Posted
5 minutes ago, Clint Bizkit said:

Was in 2005 that we made the finals but only just limped in and got flogged by Geelong in the first week?

I feel like if we were to make the finals this year it would be on the back of excellent form, like a runner peaking at the right time and we could do quite a bit of damage.

Agreed.  If we make the finals, our form line will say WWWWW.  I know a few have said here that they've no interest in us making up numbers in the finals, but we'd be the form team of the comp if we got that far.  I definitely think we'd threaten.

I commented in the post match thread how it seems that our young players who should be tiring, seem to be just getting going, and it's made the team look significantly stronger. Boy is it an exciting time to be a Melbourne supporter!

Posted
8 minutes ago, Clint Bizkit said:

Was in 2005 that we made the finals but only just limped in and got flogged by Geelong in the first week?

I feel like if we were to make the finals this year it would be on the back of excellent form, like a runner peaking at the right time and we could do quite a bit of damage.

Yes it was 205. That game was the one in which Jeff White got his jaw broken from a kick in the face in a ruck contest.

Posted
4 minutes ago, Red and Bluebeard said:

Yes it was 205. That game was the one in which Jeff White got his jaw broken from a kick in the face in a ruck contest.

King escaped suspension, you could hear the crack from the other side of the ground.

Posted

Playing 0 or 1 finals game. I know what I would prefer.

Posted
15 minutes ago, Clint Bizkit said:

King escaped suspension, you could hear the crack from the other side of the ground.

Still vividly remember hearing it from the grandstand end up on the fourth level.

Was sickening.

Posted
26 minutes ago, Clint Bizkit said:

I was 15 rows back in the members, right in front of it. Was disgusting.

Posted
35 minutes ago, stevethemanjordan said:

Still vividly remember hearing it from the grandstand end up on the fourth level.

Was sickening.

Same here. Horrible. And horrible umpiring and MRP

Posted

To give the guys a taste of finals this year would be amazing for next year.. Would probably set them up to aim for top 4, not just a spot in the 8..

I have a strong feeling that we might win our 2 games, but that North may sneak a win in the final round.. They have a few good players coming back from all reports and were good in the last half on the weekend..

For what it is worth, Geelong are pretenders and winning against Richmond was not an achievement as that last qrt was as insipid performance from their leaders as I have ever seen. Richmond are bottom 4 material.

Posted

I haven't been this excited for games in years. I just hope they feel what we feel and that they WANT to make it just as bad as we want them too. I think we will beat Carlton but I just can't see us beating Geelong. I said that about Hawthorn though.
Here's hoping we can do it and north can't.
Good times ahead!

Posted (edited)
1 hour ago, Nasher said:

Interesting fact: at no stage this year have we finished a round in any position on the ladder other than 9th, 10th, or 11th.  Not sure how often it happens that a team just stakes out a spot dead in the middle of the table in the first round and stays there for the whole season.  We're currently 9th and the lowest we can finish is 11th, so it's likely to stay that way. 

I wouldn't say no to breaking that streak in round 23 though ;)

i thought we were in 8th after round 1 this year??

*edit.   nope my  mistake, for some reason i assumed coz we won in the first round we were in the top 8...sorry.

Edited by red and blue forever
stupidity...

Posted

Any news on the Harvey suspension?

I didnt see the incident

Will he be rubbed Out? 

Posted (edited)
1 hour ago, Nasher said:

Boy is it an exciting time to be a Melbourne supporter!

Was just thinking yesterday, footy is actually exciting again. Not just enjoyable but actually exciting.

Peter Jackson and Paul Roos (as well as the support cast of coaches/recruiters) cannot be thanked enough.

Posted
1 minute ago, Dr. Gonzo said:

Was just thinking yesterday, footy is actually exciting again. Not just enjoyable but actually exciting.

Peter Jackson and Paul Roos (as well as the support cast of coaches/recruiters) cannot be thanked enough.

While I still dont think we can make it if through alot of luck we did... I would love Jackson to come out and calmly say "See we told you, finals 2016, all part of the plan"

Posted
On 8/14/2016 at 6:57 AM, Ricky P said:

I couldn't care less about losing to Essendon.

