The Jesse Hogan Panic Room - all contract talk here

I reckon the club would have asked Jesse what his plans were so we could consider our options come trade week, if he was definitely going to leave we could at least get full return for him on the trade table, but it sounds as though the response was very positive.

50 minutes ago, Ricky P said:

Really?

Someone on here said that Bartlett told them we weren't trading Hogan.

That was Karl Langdon

7 minutes ago, Dr. Gonzo said:

That was Karl Langdon

That's right. So this 'understanding' that the journo is referring to is based on the word of a bloke who in the past insisted hogan was going to Freo.

Im sure he'll stay but there's nothing in this article that we didn't already know.

They are nothing quotes to the media. Lots of words with little substance.

At this stage he is still a Demon

3 hours ago, dazzledavey36 said:

If Jesse is a crow supporter then surely the chance to play under one the crows greatest ever players in Goodwin for a couple of years is a enticing prospect?

Lets wring our hands at the thought of every other team trying to poach him while we're at it!

Good news that the press are all talking about him staying.  I know it doesn't mean heaps until he signs but its a lot better than everyone writing that he is gone. 

a 3 year deal at the end of the season would be awesome.

32 minutes ago, DubDee said:

Good news that the press are all talking about him staying.  I know it doesn't mean heaps until he signs but its a lot better than everyone writing that he is gone. 

a 3 year deal at the end of the season would be awesome.

So it's bad news when they talk about him leaving ?

There's never been any strong evidence he'd go.  

Just now, ProDee said:

So it's bad news when they talk about him leaving ?

There's never been any strong evidence he'd go.  

if they were talking about it being likely he'd go rather than likely he'd stay, yeah it would be a bad sign

Just now, DubDee said:

if they were talking about it being likely he'd go rather than likely he'd stay, yeah it would be a bad sign

They're wrong more often than right.

You must have been slitting your wrist when Langdon said recently that his mail was that Hogan was definitely returning to WA.

Mark Robinson said Dayne Beams was staying at Collingwood and that you could "take it to the bank".  Naturally enough he left.

I take no notice of them until late in the year when genuine talk is starting to come out.

Please yourself, of course.

1 hour ago, chook fowler said:

I'm not worried about Hogan any more because we've always got Dawes.

we could have 4 super fast cumbers surrounding Dawesy in a 360 degree formation ready for any mark that may be spilt.

I call it the diamond offence!

2 hours ago, chook fowler said:

I'm not worried about Hogan any more because we've always got Dawes.

I don't think Dawes has ever shown the talent that Hogan has and with Dawes is now in his late 20s while Hogan is in his his early 20s, I don't think we can rely on Dawes to cover the loss of Hogan.

56 minutes ago, ProDee said:

They're wrong more often than right.

You must have been slitting your wrist when Langdon said recently that his mail was that Hogan was definitely returning to WA.

Mark Robinson said Dayne Beams was staying at Collingwood and that you could "take it to the bank".  Naturally enough he left.

I take no notice of them until late in the year when genuine talk is starting to come out.

Please yourself, of course.

you must have been shocked when Scully made his dramatic move to GWS!

yeah i listen to the stories and if they are all heading one way, I take that on board to a certain degree

22 minutes ago, Fifty-5 said:

I don't think Dawes has ever shown the talent that Hogan has and with Dawes is now in his late 20s while Hogan is in his his early 20s, I don't think we can rely on Dawes to cover the loss of Hogan.

It was a joke.

1 hour ago, Fifty-5 said:

2060593-851ac22e_d61912a9_cant-tell-if-s

3 hours ago, Ricky P said:

That's right. So this 'understanding' that the journo is referring to is based on the word of a bloke who in the past insisted hogan was going to Freo.

Im sure he'll stay but there's nothing in this article that we didn't already know.

The information was passed on from Langdon who said he'd spoken to Bartlett the night prior at a function. 

On Wednesday, July 20, 2016 at 6:36 PM, Wiseblood said:

He is.  He seems to be the king of the 'we lost on the weekend so the world is caving in' outlook this week.

I have felt that Jesse is not worth the attention monetarily and skills wise for many weeks. Whether it be the injury or form or age...my guts tell me he is not the standard we should uphold as being a path to success  (with regards to the role he currently fills(Its not the shortcomings but how he may (not) addresses them. He will mature and become an important player for a team...but is it our team?...we lack inforcers...I have been thinking of brisbane in the early 2000s and lauding the scott bros toughness...forwards are only as good as their servants...? Not a criticism of you or others who have diferent ideas; I wish to contribute however misguided.

12 hours ago, Tessaract said:

I have felt that Jesse is not worth the attention monetarily and skills wise for many weeks. Whether it be the injury or form or age...my guts tell me he is not the standard we should uphold as being a path to success  (with regards to the role he currently fills(Its not the shortcomings but how he may (not) addresses them. He will mature and become an important player for a team...but is it our team?...we lack inforcers...I have been thinking of brisbane in the early 2000s and lauding the scott bros toughness...forwards are only as good as their servants...? Not a criticism of you or others who have diferent ideas; I wish to contribute however misguided.

9 minutes ago, pitchfork said:

I think he might be....

13 hours ago, Tessaract said:

I'll make an effort to play the ball here... all your opinions above are crap.

1 hour ago, stuie said:

I think he might be....

'Can't take contested marks'?

Wow lol

I reckon there's a 99.9999% chance Hogan will be at Melbourne next year, even if he requests a trade to Freo in Sep/Oct this year.

Freo will offer us peanuts, say for example a first round draft pick and a 'has been' like a Clancee Pearce, Matt De Boar or Mzungu..which we'd laugh at. Meanwhile we'd ask for a first rounder as well as a future first rounder and a young prospect like Blakely or Weller...which Freo would laugh at. A mega 4 or 5 club deal would have to take place to get it over the line. We hold the cards this year.

Next year we don't have any power at the table.

The absolute dream result would be that he re-signs for a further 4 years which would take him to free agency (in its current form).

If he requests a trade he will leave this year. Freo should do better next year and won't have a top 5 pick.

Reckon he signs on till he is a FA, then probably goes.