Posted
4 hours ago, JTR said:

Equally I think people tend to overrate players from other teams, just because they are someone from another team with good stats or good highlights.

Ask the average Joe from Collingwood what they think of one trick pony Howe now. They were creaming themselves when they first got him, cause all they saw of him was this guy taking massive speccies on the news each week

We - the fans who watch him week in, week out - knew better, and knew that was basically all he did.

My earlier anti Gaff comments were based on what I have read many Eagles fans saying about him. Many don't rate him and I'd be more inclined to listen to what they have to say about him as a player, both positive and negative, than people who don't see much of him.

That said, Bombers fans were laughing at us for taking Melksham too, so not all know what they are on about.

Anyway, for some balance, here is a little Gaff positivity for you, from HS two days ago...

============================

http://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/afl/more-news/the-best-endurance-players-in-the-afl-revealed/news-story/74a8c996525dc5b45cb04258c9ac680c

• SCULLY averages a league-high 16.6km per game and his standing as the game’s unrivalled endurance machine is laid bare by his ownership of the four highest distance totals this year, topped by a 18.3km effort against Collingwood in Round 8.

(Gaff is second at 15.95km)

• WEST Coast winger Andrew Gaff is the most selfless runner, working back harder than any other player and covering the most ground (6.5km) when West Coast don’t have the ball

The running men - 2017 averages

Distance covered in a game
Tom Scully (GWS) 16.62km
Andrew Gaff (WC) 15.95km
Lachie Whitfield (GWS) 15.60km
Steele Sidebottom (Coll) 15.18km
Isaac Smith (Haw) 15.13km
Distance covered at high speed
Tom Scully (GWS) 4.16km
Bradley Hill (Frem) 3.43km
Lachie Whitfield (GWS) 3.10km
Jack Sinclair (StK) 3.08km
Steele Sidebottom (Coll) 2.96km
Distance covered in attack
Tom Scully (GWS) 7.12km
Lachie Whitfield (GWS) 6.51km
Toby Greene (GWS) 6.41km
Steele Sidebottom (Coll) 6.41km
Andrew Gaff (WC) 6.37km
Distance covered in defence
Andrew Gaff (WC) 6.50km
Nick Robertson (Bris) 6.44km
Sam Gibson (NM) 6.35km
Ethan Hughes (Frem) 6.34km
Harris Andrews (Bris) 6.34km
Sprints in a game
Bradley Hill (Frem) 35.3
Tom Scully (GWS) 32.9

Jeff Garlett (Melb) 26.9

Jeremy Cameron (GWS) 26.6
Steven Motlop (Geel) 26.1
SOURCE: Champion Data
* Minimum 10 games

That's a lot of defensive running for sure. Shame it rarely results in a tackle.

He'd be the new whipping boy I reckon. Not hard, sits out the back of packs waiting for the easy ball, doesn't tackle. Isn't all that why Billy's in the magoos? It's almost embarrassing to say, he's a step up on a few of our boys.

Posted

If Gaff does decide to return to Melb at the end of year (which goes against how happy he was in Perth last year) then we're certainly a preferred club (at least according to his family).  

Posted (edited)
32 minutes ago, DemonAndrew said:

I'd rather get him in now than wait a year

Are you one of those kids that chose one lolly now instead of two lolly's in an hour? (Or year in this case with 1st pick + Gaff) :laugh:

Edited by Wrecked Owl Dees Function
Posted
5 hours ago, JTR said:

Equally I think people tend to overrate players from other teams, just because they are someone from another team with good stats or good highlights.

Ask the average Joe from Collingwood what they think of one trick pony Howe now. They were creaming themselves when they first got him, cause all they saw of him was this guy taking massive speccies on the news each week

We - the fans who watch him week in, week out - knew better, and knew that was basically all he did.

My earlier anti Gaff comments were based on what I have read many Eagles fans saying about him. Many don't rate him and I'd be more inclined to listen to what they have to say about him as a player, both positive and negative, than people who don't see much of him.

That said, Bombers fans were laughing at us for taking Melksham too, so not all know what they are on about.

Anyway, for some balance, here is a little Gaff positivity for you, from HS two days ago...

============================

http://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/afl/more-news/the-best-endurance-players-in-the-afl-revealed/news-story/74a8c996525dc5b45cb04258c9ac680c

• SCULLY averages a league-high 16.6km per game and his standing as the game’s unrivalled endurance machine is laid bare by his ownership of the four highest distance totals this year, topped by a 18.3km effort against Collingwood in Round 8.

