Posted

Just to satisfy my adventurous spirit, I've spent about the last hour ( while preparing a sumptuous meal) listening to SEN. FMD. I am dumber for the experience. Never again.

However it did provide a good excuse to get back on the grog after a 2 week health hiatus.

Posted
On 14/12/2015 at 1:35 PM, La Dee-vina Comedia said:

Just to clarify some misconceptions. SEN is wholly owned by Pacific Star Network which is listed on the Australian Stock Exchange (listed as PNW). PNW also owns a second radio licence which is the "old" 3MP and now trades as 1377 MyMP. PNW also has a publishing arm which most notably publishes Inside Football (print and digital versions).

Ron Hall is the largest shareholder and a Director. Gary Pert (yes, the ex-player and Collingwood CEO) is also a Director.

Here's the PNW website where you can find out more.

I met Gay Pert once in Matt Rendells hotel in North Fitzroy the year after I saw him play international rules in Ireland. Lets just say the collingwood environment of misplaced arrogance and stupidity suits him very well.

Posted

The new lineup has had a bit of time to settle in now so my observations are:

Francis & the Ox: They work well together but I get the feeling Francis is holding back. In fact I think the station is holding back and not taking on serious issues. Maybe because they need the AFL, they suck up too much now. No AFL, no SEN...pity

Andy Maher: I don't mind Andy, he's inoffensive but that's the problem. He offers nothing in his time slot, a total waste of 3 hours air time.

KB: Same old KB, with Finey probably the best radio man on the station. At least he has a point of view.

Marko & Half: I like Half but he really needs to get out of this toxic relationship asap. Marko is a waste of space, the only good thing he has done in his time at SEN is to prang his Merc...this is unlistenable radio, totally unlistenable.

A few ideas to spice things up...well one I can think of is to bring Grant Thomas back into the media. Probably lose the stations AFL accreditation but if you're going to go down you might as well do it in style...Thomas & Panahi, now that would be a combination.

I have liked the idea of a sports radio station but I'm switching off more & more. I think this may be the last year of SEN, it can't be sustained with this lineup.

Posted

I don't get the hate, yes some hosts aren't the best, the ads are annoying but at least they talk sport most of the time.

Right now we are in the biggest black hole of sports events where all of the sudden everyone cares about ODI's again, I'll even take five minutes of Collingwood supporters talking up their chances just to hear some footy talk.

Posted
2 hours ago, Clint Bizkit said:

I don't get the hate, yes some hosts aren't the best, the ads are annoying but at least they talk sport most of the time.

Right now we are in the biggest black hole of sports events where all of the sudden everyone cares about ODI's again, I'll even take five minutes of Collingwood supporters talking up their chances just to hear some footy talk.

You have my vote CB

Posted
4 hours ago, Sir Why You Little said:

Francis is great in the morning..

he makes The Ox work harder because he is so good..

All Leach does is giggle.

Posted
39 minutes ago, Sir Why You Little said:

Would you prefer Maher & Gazey as your eyes open and your brain kicks into gear? :)

No, I'd prefer Leach.

Point taken.

• 3 weeks later...
Posted

Mark Robinson is saying that Hutchy & Liam Pickering are in line to get the sack at SEN... Can't imagine why.

Anyone heard their "name-drop radio" program on a Saturday? It's abysmal.

Posted
Just now, Mach5 said:

Mark Robinson is saying that Hutchy & Liam Pickering are in line to get the sack at SEN... Can't imagine why.

They don't work for SEN, they simply buy the program which is made by Hutchison's company Crocmedia (perfect name for it).

The show, Off The Bench was barely tolerable with Dr Turf, now that Dr Turf is no longer on the show it is complete and utter rubbish. How a company like McDonald's can get the obese Hutchison to endorse their products is beyond me.

On another note, I take back everything positive I said about Andy Maher.  On his own he is somehow even far worse than before, his interview on Friday with Paul Roos was a disgrace.

Posted
12 minutes ago, Mach5 said:

Hope Mark Robinson gets the sack to

Liam Pickering is a dodgy bogan

Hutchinson is another Bottom Feeder living off the AFL [censored]. 

How do we allow such lowlifes..

Posted

What is this SEN thing ?

Posted
2 hours ago, Mach5 said:

I listened to it this morning on a long drive down to the surf coast. They gave Robbo a right going over for his writings and radio comments about The G Lyon Affair, deservedly so in my opinion. That might be behind this revelation? 

And as has been stated the program struggles without Dr Turf. 

Posted

If The Ebola virus somehow got into their studio whilst the ox was away it would benefit the AM airwaves significantly. 

Posted
1 hour ago, Biffen said:

If The Ebola virus somehow got into their studio whilst the ox was away it would benefit the AM airwaves significantly. 

They are dumb enough to tongue wash dead bodies...

• 1 year later...
Posted
On ‎20‎/‎02‎/‎2016 at 10:38 PM, DaisyDeeciple said:

They are dumb enough to tongue wash dead bodies...

How dead are we talking? Freshly dead or at that decomposition stage? Just asking for a friend.

Posted

They could certainly lose Mark Robinson of a late afternoon. As he droned on about Mick Gatto, Essendon links blah blah blah, I did wonder how he's the Chief Football writer for the biggest paper in Victoria. I honestly reckon he could screw up death notices.

Posted
13 hours ago, Return to Glory said:

How dead are we talking? Freshly dead or at that decomposition stage? Just asking for a friend.

Freshly dead, unless they are a chief, then there is a whole new process

Posted

I'm not sure who the demented giggler is on that show with Hutchinson, Pickering et al.

It's pathetic.

Unlistenable, so I don't don't.

I liked Dr Turf though. Met him at the football once. Nice guy. Demons supporter too. He only works on radio because he enjoys it. He is very, very wealthy. 

Posted
9 hours ago, demoniac said:

Dr Turf of RRR Punter to Punter fame!

Dr Turf who tipped Dandy Andy to beat Vo Rogue that year in the Australian Cup and it saluted at 100/1. ( I still have some of that cash left )