Posted

Bugg should get the same as Houli. High impact, high contact, intentional. 4 weeks.

Unfortunately for Bugg it looks like the AFL's media flunkies are drumming up a lynch mob.

Make a statement, make an example, that kind of filth.

Hall got 7 weeks on the back of a dreadful record. Should Bugg get 7 also? No. Six? Why two more than Houli? Five? Well, no one yet has ever accused the AFL of being consistent.

Posted

Stupid man for this stunt. I had him "earmarked" to do this next week against the Blues just to see how the Carlton doctor wrote it up. Joke aside. Really disappointed with his action.

Posted

Deserves 6 weeks. Worse than the houli hit. 

Moronic act and it'll take a lot of time to regain respect with players and coaches 

Posted

Let's hope we hear from the MFC soon. Level headed support would suffice.

Posted

Apologies 

have not been following this thread and it may have been mentioned already 

In respect of the comparison of the Bugg incident and Houli's

Richmond won the game after the Carlton player was hit and the argument could be considered by the MRT in its wisdom that conceivably the outcome of the match was altered by the offence

Sydney won the game  after Bugg offended and no way did it impact the game the way that Basher's elbow could be said to have

Posted
4 hours ago, jnrmac said:

There are a lot of pathetic posts in relation to Bugg. He is one of our players. He gives his all.

He tries to play on the edge and last night he crossed the line. It was a bad mistake no question. He will pay for it. Not the least because, unlike Houli, everyone is happy to pot him.

He clearly doesn't get the 'good bloke' discount. The commentary last night was disgraceful. They were happy to let their lickass friend Buddy get away with a hip to Hannan's head but they stuck the proverbial boots into Bugg.

I support Buggy because he is one of ours. You should too.

It's fine to support him long-term or career-wise - players shouldn't get hung out to dry based on one error.

However, the offence should be treated the same way as how we would react to any other clubs' player doing it. We can't say it's not as bad just because a Melbourne player did it.

2 hours ago, beelzebub said:

Again, you show an incompetency to understand. 

Ive not said Bugg is blameless.  He isn't. I have actually stated what happened. That doesn't sit well with your hysteria, does it. Yes one started, the other finished. Thats called, observation of events.

Well done to bring in all the other irrelevances btw.

You have no idea to context or desire to understand it obviously.

Do you actually understand football ?

Gold medal strawman's effort by you.

What exactly did Mills do to "start" it?

1 hour ago, Garbo said:

At lot of hysteria going on here, bugg threw a punch like Lewis earlier in the year the only difference his Cripps can take a hit Mills can't. Bugg will get his time and we should move on [censored] happens 

Let's not go back to victim blaming here.

It should be irrelevant how Mills "took" it, compared to how anyone else could or would "take" it.

Posted
1 hour ago, jako13 said:

the vilification of Bugg is way over the top here. yes he hit him yes he'll cop 4 weeks. no way worse than Bachar last week. definitely connected way better than what bugg expected and for that he will have month holiday from footy

hes been hung to dry by yhe media - tge guys calling the game who have been up in arms - BT carey brereton king all made a career out of whacking blokes but are now dead against it... i dont think so, they've just been 'mediafied' and love headline journalism

where was this outcry when Colin Sylvia had his jaw busted off the ball against wedt coast. the bloke that elbowed him didnt even get reported or cop weeks. 

I agree, Taylor and Brereton in particular should be keeping very quiet on this Both seem to have transformed themselves from absolute thugs to someones favorite uncle. Selective amnesia indeed. Let me prod our collective memories on Dermott

As he, himself said:

You'd look to take somebody out, and wilfully take them out, within the rules

So Dermott do these rules include stomping on a person's head as you did to RaydenTallis in 1994 and breaking or breaking Tony Free's jaw with a karate chop ?

Similarly Brian Taylor's histrionics should be a constant source of embarrassment to him.

Posted

HIs tweet b4 dogs game was without permission. Many people thought it was good but I ddint think it helped. Now he has sold out his team mates by going on holidays for at least 4. Not to mention he played a complete shocker of a game and got 6 touches.

Posted
2 hours ago, Deecisive said:

sounds like the ex swan player henwood will be a member of this weeks tribunal. Really with so many footballers they couldnt choose panel members that have no past history with either club involved in a case.

Neita was on the Houli tribunal. Not sure if he will be this time.

