Posted

It takes a while for the penny to drop for some of us but perhaps Goodwin was persisting with Weideman in the seniors because ultimately he was hoping that he would take the role of the second ruck/forward a la Boyd at Footscray.

Hopefully it was a good idea that is just one year early.

Great to see the Weid get some ball because at Coburg in the forward line he was just "not there."

Posted (edited)

Really liked Weid's game yesterday. He had a run of shockers but yesterday looked a very good developing footballer.

I hope he spends the rest of the year at Casey and actually dominates a game or two. He's still a skinny kid who, hopefully, we can make a 10 year player out of.

Edited by Bitter but optimistic

Posted

I like that he didn't things in the fourth quarter. Workrate is non negotiable. The rest can be developed.

Posted

Just finished watching the recording of this this morning.

Wagner's performance will out pressure on the bottom 4-6 to perform on Monday.

Can see what they are trying to do with Stretch's game and it is starting to work. Played more mid than wing. Was more inside then spread with his possessions and they were more aggressive in movement. Another player of quality if others dont perform.

Ben Kennedy's disposal is diaobolical. Understandable why he is not being seen at AFL level.

Kent's intent (or lack there of) is diabolical. Is very much just going through the motions (could be injury related but suspect likely more attitude).

Weideman worked into the game beautifully. Will get a lot more now out of building his form at CHF at Casey this year in prep for next year.

Maynard and Johnstone show capability to build on for the future but the rest are just playing out time and are low depth at best.

Posted
13 hours ago, Bring-Back-Powell said:

I hope we don't regret rushing Salem in for Wagner who is starting to heat up.

He had a week off due to suspension, not injury, and his pre-suspension form was unarguably best 22.

Wagner, meanwhile, was just OK at AFL level and plays the precise position Salem plays. With Melksham in better form than Wagner, I can't see the issue at all.

Great, nonetheless, to read that Wager dominated for Casey, bouncing back from the demotion immediately. Keeps the pressure on the bottom 6 tomorrow.

Also great to read that Weideman worked his way into some VFL form. Hopefully he learnt a lot in the seniors about what is required and we give him a long period at Casey to work on those things. Once we can get Hogan and Gawn/Spencer back into the side, we shouldn't need Weideman at AFL level (barring further injuries/suspensions) and we can leave him to develop.

Posted
16 hours ago, Bring-Back-Powell said:

I hope we don't regret rushing Salem in for Wagner who is starting to heat up.

This post is tongue in cheek, surely.

Posted (edited)
6 hours ago, Demonland said:

Sam Weideman 2 goals 3 behinds 13 kicks 8 handballs 21 disposals 8 marks 4 hit outs 99 dream team points

b0eXj.gif

Edited by Petraccattack

Posted
14 hours ago, puntkick said:

I was there too OD but there's no need to shout " OLD " I can still hear !

You seem to have been a bit quieter of late. Are the " LIDS " still over the back fence or are you playing the % game ?

No just old and losing interest puntkick. I think the MFC half game team has finally got to me. I live for the day our team starts playing from the first bounce.

Posted
8 hours ago, Bitter but optimistic said:

Really liked Weid's game yesterday. He had a run of shockers but yesterday looked a very good developing footballer.

I hope he spends the rest of the year at Casey and actually dominates a game or two. He's still a skinny kid who, hopefully, we can make a 10 year player out of.

Don't get too excited Bbo he was playing against a second rate VFL side. Get excited when he plays a good agame against a decent side. 

Posted
25 minutes ago, old dee said:

Don't get too excited Bbo he was playing against a second rate VFL side. Get excited when he plays a good agame against a decent side. 

Yes, one swallow doesn't make a spring as they say OD. However, what impressed me was the fact that he bounced back from 3 or 4 absolutely shizen performances to play a very good game.

Shows a bit of character I reckon.

Posted
1 hour ago, Bitter but optimistic said:

Yes, one swallow doesn't make a spring as they say OD. However, what impressed me was the fact that he bounced back from 3 or 4 absolutely shizen performances to play a very good game.

Shows a bit of character I reckon.

“One swallow does not make a summer,
neither does one fine day; 
similarly one day or brief time of happiness does not make a person entirely happy.”

― Aristotle,

Sounds like Ari would have been a Demon fan.

Posted
On 6/10/2017 at 3:28 PM, DemonAndrew said:

is mayne playing for the pies? barely sighted

Chris Mayne would have too be the luckiest man alive 2m over 4 years for playing VFL footy there is no way back 4 him in the AFL setup. Suck Sh$@ Pies.

Posted
1 hour ago, Win4theages said:

Chris Mayne would have too be the luckiest man alive 2m over 4 years for playing VFL footy there is no way back 4 him in the AFL setup. Suck Sh$@ Pies.

Could never understand that selection. Did BP move into the Pies under an assumed name?

Posted

So just a little update on Keilty, he was feeling real crook for the first half of the game against the Pies, but managed to settle it after half time, but don't worry I got into him after his poorly missed goal hahaha

Just want to remind people that he played as a key defender all of last year, and trained as a key defender during all of pre-season. So now that Melbourne want him to play in a Ruck-Forward role, it is going to take some time for him to really learn, develop and prosper in his new job. He is a late bloomer sorta player who probably won't hit his prime for another couple of years. For those calling for his delisting at the end of one season, I think is very short sighted. 

Posted
2 hours ago, Drunkn167 said:

So just a little update on Keilty, he was feeling real crook for the first half of the game against the Pies, but managed to settle it after half time, but don't worry I got into him after his poorly missed goal hahaha

Just want to remind people that he played as a key defender all of last year, and trained as a key defender during all of pre-season. So now that Melbourne want him to play in a Ruck-Forward role, it is going to take some time for him to really learn, develop and prosper in his new job. He is a late bloomer sorta player who probably won't hit his prime for another couple of years. For those calling for his delisting at the end of one season, I think is very short sighted. 

I reckon ruck forward is perfect for him. Gawn will always need a chop out. Pedo will probably play that role now but as Pedo shows players who work hard and play their role get their chance. Dec can fill that spot nicely i reckon and will get his chance i the future. They won't delist him. Big guys who are mobile and can take a grab are just too valuable in today's footy where they only play one ruck. His time up back won't hurt either. Good education and gives him some flexibility, which s we have seen this year is crucial for big fellas.  

Posted (edited)
11 hours ago, Drunkn167 said:

as a matter of interest, how long does he have - are rookies on one or two year contracts, and after a second year then they have to be upgraded to the main list or dropped off?

it feels like mitch white has been a rookie for eons!

Edited by DemonAndrew