Jack Watts (again)

2 hours ago, stevethemanjordan said:

Just did then apologies.

If not for the Watts omission, who else is at the selection table?

My take is this, our main avenues to goal are Hogan, Garlett, Watts and T. Mac, Hannan although promising has only one 3 goal game in his career. Hogan and Watts aren't playing. This leaves a big load on T. Mac, who may even play back, and Jeffy. Hopefully Hannan and Petracca can have big games. At this stage I'm hopefull but not confident.

Agree with the dropping.

JW has everything bar the eye-of-the-tiger.    It is not in his DNA.  It has be to somewhat injected in to him.  Injections don't last so the best we might ever get is a month to 6 weeks of good footy at a time.  As long as he can produce in September, which is what we deserve, and more importantly, he deserves.

Glad he has been dropped. He has been poor over the last month.  As Goody says, players revert back to old habits or what comes naturally when tired or out of form/under pressure.  jack will always need a kick up the bum over his career, as he just doesnt have natural aggression in him.

hopefully he responds well and is back for the bears.

Coach has spoken! 

Axe wielded!

Yet the usual soft cork suspects on here continue  make excuses for Britney. Unfathomable denial.

Get over it ladies.

Go Dees!

23 minutes ago, loges said:

My take is this, our main avenues to goal are Hogan, Garlett, Watts and T. Mac, Hannan although promising has only one 3 goal game in his career. Hogan and Watts aren't playing. This leaves a big load on T. Mac, who may even play back, and Jeffy. Hopefully Hannan and Petracca can have big games. At this stage I'm hopefull but not confident.

GWS had Cameron (42 goals), Patton (36) and Greene (33) out against us last week. Their three leading goal kickers. Yet they smashed us and kicked nearly 100 points due mainly to their pressure around the ball, tackling and more efficient ball use.

We also contributed to their win by butchering the ball, making stupid decisions and not tackling as ferociously.

But the point is, the winning score comes mainly from the way your midfield plays. We will kick a winning score if we fire through the middle. Regardless of who is forward.

14 minutes ago, stevethemanjordan said:

GWS had Cameron (42 goals), Patton (36) and Greene (33) out against us last week. Their three leading goal kickers. Yet they smashed us and kicked nearly 100 points due mainly to their pressure around the ball, tackling and more efficient ball use.

We also contributed to their win by butchering the ball, making stupid decisions and not tackling as ferociously.

But the point is, the winning score comes mainly from the way your midfield plays. We will kick a winning score if we fire through the middle. Regardless of who is forward.

Well I certainly hope it works out that way.

1 hour ago, binman said:

Sorry your logic is flawed. His playing in the VFL does not mean he is not injured. I heard Jordan Lewis and Reiwoldt on 360 say that AFL players carry injuries and niggles in almost every single game they play. Even games early the season.

Just one example. The year before last Jones carried a serious neck injury for almost the entire season. He had to have surgery at seasons end. Few fans were aware of it, but in hindsight it explained his average form for the second half of the season. there are many other examples, Trengrove being one.

Jack might be injured. He may not be. Either way he has been dropped for the same reason he didn't play in the JLT series. He has nor shown the intensity Goody demands. It is a moot point if the reason is injury or not.

Sorry Binman that's a technicality. If he crosses the white line he is fit enough to contribute. Literally all players have a niggle of some sort we can't declare they are all injured. Its just the degrees of discomfort but once you cross the white line and declare yourself fit there are no more excuses. Especially 3 weeks in a row

You can be out of form and still get a kick. But Watts has been nowhere near it in past three weeks. The lack of intensity and defensive acts would pizz Goodwin off like it pizzes us off. Good decision to drop him, but then again with Salem and Watts out, officially we have no-one that can kick!

4 hours ago, Garbo said:

Jack Watts should be embarrassed that at over 150 games and 9 years at the club he still can't hold down his spot. He has shown that he has the talent which makes it all the more disappointing. If he gets traded by Melbourne he will be delisted within 2 years by whoever he goes too, no other team would give a player this many chances to make it.

This is absolute garbo.

• Author

Didn't think they'd do it but its the right call. Good too that Weidemann comes in. Watts? I like him. Who doesn't? Really hope we storm into the finals and he plays a part. But he's been dropped a few times now.

