Posted

I call him the Greek Economy. Just when everythings looking better he finds a way to lose his man and cost us the game.

But he's building. His willingness to run and vision have been evident since he started and it's a matter of slowing building his game. All reports from his juniors were that he was a hard worker and disciplined trainer and from watching him the last two preseasons his efforts to improve his body have been admirable. The expectations on a 4th round pick compared to a pick 4 are off the charts but we are all guilty of it.

Posted

[censored]'s over on BigFooty (geez, am I glad that I gave up posting on there) saying he was at fault for the loss and that he's the worst player they've ever seen.

Posted

[censored]'s over on BigFooty (geez, am I glad that I gave up posting on there) saying he was at fault for the loss and that he's the worst player they've ever seen.

What do you expect from those inbreds.

Posted

Doesn't have any glaring defeciencies

If he just gets more composed with the footy, he'll be a good player.

He just needs to calm down and realise that no matter how many mistakes he makes, we've all seen worse.

Better to try and stuff up, than be too scared to try.

Posted (edited)

I call him the Greek Economy. Just when everythings looking better he finds a way to lose his man and cost us the game.

There were probably a dozen moments throughout the game when players could have done better. Multiple goals conceded from mistakes or not wanting the footy hard enough. You can't put it on one player in the final 30 seconds.

Edited by Seraph
Posted

he was good. his composure with the ball was more assured, his ability to create was better, and he started to find space in traffic - which was really exciting to watch, because once he's created his own space he, like watts, tends not to waste possession.

unfortunately, his direct opponent - with a decade and around 200 games greater experience - sealed the match for the opposition. that'll happen. if he models his game on montagna we'll be happy.

Posted

There were probably a dozen moments throughout the game when players could have done better. Multiple goals conceded from mistakes or not wanting the footy hard enough. You can't put it on one player in the final 30 seconds.

There were a dozen just in that last 40 seconds. The hit out. The clearance. Not getting men back. Not spoiling/marking the kick forward. Not winning the ground ball.

I certainly don't feel overall that Toump lost us the game it's just unfortunate (and indicative of his career to date) that he can't finish off a great game with a sealing moment and instead it's the opposite.

Posted

So did you predict that I would start a post Dazzle ?? Nup?

You are the predictable one!

Mate clearly, you bag all of my posts, then when I actually give some praise to a bloke who I have bagged, you turn it into your own pusillanimous crusade!

You, my friend must have a sad life!

Sad !

Just let it go, don't derail a positive thread into a bitching match between you two.

Posted

Watched the game and the Toump was close to our best. He has moved ahead of other players on our list this season, and finds himself in some good form.

Time to give him his props and a well deserved break from the bagging.

He was great today.

Posted

Has played well against StK and Western Bulldogs, ordinary young sides. You'd hope a pick 4 would, 3 years in. Needs to do it when the chips are down against a top side.

Still seems to not want to take responsibility for kicking the thing. Broke a tackle in the square, streaming toward 50, you'd hope he'd hit a forward lace out or run to 50 and goal. Instead handpassed it backwards to Gawn. Seems to want to always pass it off like a hot potato when he's one of the better kicks in the side.

A couple more 20 possession, 2 goal games and maybe a side will fall into giving us something decent for him.

Posted (edited)

Ok been a long time critic and so even though this is one of the worst loses I can remember I must make mention of his effort today!

I thought he was terrific today, won outside and more importantly for me, inside ball and made mostly some good decisions!

I hope he can go on from here because if what he provided today can be continued, then his place in the draft and promise to be lived up to will be

vindicated. 1 great game in three years ! Lets see what he offers next week!

And before you start gloating Dazzle man, get stuffed!!

And haven't we had some obnoxiously horrible posts from you along the way, PF? But well done for recognising his thoroughly promising game today. My old man, who has been a critic for a while, recognised his form today too. Jimmy is building nicely. I wonder how much kudos should be directed at Brendan McCartney? Either way, Jimmy seems to be putting in the hard yards and it's beginning to pay off.

Edited by AdamFarr
Posted

He was OK. I'm still shocked at his poor decision making on occasions under pressure.

I expected a game like this as virtually a bare minimum a couple of years ago, so I'm hardly going to go into raptures now.

He made some very good decisions today under pressure. When you have 26 of them, it's rare they'll all be 100% efficient.

Posted

If they (big footy) think Toumpas is the worst player they've ever seen, then he might actually have a chance.

Most of those 'social justice warriors' over at big footy - have never actually played footy.

Outside of the drafting section, I would not listen to a word they say.

Toumpas played a reasonable game today, an improvement, a step in the right direction, and wasn't the reason we lost the football match.

Well done Jimmy.

Posted

Your constant berating of him on here has been truly bizarre. But well done on finally pulling your head in, I guess.

He will be an important piece of the puzzle going forward if he can continue to build. Decisionmaking needs work but his confidence is visibly growing. Great signs today after struggling early. Stood up at important stages.

Posted (edited)

I'm finally seeing the player who we recruited, shame it's taken so long for things to click but he's running around with a lot more confidence. Still has his flaws but looks a lot more eager to amend them now

I'm not having a go at you specifically, JRS, but the way people talk about Jimmy around here, It's like he's a 7 or 8 year player. He's 21 years old. He's got another 10 years in front of him and if he keeps it up, he'll only get better. I understand the reticence with all our failed drafting in the past, but it seems that so much of it was also development. Jimmy is in a good environment now and the FD (and Roos) have seemingly nursed him through the past 12 months beautifully.

Edited by AdamFarr
Posted

After Montagna streamed in to kick that last goal, I noticed Toump with his hands on his head in anger realising that was his man and he failed to stay with him. Bad mistake to make with 40 secs left despite having played a really good game. Hope this drives him to play even better against the Cats.

Posted (edited)

Looking forward to seeing Salem, Toumpas and Petracca all lining up together fit and healthy.

I'm excited by Roos and McCartney's development abilities that all these guys will come on nicely. The first two already have. Reckon we might have a really exciting midfield in a year or two. I just hope we can trade in some leaders to support them.

Edited by AdamFarr
Posted

Looking forward to seeing Salem, Toumpas and Petracca all lining up together fit and healthy.

Alongside Trengrove, Brayshaw and Hogan!

Posted

Out of contract and adelaide will be sniffing around, he seems like a loyal kid but a strong lure of family there

Posted

Initially i thought jimmy was just down on confidence; then more recently i questioned his decision making and defensive awareness. I hope he proves me wromg.