(Gaff is second at 15.95km)

• WEST Coast winger Andrew Gaff is the most selfless runner, working back harder than any other player and covering the most ground (6.5km) when West Coast don’t have the ball

The running men - 2017 averages

Distance covered in a game
Tom Scully (GWS) 16.62km
Andrew Gaff (WC) 15.95km
Lachie Whitfield (GWS) 15.60km
Steele Sidebottom (Coll) 15.18km
Isaac Smith (Haw) 15.13km
Distance covered at high speed
Tom Scully (GWS) 4.16km
Bradley Hill (Frem) 3.43km
Lachie Whitfield (GWS) 3.10km
Jack Sinclair (StK) 3.08km
Steele Sidebottom (Coll) 2.96km
Distance covered in attack
Tom Scully (GWS) 7.12km
Lachie Whitfield (GWS) 6.51km
Toby Greene (GWS) 6.41km
Steele Sidebottom (Coll) 6.41km
Andrew Gaff (WC) 6.37km
Distance covered in defence
Andrew Gaff (WC) 6.50km
Nick Robertson (Bris) 6.44km
Sam Gibson (NM) 6.35km
Ethan Hughes (Frem) 6.34km
Harris Andrews (Bris) 6.34km
Sprints in a game
Bradley Hill (Frem) 35.3
Tom Scully (GWS) 32.9

Jeff Garlett (Melb) 26.9

Jeremy Cameron (GWS) 26.6
Steven Motlop (Geel) 26.1
SOURCE: Champion Data
* Minimum 10 games

Reckon we should throw our ChequeBook at Lachie Whitfield and see what he does with it.

Posted
7 hours ago, stevethemanjordan said:

Not interested in getting into a ping pong game with you but I find it interesting that you of all posters are questioning his year given the way you carry on about the countless players on our list both past and present who either regress or never even get close to reaching the level of footy that Gaff has reached. For all the excuses/variables/other contributing factors etc you come up with for our own players, it would seem only fair that you'd allow the same leniency for Gaff this year.

Having said all that, his averages are only marginally less than last year's. See here: http://finalsiren.com/PlayerStats.asp?PlayerID=2079

Last year he wasn't in the top 10 for the AFLCA votes either. I don't know why that's your favourite. I don't really care that he didn't feature in the top 10. The accolades he received from his own club, the panel that choose the AA and the fact he was equal 4th in the Charlie prove that he's quality. Shuey, Priddis and Kennedy all would have had a fair chunk of votes in the AFLCA. It's like saying Selwood underperformed last year because he didn't poll well in the Brownlow. Had Dangerfield not been at Geelong, Selwood would have obviously polled more votes.

And as for the other top 5 Brownlow finishers from last year all taking off from where they left off, you're plainly wrong. Parker, Hannebery, Treloar and the Bont have all had down years compared to last.

It may come as a surprise to you, but others including myself have an interest in many teams and individuals aside from the MFC which is why we enjoy talking about the possibility of a quality opposition player joining the club.

Gaff is quality and is exactly the type of player that we're crying out for. Clearly you've spent too much time at Gosh's paddock to see that.

What's wrong precious, I disagree, there are otherd posting in this topic who are not as effusive as you are about Gaff.

Posted (edited)
9 hours ago, Satyriconhome said:

What's wrong precious, I disagree, there are otherd posting in this topic who are not as effusive as you are about Gaff.

That's okay mate.

As soon as you start taking snaps of him over the pre-season and see him in a red and blue training singlet you'll have magically changed your mind. 

Posted
10 hours ago, Ethan Tremblay said:

My apologies, I assumed you meant get him next season with our first rounder. 

I'd have to brush up on the future trading of draft pick rules. As we traded our first rounder last season I'm unsure if we can trade this and next years first rounders. 

2 X first rounders in any 4 years straight. We took Oliver and Weed in 2015

Posted
10 hours ago, DV8 said:

Reckon we should throw our ChequeBook at Lachie Whitfield and see what he does with it.

Whats left in our Cheque book, we all assume we should have a lot of room in our salary cap and we should outside Hogan I wouldn't expect any of our players to be getting more than $600K + per year, I hope not anyway as I don't think we have any star players let alone superstars 

Posted

The cheque book will be kept closed in my opinion.

Next year we have Max, Nev and TMac as free agents requiring new contracts and it is reasonable for them to expect a contract that reflects their ability. Max missed a lot of the incentive based bonuses in his contract this year due to his injury. The club is already working on a long term deal to take him off the market and reward him financially

Posted
1 hour ago, drdrake said:

Whats left in our Cheque book, we all assume we should have a lot of room in our salary cap and we should outside Hogan I wouldn't expect any of our players to be getting more than $600K + per year, I hope not anyway as I don't think we have any star players let alone superstars 

15 minutes ago, Older demon said:

The cheque book will be kept closed in my opinion.

Next year we have Max, Nev and TMac as free agents requiring new contracts and it is reasonable for them to expect a contract that reflects their ability. Max missed a lot of the incentive based bonuses in his contract this year due to his injury. The club is already working on a long term deal to take him off the market and reward him financially

what I mean in throwing the chequebook, is to outbid the Hawks for Whitfield's services.  Even if he's mentally committed. We should try to change his mind.

