Posted

Does seem to indicate what a pretty pickle they think that they are in, perhaps even diabolical. Maybe a push from the AFL?

Posted
1 hour ago, bandicoot said:

Roos is a gun for hire. He came to Melbourne as an employee and like another other employee doesnt owe the club anything after they leave. 

All the best in whatever you decide to do Roos... 

I don't blame him at all, I just don't want to see Collingwood improve. Roos is a football genius and if they land him, they increase their chances of improving. It's that simple.

Posted (edited)

Honestly, it would sadden me a bit.

I know money was a big factor in getting him here, but his place in MFC history would be cheapened in my eyes if he officially becomes nothing more than a paid mercenary.

I admit that's more of an emotional response than a logical one. He did a great job at the club and people are entitled to move on in their careers. But he arrived at a unique time to fulfill a unique role, and all his words about Jonesy lifting the cup being one of the best days of his life would suddenly feel a bit empty.

By the same token, Roosy is now part of the past. He's entitled to do what he wants. But yeah, it would be a little saddening to see him at Collingwood of all places. Brisbane I could stomach a lot better.

Edited by P-man
Posted (edited)
9 hours ago, Lucifer's Hero said:

Collingwood may be looking for a lot of new senior people:rolleyes::

• Football Manager:  Gubby Allen may find himself on an extended holiday courtesy of AFL/ASADA.
  • President:  Eddie must be on thin ice after:  hiring Allen; his big mouth nearly lost them their sponsorship with Holden; upsetting the chief recruiter; and realising his 'love child' can't coach.  The Board must be asking themselves big questions about Eddie and his judgement!  Wouldn't be surprised to see an 'exit' plan for Eddie.  But will he go quietly or will the sparks fly.  Popcorn time again?
  • Senior Coach: ...

Collingwood is looking very poor in the management stakes - lots of off field turmoil happening. 

Some old Rooboy mates (Pert, Randell) are there but can't see Roos at a club that is all over the shop!  He chose the Demons rather than the Lions because we were stable with the firm hand of PJ in control. 

Looks like I was very close to the mark re Eddie being on thin ice:  http://www.theage.com.au/afl/afl-news/eddie-mcguire-gary-pert-looking-shaky-after-drugs-scandal-20161025-gsafga.html

Every time I see other clubs in turmoil I thank God that PJ came to us.  By him recruiting good capable people who have in turn recruited good capable people, we have become boringly stable.  And, I love that our club is boringly stable!!

Posted (edited)
10 minutes ago, Lucifer's Hero said:

Looks like I was very close to the mark re Eddie being on thin ice:  http://www.theage.com.au/afl/afl-news/eddie-mcguire-gary-pert-looking-shaky-after-drugs-scandal-20161025-gsafga.html

Every time I see other clubs in turmoil I thank God that PJ came to us.  By him recruiting good capable people who have in turn recruited good capable people, we have become boringly stable.  And, I love that our club is boringly stable!!

loved that quote in the link "  cavalier treatment of respected senior personnel is reportedly one reason why the Magpies' people and culture boss Belinda Leaver wanted to leave, feeling her role had been usurped." well what do you expect when you hire someone called leaver - lol

Edited by daisycutter

Posted (edited)
8 hours ago, bandicoot said:

As well as his wife's business might be doing it definitely wont be making $1.5m per year. He will be at Collingwood in a heart beat with those $$$$.

He might not want to be in the spotlight as a head coach but would jump at the opportunity of being in a director of football role.  

How many millions does a guy like Roos need?

He's a pretty smart guy, my bet is he's got enough money squirreled away, so that he can go and live very comfortably between Hawaii and Australia, without taking on major commitments with an AFL club.  I could possibly see him going in as a consultant and doing an audit on culture, football deptment structure and the like, but taking on a major leadership position wouldn't seem to fit with the messages Roos was sending out on his plans for the future.  I could also see him earning some pretty good pocket money doing commentary for Fox Footy, public talking and the like.

Edited by Rodney (Balls) Grinter
Posted
8 hours ago, Dante said:

We wanted Roos for more than the three years he signed on for and it would have been at $1.5m a year, but he still only wanted the 3 year contract.

If he was interested in staying and if the money was an issue for him, he'd still be with us, he did all the heavy lifting and then passed the baton, he won't go to them because it's not about money.

In fact he only wanted 2 years. If the Swans had allowed Stewart Dew to take up the position of successor in 2014, he would have gone at the end of 2015.

Waldron may be correct, but most times I've heard him, he seems intent on creating some kind of controversy.

Hard to to take too seriously.

Posted

If Roos does end up at Collingwood his contract will make Lance Franklin's contract look like minimum wage!!