To be absolutely brutal, I couldn't care less about 87.

Its about time this club created some new history.

#deesfinals2016

Nicely said RickyP!

Posted
31 minutes ago, armstrong35 said:

I haven't been this excited for games in years. I just hope they feel what we feel and that they WANT to make it just as bad as we want them too. I think we will beat Carlton but I just can't see us beating Geelong. I said that about Hawthorn though.
Here's hoping we can do it and north can't.
Good times ahead!

I think we're more likely to lose to Carlton but beat Geelong. Have been telling my Carlton mate all year that they'll beat us despite having one of the worst lists in the comp.

He was telling me how he doesn't rate us and that we'll lose players at the end of this year again. It wasn't even worth telling him that we hadn't lost any players we didn't want to lose to improve our list. But I did happen to mention to the idiot that all our players had re-signed.

Posted
58 minutes ago, SPC said:

To give the guys a taste of finals this year would be amazing for next year.. Would probably set them up to aim for top 4, not just a spot in the 8..

I have a strong feeling that we might win our 2 games, but that North may sneak a win in the final round.. They have a few good players coming back from all reports and were good in the last half on the weekend..

For what it is worth, Geelong are pretenders and winning against Richmond was not an achievement as that last qrt was as insipid performance from their leaders as I have ever seen. Richmond are bottom 4 material.

Agreed. Went to the game and Richmond just gave up. If Geelong play like that against us we will make finals.

Posted
3 hours ago, jackaub said:

11 to 1 on sportsbet

so happy to have $100 at 101 on Saturday morning

So we need to beat Carlton by 10 goals and beat Geelong. North have Sydney and GWS

Dare to dream

in to $9 now on Sportsbet.  Happy with my $100 at 101 from Sat morning too!  I think Carlton by 40 points and North losing to the Swans by 20-30 is a realistic outcome.  That eliminates the net points for / points against deficit and puts the focus on the round 23 outright results (more or less).  I'm feeling a keen sense of 1987 deja vu!

Posted
3 hours ago, Clint Bizkit said:

Disgrace. "Jeff White's head got in the way" Bomba Thompson....

Posted
1 hour ago, AdamFphlebeb said:

I think we're more likely to lose to Carlton but beat Geelong. Have been telling my Carlton mate all year that they'll beat us despite having one of the worst lists in the comp.

I don't reckon.  Every loss to crud teams we've had this year, namely Essendon and St Kilda x2, they had a different feeling about them.  

That nervous feeling in the pit of my stomach when coming up to teams we *should* beat is absent this time around.  I bet the players are feeling the same surge of confidence (not complacency) that I am.  We are going to crush them, mark my words.

Posted
28 minutes ago, Nasher said:

I don't reckon.  Every loss to crud teams we've had this year, namely Essendon and St Kilda x2, they had a different feeling about them.  

That nervous feeling in the pit of my stomach when coming up to teams we *should* beat is absent this time around.  I bet the players are feeling the same surge of confidence (not complacency) that I am.  We are going to crush them, mark my words.

Couldn't agree more. I'll happily stand with egg on my face if wrong. I just don't think I will be. Just hope the last round doesn't become tactical and GWS allow North through to avoid a rampaging Demons. Maybe they'd be more worried about a top 4 spot. Anyway, go Dees!

Posted
2 minutes ago, Clint Bizkit said:

If we can keep Dangerfield quiet then we will have a great chance against Geelong, I really don't rate them much at all as a team.

Bernard....

Posted
2 hours ago, jackaub said:

Any news on the Harvey suspension?

I didnt see the incident

Will he be rubbed Out? 

yeah it was a late strike to the head. soft sniping effort.  he'll miss a week or maybe 2

Posted
16 minutes ago, DubDee said:

yeah it was a late strike to the head. soft sniping effort.  he'll miss a week or maybe 2

But he hit that sniper Mitchell, so perhaps that will reduce the penalty?

Posted (edited)

The only question for me is how will our players respond to the bye after Round 23!!!

There's something we didn't think we'd have to discuss.

Edited by Allus Monk