Posted

So Gubby suggested the best way to avoid his girlfriend was to,

a/ Tell her the truth it is over.

b/ Tell a fib, I have to stay at the club.

c/ Say that you have taken drugs and have to go into hiding to avoid drug testing -which carries a 4 year disqualification - put it in writing then delete the evidence, if it turns pear shaped blame the woman.

So the answer is obvious. AYFI 

Posted

GWS have no imagination.

Here are some other excuses which worked well against another psychotic woman.

I ran out of gas.
I had a flat tire.
I didn't have enough money for cab fare.
My tux didn't come back from the cleaners.
An old friend came in from out of town.
Someone stole my car.
There was an earthquake.
A terrible flood.
Locusts!
IT WASN'T MY FAULT, I SWEAR TO GOD!

Posted
7 minutes ago, Ted Fidge said:

GWS have no imagination.

I ran out of gas.
I had a flat tire.
Someone stole my car.
There was an earthquake.
A terrible flood.
Locusts!

Blues Brothers gold :)

Posted
5 hours ago, Pinball Wizard said:

I just realised that any draft sanctions taken against GWS this year would hurt the Giants deeply because they are supposed to have about half a dozen highly thought of academy prospects awaiting selection. My guess therefore is that the AFL will not do anything about this that requires a final decision until after the draft. 

Giant Lachie Whitfield claims 'drug' texts a ruse as AFL anti-doping charges loom

"The damaging evidence could hold the key to the futures of the trio with the case now certain to drag on until December as the AFL and ASADA continue highly sensitive negotiations over the potential outcome."

Why am I not surprised?

Posted
4 minutes ago, Whispering_Jack said:

Giant Lachie Whitfield claims 'drug' texts a ruse as AFL anti-doping charges loom

"The damaging evidence could hold the key to the futures of the trio with the case now certain to drag on until December as the AFL and ASADA continue highly sensitive negotiations over the potential outcome."

Why am I not surprised?

Don't worry, the 11:30pm Christmas Eve press release will explain everything.

Posted
14 hours ago, SaberFang said:

Wait, they actually expect that concocted story to get them off these charges?

Why not? Worked brilliantly for Dustin Martin. The trick is to blame the woman, and then make sure it stays within the AFL.

One outcome of this matter you can bank on. The AFL will at some stage have to come out with a whole lot more public relations BS about how much they respect women.

Posted
47 minutes ago, Ted Fidge said:

GWS have no imagination.

I ran out of gas.
I had a flat tire.
Someone stole my car.
There was an earthquake.
A terrible flood.
Locusts!

Hmmm .... Gubby & Lambo as Jake & Elwood

Posted
On 10/21/2016 at 11:59 AM, Dr. Gonzo said:

Drugs taken on gameday are classed as PED's so a positive test on gameday IS the AFL's business.

Drugs taken out of competition are not PED's and are NOT the AFL's business.

except of course those drugs that are banned out f competition by WADA.

Posted
9 minutes ago, Chris said:

except of course those drugs that are banned out f competition by WADA.

And of course the offence here is not the taking of any drugs but is the "deliberate avoidance of a drug test"
Classic Watergate syndrome where the "cover up" far outweighs the original wrong (in this case the possible taking of a recreational drug which may or may not have been in breach of WADA rules).
Posted
1 hour ago, Ted Fidge said:

GWS have no imagination.

I ran out of gas.
I had a flat tire.
Someone stole my car.
There was an earthquake.
A terrible flood.
Locusts!

"Oh Jake...."

Posted
1 hour ago, Whispering_Jack said:

Why am I not surprised?

december which year, jack?

Posted
16 minutes ago, daisycutter said:

december which year, jack?

He is 22 now so give it 10 years and he should be due to retire so my guess is 2026. Of course it could be earlier if he happens to do an ACL where he could mysteriously end up with a 12 month ban to suit!

Posted
6 hours ago, Satyriconhome said:

Yes I do know how it works, the drug agencies sit on their hands waiting for a team mate, girlfriend, coach, disgruntled employee to dob in a 'drug cheat', then they come out all guns blazing showing what a good job they are doing.....yeah right....my opinion

Your initial post clearly showed you do NOT understand how these things work. How is a drug agency supposed to know if a player is hiding from them to avoid a test they haven't even planned because he took drugs and feared they may be laced with PED's?

Too many cheerleaders willing to forgive cheats and misdirect their anger at those who penalised them. A lot of people need to grow up and realise their footy heroes aren't infallible.

Posted

I feel so sorry for Whitfield, just as I do those Collingwood players. 