Goody just stated on SEN tht Watts was probably in the top 2 or 3 players in the team at that point before getting injured.

I Think that's a pretty good answer to all the posters on here calling his season average before the injury.

1 hour ago, At the break of Gawn said:

Goody just stated on SEN tht Watts was probably in the top 2 or 3 players in the team at that point before getting injured.

I Think that's a pretty good answer to all the posters on here calling his season average before the injury.

? Hmmm

41 minutes ago, beelzebub said:

? Hmmm

He's clearly referring to the original hamstring injury.

Hopefully he regains some form in the 2's and slots back in a couple games.

9 hours ago, 3Dee said:

21.9 scoring + 9 assists in 15 games. He's been good all year just been in a slump since returning from injury bar his second half against Port which was flawless. Hope he finds form quickly cause he is required if we're to have a shot at it this September.

Loss of form due to injury, Shades of Cameron Bruce maybe? Hope not as he is too valuable when in form,

13 hours ago, rpfc said:

Only supporters who argue for Watts not to be dropped get called 'apologists'...

I didn't think Salem should be dropped. Am I a Salem apologist?

I think Goodwin had had a terrible fortnight, perhaps we could drop him for Justin Plapp for a week.

All those who disagree with me are Goodwin apologists.

Have to agree.  In fact, I have no problem with both Salem & Watts being given a run at Casey to prove their fitness & focus.  Moreover, they should have both been brought in via the 2s in the first place.  The fact that they weren't is a shocking indictment of the FD's lack of man-management skills.  They now have two undeniably talented players (and I've certainly no one complain about Salem's hardness!) who have been made to waste three weeks and to lose confidence.  I would have more respect for Goodwin if he just said that the FD had made a mistake of bringing them back when they did and in the way that they did.  When do you hear him ever say that the FD hasn't performed as well as expected?

I hope they both dominate and fight their way back in next week.

15 hours ago, Demons1858 said:

Sorry Binman that's a technicality. If he crosses the white line he is fit enough to contribute. Literally all players have a niggle of some sort we can't declare they are all injured. Its just the degrees of discomfort but once you cross the white line and declare yourself fit there are no more excuses. Especially 3 weeks in a row

Whatcha ya talking about williis?

I was not exusing jack. In fact you essentially are saying what i said.

I was rebutting the argument he coyls not be injured if he wás playing at casy.

Sheesh

12 hours ago, At the break of Gawn said:

Goody just stated on SEN tht Watts was probably in the top 2 or 3 players in the team at that point before getting injured.

Please don't report 'facts' like this.

The Trump apologists here don't like it. Doesn't sit well with their confirmation bias settings.

2 minutes ago, Ron Burgundy said:

Please don't report 'facts' like this.

The Trump apologists here don't like it. Doesn't sit well with their confirmation bias settings.

Because Football Club ONLY ever tell you the truth lol.

Quite frankly i believe Nothing uttered by ours or any other. Its nearly always orchesteated to suit an audience or occasion.

Talk about fake news, footy invented it, not Donald.

13 hours ago, At the break of Gawn said:

Immediately after that Goodwin said Watts was no longer in our best 22 but he didn't explain how a player can go from top 3 to outside 22 almost overnight, given that he had been injured.  That just doesn't make sense.  

Goodwin then conceded that perhaps Jack should have had a run at Casey before coming into the seniors (which is the more typical route for players injured). 

I think we were all surprised that all our injured players came straight back in.  Salem, Gawn, Hogan, Jones, Watts, Viney, Tyson.  It smacks of desperation by the coaches.  All those players struggled on return to seniors.  Only Gawn is finding some form.  Now Salem and Watts are out of the team.  One rested the other used to 'send a message to all players'.  

Top 3 to outside best 22, in a few weeks?  Don't buy that! 

Perhaps the coaching panel need to take some responsibility here. 

16 hours ago, stevethemanjordan said:

We actually outscored GWS after QT, strange eh, not many have noticed that. 15mins of lazy football cost us the game.

31 minutes ago, chook fowler said:

Good article by Slobbo in the Sun re Jack Watts. Sums up Jacks situation perfectly 

Can anyone copy and paste it here please?