Posted

What does Gaff not being a contested ball winner have to do with him being of value to the team? He covers more ground than any of our players, finds more ball than any of our players except Oliver, and has more score involvements than any of our mids. He lead the league for kicks, effective kicks and has high metres gained. He's a top 5 draft pick who developed well and met expectations placed on him.  He's been an All Australian wingman and was 4th in the Brownlow last year. I get he's not a contested beast, but realistically he sh*ts on most players on our list and is exactly what we need to bring balance to our slow overly inside midfield. Anyone saying he's no good or no value to our team has little understanding of football.

Would swap a first round pick for him and run if we got he chance. Proven quality in an area of need. Chase him hard Dees.

• Like 14
Posted

Never said he wasn't a good player but rarely man's up, yes gets a few goals on the outside,  but he will cost us a first rounder and Roosey had a crack at him two years ago doubt we have cap room any way.

Posted
22 hours ago, DemonAndrew said:

He's a gun

2017 first rounder - Lever
2018 first rounder - Gaff

Get it done

Yes 3 years without a 1st round draft pick is a risk remembering by 2019 you will have Brayshaw, Pecca, Clarry, Hunt, Viney and maybe Tyson forming a core midfield. I wouldn't be trading both of them, unless we are getting Josh Kelly.

Posted
23 hours ago, Jibroni said:

Do you mean someone like Kent or Gartlett.

His contract ends in 2018 hence West Coke would want more than that.

On current value he is worth somewhere between pick 10-20 IMO.

I think 10 is to high but i agree something closer to pick 20

Posted
On 06/09/2017 at 8:39 AM, stevethemanjordan said:

That's okay mate.

As soon as you start taking snaps of him over the pre-season and see him in a red and blue training singlet you'll have magically changed your mind. 

I have an opinion on every player, like everybody else.

Not a fan of Gaff, but if FD consider him suitable and sign him then will give him my 100% support like I do with every player who plays for MFC, doesn't necessarily mean my opinion will change though, that would be hypocritical. 

We have lots of posters on here who support the club 100% and through that the players, but continue to express opinions about them, both good and bad

Posted

I think the bloke's a seagull but one by necessity more than anything. He's a running machine and would be wasted fighting for the hard ball. He'd clearly be a valuable acquisition to our team.

Posted
14 minutes ago, McQueen said:

I think the bloke's a seagull but one by necessity more than anything. He's a running machine and would be wasted fighting for the hard ball. He'd clearly be a valuable acquisition to our team.

This is it. Of course he's not going to have the highest contested ball numbers, it's not his job. His job is to run hard to create free options along the wins and push hard back to provide an option coming out of attack.

It's like people expect every player to be a hard ball king as well as quick on the outside and a marathon runner. It doesn't work like that.

Posted
5 minutes ago, Is Dom Is Good said:

This is it. Of course he's not going to have the highest contested ball numbers, it's not his job. His job is to run hard to create free options along the wins and push hard back to provide an option coming out of attack.

It's like people expect every player to be a hard ball king as well as quick on the outside and a marathon runner. It doesn't work like that.

We need Gaff or someone like him.  After being lukewarm a few days ago, I am 100% on the get Gaff train now.

Our entire midfield are contested ball winning beasts, and balance is needed.   Get the right mix in there and we will be even better in 2018 and beyond.

Posted
41 minutes ago, Petraccattack said:

We need Gaff or someone like him.  After being lukewarm a few days ago, I am 100% on the get Gaff train now.

Our entire midfield are contested ball winning beasts, and balance is needed.   Get the right mix in there and we will be even better in 2018 and beyond.

Even if the Eagles knew they were going to lose him next year to FA, I doubt very much they'd let him go this trade period - particularly as they've made and will continue pushing to play finals. As one of the better players on their list, they need him to have a better chance of September action next year as well.

I'm not confident anything will happen this year.

Posted
3 minutes ago, McQueen said:

Even if the Eagles knew they were going to lose him next year to FA, I doubt very much they'd let him go this trade period - particularly as they've made and will continue pushing to play finals. As one of the better players on their list, they need him to have a better chance of September action next year as well.

I'm not confident anything will happen this year.

See.. I reckon West Coast will have a huge drop next year & finish between 12 - 15. I think they might almost be forecasting that & are desperately trying to get some early picks for a quick rebuild. Even though they are playing finals this year.. I have us closer to the premiership window than them. 

Posted
1 hour ago, Die Hard Demon said:

See.. I reckon West Coast will have a huge drop next year & finish between 12 - 15. I think they might almost be forecasting that & are desperately trying to get some early picks for a quick rebuild. Even though they are playing finals this year.. I have us closer to the premiership window than them. 

They are losing a lot of experience in Mitchell & Priddis out of their midfield & Drew Petrie (not as big a loss). Plus Kennedy & Le Cras turn 31 & 32 next season.They are due for a dip down one would think.

Posted
1 hour ago, Die Hard Demon said:

I agree thinking they will really struggle. Although Mitchell and Priddis looked slow, they still won plenty of the pill.

If Gaff goes with those two pulling the pin, there midfield looks very ordinary:

Masten, Shuey, Sheed and Redden with Yeo going through there occasionally.

I can't imagine them letting Gaff go for cheap and surely they would be doing what they can to retain him