I hope there's someway for this to get sorted without him copping a lengthy ban when we don't even know if he took anything performance enhancing and had absolutely no intention to take anything performance enhancing. He took unverified substances and panicked.  

Not as much empathy for the former GWS officials.

Posted
1 minute ago, DeeSpencer said:

I hope there's someway for this to get sorted without him copping a lengthy ban when we don't even know if he took anything performance enhancing and had absolutely no intention to take anything performance enhancing. He took unverified substances and panicked.  

He also took "good" advice and co-operated. Sound familiar....

Posted
2 minutes ago, DeeSpencer said:

Oh, the poor little darling, he had heaps of training on the matter, had the rules explained to him many times, and the consequences, yet it appears he still went against them. How he must be suffering. 

Posted
10 minutes ago, DeeSpencer said:

I could possibly share your sympathy if he took responsibility for his actions and didn't try to, once again, run away from them.  First he ran to Gub, then to Lambert, then to migraine, then to crazy girlfriend.

Posted
19 minutes ago, Chris said:

Oh, the poor little darling, he had heaps of training on the matter, had the rules explained to him many times, and the consequences, yet it appears he still went against them. How he must be suffering. 

I don't believe that being an athlete means you should give up your rights to make silly decisions such as taking illicit drugs like so many of the population have done foolishly. Sure there's consequences but the potential 2 or 4 year bans don't fit the crime. 

If it were a Melbourne player would anywhere here want such a serious ban for a player who took illicit drugs and then tried to cover it on the very small chance they were caught with some trace amount of PED?

Bearing in mind that I'm very confident that most if not all of the players on Melbourne's list have tried some form of illicit drug at some stage.

Posted
4 minutes ago, DeeSpencer said:

I don't believe that being an athlete means you should give up your rights to make silly decisions such as taking illicit drugs like so many of the population have done foolishly. Sure there's consequences but the potential 2 or 4 year bans don't fit the crime. 

If it were a Melbourne player would anywhere here want such a serious ban for a player who took illicit drugs and then tried to cover it on the very small chance they were caught with some trace amount of PED?

Bearing in mind that I'm very confident that most if not all of the players on Melbourne's list have tried some form of illicit drug at some stage.

Yes I would want a full ban for them. It is really very very simple. To be a professional athlete you need to make sacrifices in all areas of your life. This is one area where the consequences are so clear it isn't funny. It really isn't hard to follow the code or to say no to drugs.

Zero sympathy here. 

Posted
Just now, Chris said:

Yes I would want a full ban for them. It is really very very simple. To be a professional athlete you need to make sacrifices in all areas of your life. This is one area where the consequences are so clear it isn't funny. It really isn't hard to follow the code or to say no to drugs.

Zero sympathy here. 

It is hard to say no to drugs. 

Half of Australia has an alcohol problem. 

A huge percentage of young Australians have tried some form of illicit drug. 

It's easy to say there should be zero tolerance and to make sacrifices but it just isn't going to happen in reality. So when people do slip up I'd rather them not be banned for long periods. That's the basis of the AFL's illicit drug policy that despite the negative press has actually prevented any further players slipping in to Ben Cousin's style trouble.

Posted
7 minutes ago, DeeSpencer said:

It's easy to say there should be zero tolerance and to make sacrifices but it just isn't going to happen in reality. So when people do slip up I'd rather them not be banned for long periods. That's the basis of the AFL's illicit drug policy that despite the negative press has actually prevented any further players slipping in to Ben Cousin's style trouble.

If you can't say no to drugs then you simply are not taking your sport seriously enough and in my view should be delisted anyway. It really isn't hard to say no, especially when you dreams and livelihood are on the line. 

The AFL, both clubs and as a whole has so far to go on this issue it isn't even funny.

Posted
7 minutes ago, DeeSpencer said:

Very good points Dee Spencer

In the case of Whitfield we probably have one of those situations where because of ignorance and stupidity he did the wrong thing. While youth is some excuse for him it does not extend to the club officials. Moreover if the "girlfriend was harassing me story" is proven to be wrong all sympathy goes out the window.

If you want a real miscarriage look at the Ahmed Saad case and the sports drink which was fine all week but not on match day. If he got 18 months and ASADA then appealed asking for 2 years what is appropriate for Whitfield?

Posted
53 minutes ago, DeeSpencer said:

I don't...

These kids have education programs from a young age to tell them the dangers.

If he didn't listen then he should have learned from the Collingwood players that there is an inherent danger.

...and if all else fails he could have learned something from the EFC experience.

...and don't give me the everyone does it routine, everyone is not getting the amount of money these kids get.

As you should know, you don't get a big pay day without sacrificing in other areas.

Rub him Allen and Lambert out for 4 years, then some might get the message.