Posted
6 minutes ago, Wiseblood said:

Just looked at the Saints backline - who do they play on Hogan? Dempster? Roberton? If we get it down there enough the big fella should have a day out. He should monster those guys. 

He did last time and it still didn't matter.

Posted (edited)

Felt Wagner might have been on the sheet to late-replace OMac. But the latter stays in. Fairly remarkable recovery from that nasty hyper(?)extension of the inside of his ankle!

Ah, Youth!

Edited by Timothy Reddan-A'Blew
(Moved over from "Changes" thread)

Posted
2 hours ago, stuie said:

I think Roos is a pretty straight shooter. He wouldn't go naming individual players, but he would say flat out if the effort wasn't good enough etc.

Roos is practically a politician when it comes to talking to the media. 

Posted

Just heard on Foxtel's AFL Today that Bernie Vince is suffering from a sore shin and is no certainty to play tomorrow...would this mean Stretch gets a reprieve or would Bugg or Wagner get the nod?

Posted
59 minutes ago, hardtack said:

Just heard on Foxtel's AFL Today that Bernie Vince is suffering from a sore shin and is no certainty to play tomorrow...would this mean Stretch gets a reprieve or would Bugg or Wagner get the nod?

If he doesn't come up my guess would be Bugg as could play either as another runner or a defensive lock down role.

Posted
Just now, rjay said:

He did last time and it still didn't matter.

I know.  I was just making a comment about their back line and what Hogan can do to it if given the chance.

Posted
3 hours ago, boydie said:

If he doesn't come up my guess would be Bugg as could play either as another runner or a defensive lock down role.

That would be my pick as well. 

Posted
39 minutes ago, tappysquads said:

My mate plays for Saints. Said the plan during the week is Gilbert to Hogan, Dempster to Watts. Might have to slap some $$$ on Hoges for most goals

Lol that's pretty ridiculous if your mate is going around telling his mates match ups for the weekend.

Posted
7 hours ago, Timothy Reddan-A'Blew said:

Felt Wagner might have been on the sheet to late-replace OMac. But the latter stays in. Fairly remarkable recovery from that nasty hyper(?)extension of the inside of his ankle!

Ah, Youth!

Would've liked Wagner in but he must still be underdone. Hopefully he's got a thick skin because I'd hate to think what oppo players will say to get under his skin after the week his brother's had (thanks Herald Sun, you classless flogs).

Posted
7 minutes ago, Deemented Are Go! said:

Right. Tomorrow is now a non-negotiable MUST win. 

unfortunately Saints fans could well say the same given North's loss.

Posted
7 minutes ago, Deemented Are Go! said:

Right. Tomorrow is now a non-negotiable MUST win. 

Yes t is.  A win and we are just 2 games from 8th spot and with a similar % as North

Posted
2 minutes ago, sue said:

unfortunately Saints fans could well say the same given North's loss.

Yep, unfortunately you only have to compare draws to see that the Saints have an enviable run home.

That said, everyone raved about their finals prospects after they defeated Geelong, which they followed up with a loss to Gold Coast. Nothing's set in stone with young teams (very much including us).

Posted
8 hours ago, Wiseblood said:

Just looked at the Saints backline - who do they play on Hogan? Dempster? Roberton? If we get it down there enough the big fella should have a day out. He should monster those guys. 

So you're arguing that the Saints have made a selection mistake that might cost them the game? :) 

Posted (edited)
Just now, Akum said:

So you're arguing that the Saints have made a selection mistake that might cost them the game? :) 

I am, but don't tell them about it...

Edited by Wiseblood
Posted
10 minutes ago, Wiseblood said:

I am, but don't tell them about it...

Ok, that's a deal.

Posted

The stakes have been upped with Port rolling North today.  You'd think Port and ourselves would be keeping a close eye on that 8th spot with North having fallen away so badly (how good has it been?).  Need to win now to a) win one of our remaining "very winnable" games, b) stay in touch with Port and c) put one of the other teams in the same wins range as us a game behind.  

Simply must win this one.

Posted
6 minutes ago, Nasher said:

The stakes have been upped with Port rolling North today.  You'd think Port and ourselves would be keeping a close eye on that 8th spot with North having fallen away so badly (how good has it been?).  Need to win now to a) win one of our remaining "very winnable" games, b) stay in touch with Port and c) put one of the other teams in the same wins range as us a game behind.  

Simply must win this one.

Exactly, we've had a lot of "most important" games so far this year but tomorrow's trumps them all.

Posted
2 hours ago, AdamFphlebeb said:

Lol that's pretty ridiculous if your mate is going around telling his mates match ups for the weekend.

not really. He hates footy, really doesn't care. It's just a job.  Plus I'm sure the saints couldn't care less about someone mentioning a rumour on a Melbourne fan forum

Posted
7 minutes ago, tappysquads said:

not really. He hates footy, really doesn't care. It's just a job.  Plus I'm sure the saints couldn't care less about someone mentioning a rumour on a Melbourne fan forum

He doesn't sound long for the game if you ask me. 

Posted
16 minutes ago, Wells 11 said:

He doesn't sound long for the game if you ask me. 

His contract tells a different storey. He's a good player, so he will play as long as he wants, would just rather play local football with his mates away from the pressure

Posted (edited)
On 7/15/2016 at 8:07 PM, Petraccattack said:

Think people are underestimating Angus Brayshaws leg speed.   He not even close to being slow.

I disagree he is not slow but he aint quick! I am totally bemused? Outside speed killed us last time vs the Aints , plus our very dubious "Zone" bulltish! so what do we do ?? Drop a bloke ( Stretch) who has been playing well who HAS speed and bring in an underdone Angus. 

If you wanted another mid then surely Clarrie Chho Choo would have been ahead in selection stakes.

The other one is O Mac. He is not quick at all and with ankle injury will be exposed , (Yet again)  tommorrow! Reiwoldt to Towel up T Mac, Im tipping Saints by 5 goals, selection, again has killed us!

Posted

North's slide means that we have something real to aim for in the last 7 games.

We have to aim for that finals spot which means we have to win tomorrow. Doubly important given St Kilda is in the same boat as us and has the easier draw than us.

Also, I hate St Kilda and I hate losing to St Kilda. So there's that, too.