Mach5 4,768 Posted June 18, 2017 Posted June 18, 2017 Great win today against the Bulldogs. I've been happy with out perseverance with Oscar and the fact it looks to be paying off now in the last few weeks... My question is: should we actually be targeting Jake Lever or Steven May? Do we really need another tall defender with Tom & Oscar McDonald and Frosty all standing up? In terms of recruiting targets, where are our weaknesses? What should we be targeting (either draft or mature existing players)? Ruck has been a weakness, but we have Gawn (AA), a mature capable ruck back-up in Spencer (who is not so good that he has an eye on the exit) and 2 projects. I don't think we need to add more. We don't have gaping holes, but where should we focus our attention?
ding 5,126 Posted June 18, 2017 Posted June 18, 2017 Nothing..... we are perfect just the way we are. (Post match glow talking)
Mach5 4,768 Posted June 18, 2017 Author Posted June 18, 2017 It is a bit. We don't appear to have a desperate need, but I'm curious as to where people think we should be stocking up... beyond KPD and ruck, which have been en vogue.
Josh 1,420 Posted June 18, 2017 Posted June 18, 2017 A utility/swingman. The Pederson bit part foward/back/ruck Genuine outside mid
stevethemanjordan 6,952 Posted June 18, 2017 Posted June 18, 2017 Today's result was attributed to manic pressure and intensity at the ball and ball carrier at all times. We sustained that kind of intensity for the entirety of the game today, something we haven't done all year. It was incredible. When you play that sort of brand of footy consistently, it takes so much pressure off your own players and makes your team look a million bucks. As an example, our defenders were able to see the ball coming in like beach balls such was the pressure on the kick, so it allowed so many of our defender to have strong games. Similarly, our forward-line seemed to function well due to the areas we were turning the ball over in. (Our forward-half). We still clearly need certain attributes and players in areas of the ground to help. I mean Frost's kicking at times from defence is proof. That was under little pressure. And we're all aware of the composure issues O-Mac, Frost and T-Mac have when the opposition aren't under immense pressure when entering their 50. We need a key defender with a similar set of attributes to Hibberd. He is mostly always composed, no matter the stage of the game or how much pressure he is under. I'm certain we need another key defender to really solidify our defence. The three we have are way too flakey. But as I said, when your team and especially your midfield apply that much pressure for the entire day, it makes everyone look good.
Gipsy Danger 1,067 Posted June 18, 2017 Posted June 18, 2017 A big key Backman and more genuine forward depth
Skuit 10,031 Posted June 18, 2017 Posted June 18, 2017 One area seldom mentioned is another forward-pocket specialist. We were crying out for years before we were gifted Garlett. But Jeff is nearly 28 and is reasonably crucial to our game plan. Our small-medium forward recruits in recent times seem a bit of a bet each way. Would love us to take a punt on another mercurial forward type. No harm in having two in the team and it also brings people to the footy.
Josh 1,420 Posted June 18, 2017 Posted June 18, 2017 40 minutes ago, Skuit said: One area seldom mentioned is another forward-pocket specialist. We were crying out for years before we were gifted Garlett. But Jeff is nearly 28 and is reasonably crucial to our game plan. Our small-medium forward recruits in recent times seem a bit of a bet each way. Would love us to take a punt on another mercurial forward type. No harm in having two in the team and it also brings people to the footy. Good call, not a mid/flank that we play as a small foward but a genuine small foward.
Dappa Dan 2,188 Posted June 18, 2017 Posted June 18, 2017 Purely going on numbers in each position, we actually went into the season low on KP defenders. Frost, TMac, OMac, Garland. Only 4. You could argue Hibberd can play tall-ish. But TBH, that is a super thin way to go into a season for KP defenders. So even though right now everyone loves our starting 3, we really do need one more. Even if only as a development player. I reckon small/general defenders we have heaps. Hibberd, Hunt, Jetta, Lewis, Salem. Wow. Midfielders: Awesome. Some people say you need 14 or so with real class as your first 4. Oliver, Viney, Jones, Tyson. We have about 10 other Harmes/Bugg types that roll through there. But I'm of the mind we need 2 more serious mids, and should spend our next 2 first rounders on them. The big thing here is decline/age of Jones, Lewis and Vince. This should really be of concern in a big way to all demons supporters. KP forwards: Hogan, Weed,Watts, Pedo, Hulett... Probably need another here too. Hulett might be in trouble. Small forwards: Sensational. Garlett, Harmes, Bugg, Tracca, Hannan, AVB. Awesome. Rucks: As discussed over and over. We have two starters who could go 22 rounds. And 2-3 kids who we will wait and see. Leave as it is I reckon. If Spencer moves on, we'll have to FA up another. So I reckon over next two seasons. 1 KP forward. 1 KP Defender. 2 mids. Lovely jubblies. Could find them in trades. Could FA them. I'm really hoping though that given the pressure is off the recruiters, they can stockpile some 2018 draft picks. They're already saying it's a super draft.
Biffen 12,949 Posted June 18, 2017 Posted June 18, 2017 5 minutes ago, deeflog said: Can pederson aged 24 would be ideal His brain was the issue . His lack of games may see a prolonged career ,back ended, and to me he looked like a 100 game AFL footballer.
Goodvibes 3,596 Posted June 18, 2017 Posted June 18, 2017 1 hour ago, Josh said: Genuine outside mid How about an explosive line-breaking mid? Outside mid makes me think of Farren Ray or Cale Morton.
spirit of norm smith 16,681 Posted June 18, 2017 Posted June 18, 2017 Yes more stars still required. Pacy Midfielder gun would be nice ... Luke Shuey type. Slot in on the wing. You can never have enough stars.
