SANDRINGHAM v CASEY SCORPIONS

Thank you all for the up date and flow of information. It makes for good reading over breakfast.

With regard to  Brayshaw, the club need to be ultra conservative. This kid has great skills and had one of the best first seasons in

have seen in a long time. He has had a series of head knocks over a short period of time and needs to take the time to fully recover to ensure that he has minimal chance of problems in the future. We do not need him in the next 6 to 8 weeks so get him away from any contact training or playing and get him working on longer term fitness and keep the skills,work up to him. After that get him back into playing with a view to building him up to play last block of 4 or 5 games for the season. Set him up for what I would hope to be a 10 year career. 

On 14/05/2016 at 05:51, Satyriconhome said:

We don't need Hogan, he is going to stop the boats by standing on the beach at Fremantle with his hand up in a threatening manner

(I was going to use the Canute reference, but thought it might be wasted, history to young people these days, means something you wipe off your browser to make sure Mum doesn't see the websites you're trawling)

Besides which the Chinese building boom saved this country in the GFC, a drovers dog could have managed it

So why was Wayne Swan awarded the World's Best Treasurer by Euromoney then? http://www.theaustralian.com.au/national-affairs/wayne-swan-named-worlds-best-treasurer-by-euromoney-magazine/story-fn59niix-1226142190437 Well done. The fallacy that Labor can't manage money continues. Those calling themselves fiscally responsible adults have put us into even more debt. The inferior copper NBN lite is a perfect example and will cost the tax payer billions and billions of dollars.

On 14/05/2016 at 05:43, big_red_fire_engine said:

half time stats from MFC twitter feed

Disposals: Neal-Bullen 21, Trengove 18, Dunn 14, O. McDonald 12, Newton 12

Goals: Munro, T. Smith 2, Hulett, Morris, Neal-Bullen, Pattison, Spencer, Trengove

Love that ANB is smashing it. And it's fantastic that Trenners can get through a solid block of dominating at VFL level and gain confidence in his body at the lower level. Looking forward to his eventual return. And I note a goal from big Jake Spencer. Excellent.

• Author
  On 14/05/2016 at 07:00, Return to Glory said:

How'd Trengove play anyone? Please.

Did really well again and was a bit unlucky not to get in the official best player list. He finished with 26 disposals and kicked a goal. Appeared to be comfortable with his foot and I remarked earlier somewhere that he wasn't far away.

Im not assuming that it is concussion for Bradshaw.    I didnt see him on the field today at all, first time i noticed him he was on the bench at qtr time.  If he did recieve a head knock it must have occurered very early or it was related to the last one.

Enjoyed going back to TBO today brought back good memories.  Good performance from the boys today, ANB was dynamic in close.

On 14/05/2016 at 08:33, Melon22 said:

Im not assuming that it is concussion for Bradshaw.    I didnt see him on the field today at all, first time i noticed him he was on the bench at qtr time.  If he did recieve a head knock it must have occurered very early or it was related to the last one.

Enjoyed going back to TBO today brought back good memories.  Good performance from the boys today, ANB was dynamic in close.

He was hit at the opening clearance. Really sad for him. 

On a more positive note Hulett looks a ripper to me. 

I'm interested in how Dawes went, did he run out the game and also start holding some marks? I think we could use him in a hit up marking link if he's leading and marking well.

On 14/05/2016 at 08:47, scarlett said:

I'm interested in how Dawes went, did he run out the game and also start holding some marks? I think we could use him in a hit up marking link if he's leading and marking well.

Yes. Took some good marks and ran out the game well. 

Panozza was a good bloke and experienced but was also too light and undersized for full back. His left foot disposal was ok but Ingerson-like.

His departing gives O.mcd further development and Hutchins is a quality VFL player (Hutchins may get a second chance if his form continues).

dawes did well ,noticed he hurt his hand or wrist early first qt but went on marked well for the rest of the game,so he should at that level of footy ,he is an afl player and will be back in our team

On 14/05/2016 at 09:44, spirit of norm smith said:

agreed. 3 week break and then the helmut. He is a great kid and very important part of MFC future. He need him cherry ripe.

I think they need to look at 'how' he's getting all these knocks and see if there's an aspect to his game he might be able to alter.

A helmet will hardly do anything to stop concussions.

On 14/05/2016 at 09:51, McQueen said:

I think they need to look at 'how' he's getting all these knocks and see if there's an aspect to his game he might be able to alter.

A helmet will hardly do anything to stop concussions.

I have a faint recollection they had to do the same with Viney? Anyone remember anything like that?

Just started reading the posts. Great results and twenty extra scoring shots augurs well for next week against the Box Hill Hawks.

First game  to see Casey for some time. Was always so convenient when played at Sandy. Far from a reliable report but a few comments. 

Wind made marking for talls difficult. It was hard to judge flight. I thought Oscar improved as the game went on as he began judging the flight better. 

Spencer far from fit, struggled to be the brute he can be as the game went on. 

Trengove is a class act and will definitely make it in time. 

