Posted
18 hours ago, picket fence said:

A good In, Good King? Struggled to make any impact in the preseason games! 

Surely, he is not ready??

If he is ready then Weeds and Petracca should have played, so too Trengove!!

He has played more senior footy than those guys. He is a mature footballer, as opposed to the other guys who are just starting out. Petracca has missed a year of football, Trengove 2 years of football. Weideman is still an inexperienced kid, I am sure he will get his chance eventually. Wagner is a good inclusion into our side.

Posted (edited)

Dumbfounded!!!! Can someone explain to me how Wagner gets a game on some very ordinary Casey Form??

Not too mention his preseasion form! I saw him out at Craigeburn and thought, gee needs a good year at Casey!!

Posted
1 minute ago, KingDingAling said:

He has played more senior footy than those guys. He is a mature footballer, as opposed to the other guys who are just starting out. Petracca has missed a year of football, Trengove 2 years of football. Weideman is still an inexperienced kid, I am sure he will get his chance eventually. Wagner is a good inclusion into our side.

Senior Footy???? which other Senior AFL club has he played for??

Posted

I think ANB has only had one full practice game under his belt and that was last week.

Given Roos thinks we made a mistake with Brayshaw I guess he didn't want to repeat it.

Posted
On 4/7/2016 at 8:23 PM, picket fence said:

Dumbfounded!!!! Can someone explain to me how Wagner gets a game on some very ordinary Casey Form??

Not too mention his preseasion form! I saw him out at Craigeburn and thought, gee needs a good year at Casey!!

Coaches must think he's going alright.

Posted

Sadly Garland although in leadership group continues to disappoint on game day. He has hardly been starved of opportunities !

Our group has mindset issues, and lacks leadership when it counts.  Tommy Mac needs to play a blinder or he will find himself in the same situation. As for Kent, he also needs to find the pill more often.

I hate games against norf, Harvey always rains on our parade and rubs it in our noses.  Hope coaches have the nouse to do something about him this week.

Posted
17 minutes ago, stevethemanjordan said:

Whether it's Wiseblood, Saty or any other Garland 'defender', you just somehow refuse to see the bigger picture.... Always.

Maybe now would be the time that you should all sit down together and actually watch his NAB cup games and both rounds 1 and 2 of this year. Look at his outout in all facets of the game in all games vs that of any player in our side.

Thank fark the coaches have finally made the call.

I admitted on the previous page that I can't really argue him being dropped.  Let's see if others can do better, though.

I bet you pulled the ol' pud when you saw that he was dropped.

Posted
1 minute ago, Peter Griffen said:

Coaches must think he's going alright.

Yeah well Coaches thought selection last week was just "Ginger Peach"

Posted

I just hope after the match when we have lost that we don't hear "we made mistakes at the selection table" again. 

Posted
22 minutes ago, Petraccattack said:

ANB not being named in the 25 is baffling

He wasn't even given a game in nab challenge without any mention of him being injured. Something strange here. He didn't put a foot wrong when played last year

Posted (edited)

We are in desperate need of another quality tall forward to offer a chop out and 2nd avenue to goal other than Hoges. Take the heat off him also. Too much focus on him atm and the way we bomb it in to the hot spots (mostly) another tall is needed (what chance a mid season draft!??)

If we are going to bomb it in (mostly) like the first 2 weeks then i'm praying our other forwards (or even Hoges at times) will lead their opponents away from the hot spot in order to isolate (whoever is it) a little. Jeffy & Ben Ken doing the front & square/misquito work with both also spending time (pushing higher) through the mid in short stints.

Pedo might play a role at FF for a bit (early before the damn bursts!?) with Hoges pushing higher at times to get him more involved and doubling back at times when Pedo's on the burst.

They will attempt to catch us fast anytime we get a minor, so we will need to be on our toes setting up in defence super quick if we miss (hopefully we kick 18 straight!!), whether it's zone, man on man or a combo. One of the best teams (against us) at taking it coast to coast and no doubt boomer/Petrie will be in there somewhere.

