JUDGEMENT DAY - THE "BOMBER" 34

http://thenewdaily.com.au/sport/2014/05/01/networker-gillon-mclachlan-landed-footys-top-job/

I must say that I'm very impressed with the  bang up job Gill 'I have no knowledge or visibility of impending infraction notices' McLachlan is doing.

Adding to that, he's a very good polo player also and has a wealth of connections. Let's not worry that he can't do the job. He looks like a CEO (albeit from central casting) and that's the main thing.

I have heard so many people draw the analogy that when you go to your doctor and he says take these - you usually don't question - you expect everything to be on the up and up and you trust .

I agree however.....

As soon as I get outside and someone asks me 30 times if my doctor  gave  me something I don't reply " nothing........he gave me nothing"

8 minutes ago, nutbean said:

I have heard so many people draw the analogy that when you go to your doctor and he says take these - you usually don't question - you expect everything to be on the up and up and you trust .

I agree however.....

As soon as I get outside and someone asks me 30 times if my doctor  gave  me something I don't reply " nothing........he gave me nothing"

But the peptides weren't given by their doctor.....they were given by a bogan charlatan.....

The doc supposedly knew nothig about it. Altho he did write a letter to the board (that was never received) saying he was uncomfortable about what was going on.....

4 minutes ago, nutbean said:

I agree however.....

Any prescription I get I will read up on it before I get it filled.

3 minutes ago, jnrmac said:

But the peptides weren't given by their doctor.....they were given by a bogan charlatan.....

The doc supposedly knew nothig about it. Altho he did write a letter to the board (that was never received) saying he was uncomfortable about what was going on.....

Spot on. Doc Reid was incredibly unlucky that the letter was not received. Even more unlucky, he forgot to follow up on it.

25 minutes ago, jnrmac said:

The doc supposedly knew nothig about it. Altho he did write a letter (that can't be found) to the board (that was never received) saying he was uncomfortable about what was going on.....

corrected ^^ 

35 minutes ago, nutbean said:

I agree however.....

You are trained as an athlete not to trust your doctor and to check that what they say you are getting is not banned. This is drummed into athletes, why the AFL feel they are different and their poor little boys need protection is beyond me. Time for the whole league to grow up and join the 20th century, let alone the 21st!

Here is another strand of the 'cable' that needs investigating.

Where are the records of the drug programme? Footy clubs keep records of everything: skinfolds; player weight; calories consumed; running times; km run in games etc etc etc.

Here is a programme that required a budget of around $700k and a team of people to administer. Where is the data? Where are the records? The club was clearly tipped off and got rid of the records.

Why the media silence over this? How can anyone have sympathy for a club that does this? This is deplorable.

18 minutes ago, jnrmac said:

Here is another strand of the 'cable' that needs investigating.

Where are the records of the drug programme? Footy clubs keep records of everything: skinfolds; player weight; calories consumed; running times; km run in games etc etc etc.

Here is a programme that required a budget of around $700k and a team of people to administer. Where is the data? Where are the records? The club was clearly tipped off and got rid of the records.

Why the media silence over this? How can anyone have sympathy for a club that does this? This is deplorable.

Let's all hope Trace asks about this on Sunday night in her unbiased interview

"where are the Hard Drives James....or are they all on 64 GB USB's"?

There must still be copies..?? Off shore maybe??"

16 minutes ago, daisycutter said:

only "must be" wyl if you are prepared to dig up the essendon tip

No they would be a lot further away than that...USB's travel in pockets and key rings

8 hours ago, Lucifer's Hero said:

Yes to the second part, not quite to the first as WADA did not even try to link how TB4 got to EFC. 

WADA basically said it doesn't matter where or how Dank got the TB4 we believe it was used on the players, they consented and here are the 16 strands of evidence to support this belief.  CAS was comfortably satisfied that players were injected with TB4.  Again, my paraphrasing and interpretation.

Nailed it.

CAS made the point that you don't have to establish manufacture and supply chain details, and that it's basically irrelevant to the key question of use.

(also paraphrasing ...)

2 minutes ago, bing181 said:

Nailed it.

