DV8 2,271 Posted May 4, 2019 Posted May 4, 2019 41 minutes ago, At the break of Gawn said: Great win by the club today, but felt Lewis was really poor again. 8 kicks, 5 handballs. 5 turn overs and a disposal efficiency of 54% 1 tackle, 7 pressure acts. ... an Interesting symmetry is... the past couple of weeks he's been back... we've played better as a team. and today with him in, we beat his old side. 4 Quote
Swooper1987 3,322 Posted May 4, 2019 Posted May 4, 2019 I've been off Lewis for a while now but I thought he was actually quite good in the last 10 minutes today. His marshalling of the defence and his important late touches made a real difference. He is a liability in that he is of no use when the game is at its quickest but as it slows down and becomes more of a slog he can find a useful groove. He's not long for the AFL but I thought he did what was needed late today. Having said that I'd think that when Lever and May return there won't be the same need for his generalship of the defence. 3 Quote
old dee 24,084 Posted May 4, 2019 Posted May 4, 2019 5 minutes ago, Swooper1987 said: I've been off Lewis for a while now but I thought he was actually quite good in the last 10 minutes today. His marshalling of the defence and his important late touches made a real difference. He is a liability in that he is of no use when the game is at its quickest but as it slows down and becomes more of a slog he can find a useful groove. He's not long for the AFL but I thought he did what was needed late today. Having said that I'd think that when Lever and May return there won't be the same need for his generalship of the defence. So he still has at least two months to go, got a feeling he is going to play out the year without much challenge. 3 Quote
Sir Why You Little 37,472 Posted May 4, 2019 Posted May 4, 2019 Jordan will play out the year and then i hope he becomes a coach. 5 Quote
Dr.D 1,771 Posted May 4, 2019 Posted May 4, 2019 absolutely hopeless today. why is he even in the team. turns it over by foot and far too slow. Is also undisciplined so he really offers nothing for us. 2 2 Quote
At Least I Saw a Flag 5,353 Posted May 4, 2019 Posted May 4, 2019 He's well past his used by date. He was terrible today. And all this year really. 1 1 Quote
DV8 2,271 Posted May 4, 2019 Posted May 4, 2019 11 minutes ago, Swooper1987 said: I've been off Lewis for a while now but I thought he was actually quite good in the last 10 minutes today. His marshalling of the defence and his important late touches made a real difference. He is a liability in that he is of no use when the game is at its quickest but as it slows down and becomes more of a slog he can find a useful groove. He's not long for the AFL but I thought he did what was needed late today. Having said that I'd think that when Lever and May return there won't be the same need for his generalship of the defence. I sense end of season. Even when Lever, and May return... and with they're Ego's, I reckon Lew is still required to help them to team-up together, instead of butt heads. End of season is fine... as long as he thinks he can maintain that spot. The Leadership symmetry will be the next thing to build upon... with Lewis almost finished, and Jonesy not far behind him. . Quote
Jaded No More 68,976 Posted May 4, 2019 Posted May 4, 2019 (edited) He really needs to do the right thing and call it a day and leave us a list space for our mid season draft. Won’t do it because Lewis is focused on Lewis, but Jesus he is cooked. He runs in sand and he cannot kick. Kinda sad to see such an amazing career come to such a poor end. Edited May 4, 2019 by Jaded 1 1 2 Quote
Forest Demon 4,681 Posted May 4, 2019 Posted May 4, 2019 Not a fan. Bar a good spell towards the end of last year, he has offered little. As he has slowed, it has made his disposal more rushed, leading to turnovers. If he can’t at least steady the ship and hit targets, he offers us nothing. 3 Quote
TGR 1,367 Posted May 4, 2019 Posted May 4, 2019 1 hour ago, Micksdemons said: Do you actually know how many games we have won without Lewis since he’s been at the club ?? 1 ( One ) Sydney - Get off his back ! Below the barrel argument. If he was a footy realist, today should have been his last game of AFL football. The game past him by in 2016. Clarko knew it, and a few others. Only the simple and the desperate didn’t. 3 Quote
P-man 13,367 Posted May 4, 2019 Posted May 4, 2019 Definitely his last year. Hopefully he goes out on something resembling a high. Quote