I went to see Weideman, but as I say it was hard for talls. With the wind the goals just sailed over everyone's head from outside fifty. Spencer kicked a beauty from at least 60 out close to boundary just before half time. It meant often the person well at the back of the packwas in the best position. The opposite direction a player intending to scout found it dropping on him. The Weeds few chances showed a couple of great skills. A really sharp left foot snap had guys around me arguing if he was a left or right foot. We soon learnt with a beautifully graceful right footer strait through the middle from about 30 out with wind. You can't help but love his kicking style. A couple of really smart handballs for goals. Yes he needs more body but he's got the start of it. Patience. 

I also wanted to see Hulet as the saints were very keen to draft this long time Saints fan, Sandy dragons player,  but we beat them to him. Body wise yes Jack Darling is the model and for a 18/19 year old he looks closer to a 26 year old as if having been around the system for a number of years. What I loved was the variety of smart things he did. In a one on one situation he outsmarted his opponent with a half volley pick up and began running toward goals - into wind- to risky to shoot, but if you can get my point a very smart look away kick - whatever that might be chipped beautifully to a team mate. To me he's got a footy brain. A lovely leading mark in last quarter. A thirty metre kick was just carried by wind to wrong side of post but I thought there was enough in it to be encouraged. The third incident was a very sharp right check side dribble as he ran toward left point post and perhaps a metre or 2 or 3 out dribbled it through. I know he has a reputation for his marking but I've gone away believing there's an awful lot more to this bloke. I think he will play before the weed due to body build and the confidence it will bring him. 

ANB, great inside hands. Must get a game soon.

Dawsy very dedicated and actually held some good marks. One in a pack, although probably helped by the ball drop due to wind. 

My assessment of Angus is that he has such a good mind he actually reads the play even in scrimmages/centre bounces quicker than others or knows how to read it quicker so is first in with head down, but that leaves him the most vulnerable. Might be better to start him on a wing for a time then let him run as a mid without the initial risk.  

Joel Smith was of interest and really couldn't track him for he's just to unfamiliar but a few times was impressed with a persons athletic play and when checking the record numbers discovered it was him. Long long term but who knows. The mark of this century. Shaun was there so I asked him how he thought he was tracking and dad was happy. 

Great afternoon with lots of demons and coaches there. Spoke to Bernie Vince and told him Crows would have won if they still had him to smother Dangerfield.

Observations:

• ANB in everything
  • Hulett is exciting
  • Brayshaw unlucky
  • Sandy scoreboard only has one number 5

On 14/05/2016 at 08:42, Baghdad Bob said:

He was hit at the opening clearance. Really sad for him. 

On a more positive note Hulett looks a ripper to me. 

That's twice he has been concussed in the opening of a game. The third time he barely lasted a quarter when a ball was kicked into the back of his head. Unbelievable luck.

I hope they give him a month off.

On 14/05/2016 at 11:42, Redleg said:

That's twice he has been concussed in the opening of a game. The third time he barely lasted a quarter when a ball was kicked into the back of his head. Unbelievable luck.

It was the first bounce of the first NAB Cup match where he hurt his knee, too.  No good!

Wow where did all this depth come from?  18 months ago we had the thinnest list in the AFL by  a mile now we are spoilt with riches

ANB is a gun, Benny Newton is back and on fire, Trenners is ready, Dawes sliding in nicely, Weed will be a star

Next debutante will be Hulett I reckon. Worried about Angus.

Go Scorps

On 14/05/2016 at 11:42, Redleg said:

Angus is an important cog in our foreseeable future and must be treated with kid gloves.

On 14/05/2016 at 12:24, Petraccattack said:

Wow where did all this depth come from?  18 months ago we had the thinnest list in the AFL by  a mile now we are spoilt with riches

Players out of the side (who've played an AFL) game: Brayshaw, Dawes, Dunn, Frost, Grimes, M Jones, Lumumba, OMac, ANB, Newton, Trengove, AVB, Spencer, JKH, Terlich, White.

Not bad (and doesn't include the yet-to-debut players or Melksham).

On 14/05/2016 at 12:24, Petraccattack said:

ANB is a gun, Benny Newton is back and on fire, Trenners is ready, Dawes sliding in nicely, Weed will be a star

Next debutante will be Hulett I reckon. Worried about Angus.

Go Scorps

The flag is up for grabs this year, much like 1990 and there are a few sides that can grab it, we may be one. Depth and player management will be vital and if we have the depth that we claim to have, we can rest players during the year and allow the younger players a week off here and there. 

I thnk the Cats are the team to beat this year, they have topped up and will win most if not all games they play at home and that's a good start. North are pretenders in my opinion. 

On 14/05/2016 at 06:47, Redleg said:

We are on the road to being a successful club on field, being a destination club, successful financially and re earning the respect of the AFL football community. 

It so heartening for all the long suffering loyal fans. 

Here .Here....we have waited a long time.....

thank God for the Jackson /Roos team...whom have set the whole thing up in conjunction with Mahoney.

On 14/05/2016 at 12:35, titan_uranus said:

Players out of the side (who've played an AFL) game: Brayshaw, Dawes, Dunn, Frost, Grimes, M Jones, Lumumba, OMac, ANB, Newton, Trengove, AVB, Spencer, JKH, Terlich, White.

Not bad (and doesn't include the yet-to-debut players or Melksham).

Great depth at long last, need a couple of tall backs and we will be right up there at the top IMO.