CAS made the point that you don't have to establish manufacture and supply chain details, and that it's basically irrelevant to the key question of use.

(also paraphrasing ...)

In a way its the exact opposite to the AFL tribunal who felt it didn't have to establish if the players took TB4 one they weren't satisfied with the manufacture and supply chains

I'm still totally bewildered about what the AFL Tribunal made of the fact that the players did not reveal the totally legal injections they 'thought' they were getting to ASADA's regular monitoring process.  Has anyone in the media addressed this critical point which I think makes it clear the players knew they were up to no good.

One of the players said to CAS we didn't want to reveal info that would be of use to our competitors. While that has a veneer of  plausibility, it beggars belief.

As has been mentioned many times clubs measure everything, they know what a player eats, what his training times are, how he sleeps, how often he goes to the toilet. All essendon had to do was provide the documentation they or Danks kept on the program to break the cable. You cannot run a program if you are not measuring a baseline then the deviations from the baseline as the labrats,  players react to the treatment. There is no way this stuff was not being measured, even in the essendon players times you may have seen some sort of change in behaviors.   So Essendon is saying NOONE but Danks new what they were being given, and only one set of records existed and it walked out the door with Danks.  And that Essendon the owner of the data has not tried through legal processes to get copies of these records returned to them. looks to me like Essendon pulled the chain that flushed their players season down the drain.

17 minutes ago, Deecisive said:

As has been mentioned many times clubs measure everything, they know what a player eats, what his training times are, how he sleeps, how often he goes to the toilet. All essendon had to do was provide the documentation they or Danks kept on the program to break the cable. You cannot run a program if you are not measuring a baseline then the deviations from the baseline as the labrats,  players react to the treatment. There is no way this stuff was not being measured, even in the essendon players times you may have seen some sort of change in behaviors.   So Essendon is saying NOONE but Danks new what they were being given, and only one set of records existed and it walked out the door with Danks.  And that Essendon the owner of the data has not tried through legal processes to get copies of these records returned to them. looks to me like Essendon pulled the chain that flushed their players season down the drain.

Never ask a question that you know will have a bad answer.

34 minutes ago, sue said:

One of the players said to CAS we didn't want to reveal info that would be of use to our competitors. While that has a veneer of  plausibility, it beggars belief.

Not revealing it to your own club doctor kind of puts a hole in the notion that they were protecting the club's intellectual property.

- Melbourne, Port Adelaide, St Kilda, Western Bulldogs: 1 upgraded rookie for each suspended player (1 for 1)
- Essendon: 6 upgraded rookies plus 10 top-up players (16 players for 12 suspended players)

This is what annoys me more than anything about the situation, it's so blatantly obvious all efforts to help those affected by the suspensions are being directed solely towards the one club responsible for the situation.

4 hours ago, Return to Glory said:

Spot on. Doc Reid was incredibly unlucky that the letter was not received. Even more unlucky, he forgot to follow up on it.

And unlucky he forgot to ask his great mate James about it when James came to see him or when James took his kids to see Doc Reid or when Tania went to see him.

27 minutes ago, Carlos Danger said:

- Melbourne, Port Adelaide, St Kilda, Western Bulldogs: 1 upgraded rookie for each suspended player (1 for 1)
- Essendon: 6 upgraded rookies plus 10 top-up players (16 players for 12 suspended players)

This is what annoys me more than anything about the situation, it's so blatantly obvious all efforts to help those affected by the suspensions are being directed solely towards the one club responsible for the situation.

Of course it is. The AFL only cares about protecting the AFL and that means hand holding a drug cheat club like Ess. (And some would argue a cheating club like Melb with Roos and Jackson).

Not to mention allowing ess to keep pick 1 etc.

If it wasn't for wada the cheats would have prospered epically.

1 hour ago, sue said:

I'm still totally bewildered about what the AFL Tribunal made of the fact that the players did not reveal the totally legal injections they 'thought' they were getting to ASADA's regular monitoring process.  Has anyone in the media addressed this critical point which I think makes it clear the players knew they were up to no good.

And is a slap in the face to the ability of ASADA to keep records confidential, in fact given that it makes no sense at all

1 hour ago, Deecisive said:

exactly