DV8 2,271 Posted May 4, 2019 Posted May 4, 2019 5 minutes ago, Sir Why You Little said: Jordan will play out the year and then i hope he becomes a coach. I hope he takes a spot with us, as a playing 'assistant-coach' at Casey, for a year... helping our kids of last season's draft, and of this coming draft to learn the right way. Maybe after that 12 months, there might be a full-time coaching role, somewhere for him. Quote
Bitter but optimistic 22,289 Posted May 4, 2019 Posted May 4, 2019 I don't like to knock champs who are getting toward the end of fantastic, generational career. However, his form this year has been poor ( not helped by an early injury) and his place in the team must now be considered marginal at best. Probably time for him to pull the pin. 2 1 Quote
dl4e 5,851 Posted May 4, 2019 Posted May 4, 2019 I was calling for his head at 1/2 time. Has to go. However his last 1/2 of last quarter was very good. 1 Quote
DeeZee 7,496 Posted May 4, 2019 Posted May 4, 2019 When he gave up yet another goal after an errant pass, he went straight to the bench and I couldn’t help it it ,but I yelled “And stay off Lewis!!” I reckon he heard me because he looked straight up at me. 1 1 Quote
monoccular 17,760 Posted May 4, 2019 Posted May 4, 2019 56 minutes ago, Swooper1987 said: I've been off Lewis for a while now but I thought he was actually quite good in the last 10 minutes today. His marshalling of the defence and his important late touches made a real difference. He is a liability in that he is of no use when the game is at its quickest but as it slows down and becomes more of a slog he can find a useful groove. He's not long for the AFL but I thought he did what was needed late today. Having said that I'd think that when Lever and May return there won't be the same need for his generalship of the defence. Because they have had such a lot of time and played so much in blending into our backline?? 1 Quote
At the break of Gawn 4,515 Posted May 4, 2019 Posted May 4, 2019 Lewis won’t coach when he retires. He basically works part time at Fox Footy. He’ll go full-time at season’s end and also work at SEN I reckon. Quote
TGR 1,367 Posted May 4, 2019 Posted May 4, 2019 (edited) Oliver and Jake Melksham questioned Jordan Lewis as to why he had not taken possession of a ball in a contest with O'Meara near the boundary. The ball, instead, went over the line. Suffice to say, Lewis did not appreciate the feedback. The Age The author actually takes note of a few interesting incidents in the game. A good piece by Pierik The leadership myth Edited May 4, 2019 by TGR 3 Quote
Swooper1987 3,322 Posted May 4, 2019 Posted May 4, 2019 50 minutes ago, monoccular said: Because they have had such a lot of time and played so much in blending into our backline?? Because they are both leaders (especially Lever) who understand how a backline should set up. But anyway... 1 Quote
samcantstandya 1,081 Posted May 4, 2019 Posted May 4, 2019 1 hour ago, Jaded said: He really needs to do the right thing and call it a day and leave us a list space for our mid season draft. Won’t do it because Lewis is focused on Lewis, but Jesus he is cooked. He runs in sand and he cannot kick. Kinda sad to see such an amazing career come to such a poor end. Saw him choose to not tackle or harass on the boundary just let the opponent run past looked very casual no desperation even though the Dorks were surging into their forward 50 looked disinterested I had binoculars on it 1 Quote
samcantstandya 1,081 Posted May 4, 2019 Posted May 4, 2019 21 minutes ago, TGR said: Oliver and Jake Melksham questioned Jordan Lewis as to why he had not taken possession of a ball in a contest with O'Meara near the boundary. The ball, instead, went over the line. Suffice to say, Lewis did not appreciate the feedback. The Age The leadership myth Time to become a line coach Jordan 1 Quote
whatwhat say what 23,879 Posted May 4, 2019 Posted May 4, 2019 He spends so much time telling the various headless chooks in our defence where to position themselves that he’s still valuable enough to contribute 4 Quote
spirit of norm smith 16,680 Posted May 4, 2019 Posted May 4, 2019 On field coach but definitely on the decline Quote
TGR 1,367 Posted May 4, 2019 Posted May 4, 2019 43 minutes ago, TGR said: Oliver and Jake Melksham questioned Jordan Lewis as to why he had not taken possession of a ball in a contest with O'Meara near the boundary. The ball, instead, went over the line. Suffice to say, Lewis did not appreciate the feedback. The Age The author actually takes note of a few interesting incidents in the game. A good piece by Pierik The leadership myth Fantastic. Great post. Well done TGR. 2 Quote
Old Bear 388 Posted May 4, 2019 Posted May 4, 2019 Think the large lump of Cow Crap on his head that he uses to cover his bald patch is a distraction. He is worried it may fall off if he tackles 1 Quote