Speaking of which. i dragged out the pentagram this week and have attempted to summon Lucifer to make sure we man up their key play makers (and do the job) on Swallow (Vince?), Boomer (Grimes?) & Petrie (Tmac?). Dunny to start on Waite? Almost impossible to keep Boomer down for long periods but will be needed as he is usually involved in about 30% (or slightly more) of their scoring chains.

Will need a bucket of luck and a bottle of 'Spark' to be consumed by every player prior to the match to have any chance of being competitive here, let alone having a chance to snatch a miracle.

.... "Lucifer! ....You there!? Oh Lucifer!!!"

Posted
17 minutes ago, mo64 said:

Cut the crap. Garland hasn't beaten an opponent one-on-one for over a year. He's even worse playing in a zone defense, when he actually has to read the game. A long overdue omission, and may it be permanent.

Agree on Kent. Been saying for a while that he's overrated. Lives in the glory of the odd good chase down and tackle, but does little else for the rest of the game.

Give me the match ups for Petrie, Waite and Brown? Garland has not been great but this was not the week to drop him.

Posted
18 hours ago, picket fence said:

Senior Footy???? which other Senior AFL club has he played for??

I said he had played senior football, which he has. He played for Aspley in the NEAFL and made the NEAFL state team in 2015. I never said he played AFL.

Posted
24 minutes ago, Skuit said:

Huh? We barely saw any of Kent last week.

Touche'! He did do a very good impression of a witches hat Skuit!

Posted
4 minutes ago, big_red_fire_engine said:

Give me the match ups for Petrie, Waite and Brown? Garland has not been great but this was not the week to drop him.

Dunn on Petrie, T. Mac on Waite, Frost on Brown. Garland wasn't just bad last week, he's been abysmal throughout the NAB challenge and against GWS. Every time he had a matchup with Lobb, he got beaten.

If the FD had any sense, they'd scrap the zone defense and match up one-on-one with the opposition key forwards. GWS cost themselves the game against us by not keeping Davis on Hogan. Marchbank got caught out on Hogan in the last qtr, and that won us the game.

Posted

Something is up...why the f would AND not even get a look in the 25..what a Croc..Wagner. .lol..This bloke was pathetic in every NAB game he played..another turnover king who panics under pressure.  Clearly no reward form in there magoos. .is Roos taking the pi55

Posted

I'm not sure how well the club is going on the selection front so far this year.

We drop Frost after a win, play pathetically against Essendon, so he comes straight back after proving...what...nothing since he was dropped.

We bang on and on about only picking players who are fit and ready, clearly pass over Brayshaw for Round 1 for that reason, then pick him in Round 2, clearly unfit, then drop him straight away.

We talk about poor attitudes, laziness, complacency, yet we keep in the side Kent and Harmes who both epitomised laziness and embarrassing football last week.

I agree with dropping Garland but that's about it.

Posted
Just now, mo64 said:

Dunn on Petrie, T. Mac on Waite, Frost on Brown. Garland wasn't just bad last week, he's been abysmal throughout the NAB challenge and against GWS. Every time he had a matchup with Lobb, he got beaten.

If the FD had any sense, they'd scrap the zone defense and match up one-on-one with the opposition key forwards. GWS cost themselves the game against us by not keeping Davis on Hogan. Marchbank got caught out on Hogan in the last qtr, and that won us the game.

I can't argue him being dropped, but your reason here is pathetic.

Lobb has 14cm on Garland, so he had every right to beat him in those contests.  Then Garland spends time on Daniher who is 10cm taller.

Get into him for other things, but he was required to play well above his height over the first two rounds, which is a tough ask for anyone.

Posted (edited)

Guys like Kent and Harmes were probably kept in because their form has been pretty good over the past four weeks.

They were probably given another chance as well as a few of others, to prove it was just a bad day.

Brayshaw didn't seem quite ready and Garlands form has been pretty ordinary.

I reckon Pederson could also be out but can't pick the fourth at this stage, but I'm guessing it will be one of the inclusions on the bench like Grimes as Stretch offers much needed pace.

Edited by DeeZee