I wouldn't be against letting Petracca go down to the 2's because i think he hasn't been great, but i think dropping him in a big game is risky. Apart from yesterday i think Trac usually shines in a big game. People saying Pedo and Lewis are cooked are just overreacting. Pedo was 10x better in a contest than Jesse, but is getting slated because?

IN: Petty, Tyson (would've maybe included Hunt)

OUT: Vince, Pedo (Feel bad for Ped. He just didn't have a great day and make do on his chance)

Posted
20 hours ago, spirit of norm smith said:

Need more pace.  Hunt Stretch Garlett.  Fast footy suits our style. 

Need Frost to play on Dixon. Cox destroyed Omcd who was not strong enough right now.

back 6 was ok but restructure 

Jetta (wingard) omcd (westoff)  frost (Dixon)  j. Smith  (Watts)  Hibberd (r gray)  Salem (s gray)  Lewis plays loose half back

Tyson is definitely able to assist our clearance rate  

Viney gets Wines head to head

Petracca out of form. Spargo needs a break.  Pedo was lost. Vince is just going and needs to win the footy. Hannan is playing loose with little accountability of rebounding defenders 

ins. Frost Stretch Hunt Garlett Tyson

outs. Hannan Petracca Spargo Pedersen Vince

Maybe Petracca or Hannan keep their place. Disappointing that Hunt is now out.  We DO NEED MORE PACE

Posted
1 minute ago, whatwhatsaywhat said:

can we just remember that two games ago trac picked up 22 possessions and kicked three goals straight

yep, he wasn't good yesterday, but he wasn't alone - the hand-wringing over his form is a little excessive

Biggest front runner in the side. 

Posted
Just now, SFebey said:

Biggest front runner in the side. 

Petracca playing well when we’re up and poorly when we’re down is one of those dumb circular things where both sides use it to suit their own argument. If you’re a hater he’s the cause, and if you’re a fan he’s the effect.

Posted
1 minute ago, Nasher said:

Petracca playing well when we’re up and poorly when we’re down is one of those dumb circular things where both sides use it to suit their own argument. If you’re a hater he’s the cause, and if you’re a fan he’s the effect.

I don't hate Petracca, in fact I think he's a star in the making, but he's seriously lazy and surely nobody can deny he has underwhelmed on expectations this year. I want him to become the player I think he can be, which could be one of the best in the league.

Posted
19 minutes ago, Yung Blood said:

I can't see there being any changes unless someones is injured.

That's a joke right?

Posted
5 minutes ago, SFebey said:

I don't hate Petracca, in fact I think he's a star in the making, but he's seriously lazy and surely nobody can deny he has underwhelmed on expectations this year. I want him to become the player I think he can be, which could be one of the best in the league.

I just meant people who want to criticise him. Didn’t mean to suggest you hated him, I was just too lazy to try and find the right words, so I just used the first that sprang to mind.

Posted (edited)
9 minutes ago, WERRIDEE said:

That's a joke right?

Not really. I just don't think any of the mentioned players as possible ins are going to be have a huge impact over those who played on the weekend. Pedo was average but has built form in the VFL and I would trust him more then Weid at the moment taking marks up the ground. I don't think Vince will come out for a less experienced back, the backline wasn't too bad considering the circumstances (apart from some structure breakdowns). We were beaten comprehensively in the middle of the ground giving our backs little to no chance. It's possible we play Frost to match up on the Westoff/Dixon combo but I think we'll see them give Smith another go on whoever is playing further up the ground.

Edited by Yung Blood

Posted
4 hours ago, Pennant St Dee said:

I think if Wines, Rockliff, Boak and SPP get hold of us around the clearances Polac and Wingard will cause us all sorts of problems.

Get beaten on the inside and they have the run and good quick ball users on the outside to make us look very slow

They had in the centre square:
Wines - Viney
Rockliff - Jones
SPP - Oliver
Wingard - Brayshaw/Harmes/Petracca

Wings:
Polec - Fritsch
Ebert - Brayshaw/Harmes 
Westhoff/Motlop - Tommy Mc/Brayshaw/Harmes

And forward:
Dixon - Oscar
R Gray - Jetta
Westhoff/Motlop, Watts, Boak, S Gray, Neade - J Smith, Hibberd, Lewis, Salem, Vince

Could play Petty and use him on Westhoff/Watts and to provide aerial support infront of Dixon, but it might not be the week to bring him in looking at Port's structure. I'd do it because I'm not convinced there's the right match ups for Vince and Lewis.

The Wines to Wingard combination caused Richmond a heap of trouble. We have to stop that. And we have to be prepared to help Clarry deal with SPP. They use a lot of variety on the wings. Polec is silk, Ebert is just a good solid contributor. Certainly important to get on top at the coal face.

Their young backline is very underrated. No chance of winning unless we are getting one on ones and far better forward pressure. 

Posted
20 hours ago, Docs Demons said:

Happy with this.Need to realise even when we ere winning easy Hannan, Petracca, Spargo and Vince were not getting much of the ball and poor old Pedersen is just a good, albeit very good VFL player. 5 changes is not that drastic when you have some decent depth.

There is no way they will make 5 changes.  

Its 1 loss not the end of the world. 

Posted

If we beat Port our season is right back on track. It’s a final for us, plain and simple

Posted
8 minutes ago, Roost It said:

If we beat Port our season is right back on track. It’s a final for us, plain and simple

Both teams will be 8-4 (assuming Port beat the Dogs this week).    It is huge.   And its on a Friday night.

Hopefully we don't choke on the big stage again.