Posted
1 hour ago, Mydee said:

I agree, Taylor and Brereton in particular should be keeping very quiet on this Both seem to have transformed themselves from absolute thugs to someones favorite uncle. Selective amnesia indeed. Let me prod our collective memories on Dermott

As he, himself said:

You'd look to take somebody out, and wilfully take them out, within the rules

So Dermott do these rules include stomping on a person's head as you did to RaydenTallis in 1994 and breaking or breaking Tony Free's jaw with a karate chop ?

Similarly Brian Taylor's histrionics should be a constant source of embarrassment to him.

Agree!! Talk about throwing stones in glass houses. Taylor was nothing but a thug!! 

Posted (edited)

Hogan's punch caused delayed concussion; Bugg's caused concussion.

Hogan's was behind the play; Bugg's was behind the play. 

Hogan's was high and intentional; Bugg's was high and intentional.

What's with the double standards of Melbourne supporters? They were both bad, and I admit Bugg's looked worse, but the response by Melbourne supporters has been OTT. I just feel because Bugg is a fringe player he's copping more heat. 

What if Viney's punch on Ebert last year had caused concussion? I bet the condemnation wouldn't have been as bad as this.

Edited by At the break of Gawn
Posted

So it's ok for Hogan, Vince and the has been from Hawthorn to punch people in the head and receive banishments this year but no good for young Tommy, hardly touched the goose, he didn't know he had a glass jaw, not as as if he planned to harm, it is what it it is.

Posted

Stupid,stupid,stupid Bugg has probably played his last game. Our senior players must realise that to get suspended is deprimental to the club. 

Posted
2 hours ago, ENYAW said:

Stupid,stupid,stupid Bugg has probably played his last game. Our senior players must realise that to get suspended is deprimental to the club. 

Last game my rear end.  He was set the example by our newly aquired experienced master of the trade Lewis.

Posted
3 hours ago, At the break of Gawn said:

What's with the double standards of Melbourne supporters? They were both bad, and I admit Bugg's looked worse, but the response by Melbourne supporters has been OTT. I just feel because Bugg is a fringe player he's copping more heat. 

I reckon it has to do with the Houli one. There's some factors you can throw in like that he was facing him. Add a bit for that. And add the fact that Houli's right whack was 4, possibly 3 for good record.

Posted
18 hours ago, beelzebub said:

Of course he didn't.  He flung out reactively. He did clock him a cracker but that was more luck ( bad ) than intent or aim.

Agree...the vitriol, the hyperbole, almost laughable.

Thanks for being one of the few to stick up for him.

Seems to me eveyrones quick to condemn him without remotely knowing what transpired to  pre-empt it ! 

Posted
5 hours ago, ENYAW said:

How many Hawthorn players got suspended in their premiership years? They had a name for it unsociable football.

Posted
1 hour ago, Wrecker45 said:

How many Hawthorn players got suspended in their premiership years? They had a name for it unsociable football.

Can't wait for Lewy to go unsociably slap bang 'n whack in our premiership year !

Posted (edited)

I remember Neil Daniher stating that "Every club needs a cowboy."
Like it or not .... Buggies ours.

And FWIW , he ain't going nowhere.
Just signed JKH for another year and Buggs obviously higher than him in the pecking order.

Edited by Fork 'em
Posted

Yep lets stick fat where needed, we're in the frame !

Posted
10 hours ago, At the break of Gawn said:

Hogan's punch caused delayed concussion; Bugg's caused concussion.

Hogan's was behind the play; Bugg's was behind the play. 

Hogan's was high and intentional; Bugg's was high and intentional.

What if Viney's punch on Ebert last year had caused concussion? I bet the condemnation wouldn't have been as bad as this.

According to Dr Larkins,

Bugg could have killed him.

Hogan's I assume couldn't have.  Maybe delayed death... by 63 years.

I disagree with Doc by the way, but he is a medical expert with a microphone, so...

Posted

Tommy made a mistake, that's for sure. It was a 2 second long brain fade and he will carry it with him for some years.

Lets not forget the good mongrel he has given us this year, he's played the villain role constantly and it has paid off for us on numerous occasions.

Tommy must be going through hell at the moment, the abuse he is coping on his instagram is ridiculous.

Landers, if you have some time, send him some love on his social media pages. Even some small messages of support may help him deal with his stupid mistake.