Posted (edited)
11 hours ago, nutbean said:

Waldron is the king of getting it wrong...

Were any charges ever laid with Brian Waldron??

Posted

If Roos still wanted to be involved at footy, surely he would have stayed with us. We would have offered him whatever role he wanted and paid him well for it.

Can't see why he would put off his long held plans to move to the US with his wife, to work at Collingwood. 

Posted
10 minutes ago, Jaded said:

If Roos still wanted to be involved at footy, surely he would have stayed with us. We would have offered him whatever role he wanted and paid him well for it.

Can't see why he would put off his long held plans to move to the US with his wife, to work at Collingwood. 

The fact Roos isn't involved in our Women's team suggests he will not be working for the club in any capacity...

which means that until he rules out working for Collingwood/actually lives in Hawaii, the speculation will stay. Collingwood would know they need to pay more than what Roos was getting from AFL/Melb for his role as senior coach - wouldn't put it past them to do that given our much $$$ they have. Talking hypotheticals, but would you knock back 2.5 mill a year?

Posted
17 minutes ago, Jaded said:

I reckon they would go better there too.

Posted
12 minutes ago, Red and Blue Flame said:

Collingwood would know they need to pay more than what Roos was getting from AFL/Melb for his role as senior coach - wouldn't put it past them to do that given our much $$$ they have. Talking hypotheticals, but would you knock back 2.5 mill a year?

It would not be beyond Eddie to make an offer like that, especially when his own legacy at CFC is coming under fire.

Posted
On 10/25/2016 at 0:35 PM, TGR said:

Will Matt still do Roos Views to see if Paul's fav color for the week has changed?

Can't wait for Goody's Gossip every week in '17 BTW.

I would have thought "The Good Word"

Posted
1 hour ago, Ted Fidge said:

It would not be beyond Eddie to make an offer like that, especially when his own legacy at CFC is coming under fire.

Nothing is probably beyond Collingwood to TRY, but there ARE things beyond its ability to DO !!^_^   ( we'll just start with beating us...:) )

Posted

Call it a hunch, but I suspect Goodwin, McCartney and perhaps even Jackson thought it would be better for Roos not to stay on at Melbourne and give Goodwin some clean air.

The players respect Roos, but I'm not sure they're overly fond of him, while it's clear they love "Goodie". 

Posted
13 minutes ago, ProDee said:

Call it a hunch, but I suspect Goodwin, McCartney and perhaps even Jackson thought it would be better for Roos not to stay on at Melbourne and give Goodwin some clean air.

The players respect Roos, but I'm not sure they're overly fond of him, while it's clear they love "Goodie". 

I strongly suspect you're right, and that it was a mutual decision that Roos was right behind as well. 

he's done a great job, now is the perfect time for him to move on.

Posted
7 minutes ago, Abe said:

I strongly suspect you're right, and that it was a mutual decision that Roos was right behind as well. 

he's done a great job, now is the perfect time for him to move on.

....and away...... Hawaii  is fine ;)

Posted
32 minutes ago, ProDee said:

This would make really good sense and sounds as though he, Roos, was more of a mentor, with Goodwin allowed to move among the players as a trusted conduit and friend. This is the way it should be, and would love to hear of anything relating to this during the off season.

Posted

Roos has come out and said that he'll never coach again as he'll be spending at least 3 months of every year travelling with his wife.

He won't be going to Collingwood.  Sauce - The HUN.

Posted (edited)
8 hours ago, beelzebub said:

....and away...... Hawaii  is fine ;)

Hell give me $4.5 mill and I will move there next week. Way more than fine with that loot bb.

Posted (edited)
9 hours ago, ProDee said:

I've never quite understood this sentiment. Roos was clearly a straight-shooter, who coupled this with years of footballing experience as a player and coach, commanded respect. Coaches who don't put noses out of joint are those that fail to make the tough decisions.

It's been mentioned before, but what happens when Goodwin is the man to make these tough calls? Can he make them, as well as maintain the relationships he's already cultivated? I'm a little wary whenever I hear the line about the players loving Goodwin.

Posted
16 minutes ago, A F said:

I've never quite understood this sentiment. Roos was clearly a straight-shooter, who coupled this with years of footballing experience as a player and coach, commanded respect. Coaches who don't put noses out of joint are those that fail to make the tough decisions.

It's been mentioned before, but what happens when Goodwin is the man to make these tough calls? Can he make them, as well as maintain the relationships he's already cultivated? I'm a little weary whenever I hear the line about the players loving Goodwin.

Forget weary. I’m dog tired.

Posted
17 minutes ago, Chook said:

Forget weary. I’m dog tired.

It's been a long day. Let's try wary.