YesitwasaWin4theAges 6,843 Posted June 18, 2017 Posted June 18, 2017 You know what scares me? we have 2 genuine A graders in Hoges, Gawny and a possible A grader in Brayshaw out of the side at the minute. Who ever can improve us as a side but for right price. Someone in the mould of Hibbo he's elite but brought in at the right price.
YesitwasaWin4theAges 6,843 Posted June 18, 2017 Posted June 18, 2017 28 minutes ago, Biffen said: His brain was the issue . His lack of games may see a prolonged career ,back ended, and to me he looked like a 100 game AFL footballer. like I've said before he has 3-4 years in him.
YesitwasaWin4theAges 6,843 Posted June 18, 2017 Posted June 18, 2017 45 minutes ago, Dappa Dan said: Purely going on numbers in each position, we actually went into the season low on KP defenders. Frost, TMac, OMac, Garland. Only 4. You could argue Hibberd can play tall-ish. But TBH, that is a super thin way to go into a season for KP defenders. So even though right now everyone loves our starting 3, we really do need one more. Even if only as a development player. I reckon small/general defenders we have heaps. Hibberd, Hunt, Jetta, Lewis, Salem. Wow. Midfielders: Awesome. Some people say you need 14 or so with real class as your first 4. Oliver, Viney, Jones, Tyson. We have about 10 other Harmes/Bugg types that roll through there. But I'm of the mind we need 2 more serious mids, and should spend our next 2 first rounders on them. The big thing here is decline/age of Jones, Lewis and Vince. This should really be of concern in a big way to all demons supporters. KP forwards: Hogan, Weed,Watts, Pedo, Hulett... Probably need another here too. Hulett might be in trouble. Small forwards: Sensational. Garlett, Harmes, Bugg, Tracca, Hannan, AVB. Awesome. Rucks: As discussed over and over. We have two starters who could go 22 rounds. And 2-3 kids who we will wait and see. Leave as it is I reckon. If Spencer moves on, we'll have to FA up another. So I reckon over next two seasons. 1 KP forward. 1 KP Defender. 2 mids. Lovely jubblies. Could find them in trades. Could FA them. I'm really hoping though that given the pressure is off the recruiters, they can stockpile some 2018 draft picks. They're already saying it's a super draft. Midfielder for me
Bombay Airconditioning 6,510 Posted June 18, 2017 Posted June 18, 2017 We won't get him but 2 metre PETER.
junk 342 Posted June 18, 2017 Posted June 18, 2017 Tremendous win against the Doggies. We need another quality mid,perhaps we will pick up one in the draft. Another Hunt,Petracca would be fine.A ruck/forward perhaps 2M Peter ( wishful thinking). With J.Smith and Maynard coming thru is a bonus.Hopefull White and King can excel by years end.
Lord Travis 10,819 Posted June 18, 2017 Posted June 18, 2017 We're well stocked for ball winning mids and both half forward and back flankers. A genuinely skilled and quick midfielder would be near the top of the list. Someone who can break lines, or nail kicks in the forward half, in the Kelly or Schuey mould. Stretch has neat skills, but doesn't have that explosive pace or penetrating kick. We need someone with those attributes. There are times when the opposition puts pressure on in the middle, where we win the stoppage but then don't have the pace or skill to move up the ground without turning it over. If we had someone like say Shuey they could break through the congestion and hit that kick into our forward 50 instead of say a Tyson or Vince hacking it forward and turning it over. A quality tall defender is still top of the list. Garland is likely to retire at years end now that he has a coaching gig. That leaves us with the 2 McDonalds and Frost. If any get an injury then we are buggered structurally. Lever would be ideal and could play the third tall role perfectly while the others can lock down as needed. Another tall forward who can ruck is needed. Weiderman will be good long term but is still a ways off. Getting another tall to fill that role and ease pressure on him developing would be handy. Trengove from Port as a free agent might be a good target to get a few years out of as a forward/ruck type. Speaking of ruck, we also need better ruck depth, this year has shown that. Gawn is obviously a gun ruckman. Spencer has had his injury problems and is a battler who may move for opportunity as a free agent. That leaves us with young King and Flipper who are both a mile off. If Spencer leaves we need to replace him with a mature ruckman in case Gawn goes down again.
Dee1987 277 Posted June 18, 2017 Posted June 18, 2017 Another Forward to create more headaches and probably 1 classy midfielder
Wiseblood 24,637 Posted June 18, 2017 Posted June 18, 2017 I still don't understand why we can't be in the frame for Josh Kelly. Money might be the issue, but we are far better side than North or St. Kilda and surely you would choose to play for us over those clubs. Wouldn't mind another tall - Lever would be terrific, but even if we just had further insurance (like another Pedersen) then I'd be happy with that.
Dee1987 277 Posted June 18, 2017 Posted June 18, 2017 Dusty Martin buddy up with Petracca would be mouth watering..... a bridge too much and far though
Watts Jurrah Dunn? 735 Posted June 18, 2017 Posted June 18, 2017 A Josh Kelly/Isaac Smith type would be my first priority. A Ben Brown/Peter Wright type would be my second priority. Then I'd like another Jeff Garlett or two.
Little Richard 6,265 Posted June 18, 2017 Posted June 18, 2017 1 hour ago, Goodvibes said: How about an explosive line-breaking mid? Outside mid makes me think of Farren Ray or Cale Morton. Stephen Hill would be more than nice. Pipe dream though, obviously.