PaulRB 6,435 Posted October 7, 2015 Posted October 7, 2015 Interesting timing to the Hogan extension discussion from the MFC, its as if they are purposefully indicating Hogans extended tenure to help attract and entice other prospective players to come to the MFC... Wonder who they are? 2 Quote
Straight Sets Simon 23,113 Posted October 7, 2015 Posted October 7, 2015 Interesting timing to the Hogan extension discussion from the MFC, its as if they are purposefully indicating Hogans extended tenure to help attract and entice other prospective players to come to the MFC... Unlikely. Quote
iv'a worn smith 1,979 Posted October 7, 2015 Posted October 7, 2015 Unlikely. Actually Clint I reckon it's very likely and makes a lot of sense. 3 Quote
Bluey's Dad 3,419 Posted October 7, 2015 Posted October 7, 2015 (edited) It's not OK to get a boner over Hogan. I hate reading garbage like that and normally delete it - left that one there to make a point. Hey man, you can't tell my boner what to do. TBH, I can't tell my boner what to do either. Edited October 7, 2015 by Choke Quote
Chook 15,070 Posted October 7, 2015 Posted October 7, 2015 It's not OK to get a boner over Hogan. I hate reading garbage like that and normally delete it - left that one there to make a point. That's a little homophobic. Of course, this isn't the forum for airing that sort of thing anyway. Not that there's anything wrong with that. 1 Quote
Curry & Beer 5,444 Posted October 7, 2015 Posted October 7, 2015 Actually Clint I reckon it's very likely and makes a lot of sense. I agree with you and PaulRB, this is exactly the type of shenanigans Roos would get up to Jesse could you be a dear and stick your head out to the press and imply your are staying at the Dees please, it would help us out a lot and it will too 1 Quote
binman 44,851 Posted October 7, 2015 Posted October 7, 2015 Actually Clint I reckon it's very likely and makes a lot of sense. Yep so do i. As does making it clear Melksham, and to a lesser degree Kennedy and Bugg, is keen to come to the dees at this early stage Quote
praha 11,267 Posted October 7, 2015 Posted October 7, 2015 We won't re-sign Hogan until well after the 2016 season. It would be silly for him to sign on now when he could easily improve his worth with an even stronger season. It's a risk for him but this is all talk atm. They're opening discussions and that's it. Quote
binman 44,851 Posted October 7, 2015 Posted October 7, 2015 We won't re-sign Hogan until well after the 2016 season. It would be silly for him to sign on now when he could easily improve his worth with an even stronger season. It's a risk for him but this is all talk atm. They're opening discussions and that's it. To be honest i can't see how he could improve his worth. If anything he could drop his worth if god forbid he copped a bad injury 2 Quote
ManDee 7,395 Posted October 7, 2015 Posted October 7, 2015 (edited) We won't re-sign Hogan until well after the 2016 season. It would be silly for him to sign on now when he could easily improve his worth with an even stronger season. It's a risk for him but this is all talk atm. They're opening discussions and that's it. I disagree praha, I think it better for him to go now (to sign now). He does have an injury cloud. If he did his back in the preseason or an early round, other clubs would be very careful re due diligence lest they end up with a Buddy Bomb. Get it done Dees. Edit- For clarity added - to sign now. Edited October 7, 2015 by ManDee Quote
Nasher 33,686 Posted October 7, 2015 Posted October 7, 2015 That's a little homophobic. Of course, this isn't the forum for airing that sort of thing anyway. Not that there's anything wrong with that. Okay, it's fine to get one. It's not okay to post about it. Can we drop this now? 4 Quote
mo64 5,911 Posted October 7, 2015 Posted October 7, 2015 We won't re-sign Hogan until well after the 2016 season. It would be silly for him to sign on now when he could easily improve his worth with an even stronger season. It's a risk for him but this is all talk atm. They're opening discussions and that's it. I'd be very worried if he doesn't re-sign by the middle of next year. From what was reported in the article and comments from his manager on Trade Radio, there's nothing to suggest that Hogan is likely to extend his contract long term before the start of 2016. The meeting with Roos etc basically outlined our plans going forward. This suggests that Hogan is keen on success, and if we stagnate or regress in 2016, the jungle drums may start beating. Quote
Chook 15,070 Posted October 7, 2015 Posted October 7, 2015 Okay, it's fine to get one. It's not okay to post about it. Can we drop this now? Let's. It's probably gone by now anyway. Quote
Lucifers Hero 40,745 Posted October 12, 2015 Posted October 12, 2015 Looks like an offer has been made to Jesse. Mahoney: "We’ve already met with Jesse and we’ve gone through our plan as a club and we’ve presented that to him and made an offer for an extension for Jesse." http://www.melbournefc.com.au/news/2015-10-11/we-want-hogan-longterm-mahoney Not a gambler but would take a big bet that Jesse signs an extension beyond 2017! A pre Xmas announcement would be nice...a present from Santa 4 Quote
jötnar 25 Posted October 12, 2015 Posted October 12, 2015 Looks like an offer has been made to Jesse. Mahoney: "We’ve already met with Jesse and we’ve gone through our plan as a club and we’ve presented that to him and made an offer for an extension for Jesse." http://www.melbournefc.com.au/news/2015-10-11/we-want-hogan-longterm-mahoney Not a gambler but would take a big bet that Jesse signs an extension beyond 2017! A pre Xmas announcement would be nice...a present from Santa Needs a prosthesis does he? Quote
Lucifers Hero 40,745 Posted October 12, 2015 Posted October 12, 2015 Needs a prosthesis does he? That is not even funny! 1 Quote
Ted Lasso 19,586 Posted October 12, 2015 Posted October 12, 2015 He is going to take his time with this one, he'll need to be 100% sure he wants to be at the MFC to sign this extension, from what I've heard he'll be ( and rightly so ) one of the highest paid in the comp. Quote
dazzledavey36 56,347 Posted November 12, 2015 Posted November 12, 2015 Mark Stevens @Stevo7AFL 9m9 minutes ago Hogan's answers re contract interesting though ... Inferred now footy is back for another season, all talks on hold ... Mark Stevens @Stevo7AFL 8m8 minutes ago Strong indication from Hogan was there will be no deal either before or during 2016 season ... Just wants to play ... Quote
DemonOX 8,857 Posted November 12, 2015 Posted November 12, 2015 Mark Stevens @Stevo7AFL 9m9 minutes ago Hogan's answers re contract interesting though ... Inferred now footy is back for another season, all talks on hold ... Mark Stevens @Stevo7AFL 8m8 minutes ago Strong indication from Hogan was there will be no deal either before or during 2016 season ... Just wants to play ... In other words he wants to see if we r still going to be a basket case before he signs on for an extended period. Honestly who can blame him. I did think that a decision would be made over the summer so his comment if he actually said it is a bit contradictory. Quote
Moneider96 1,045 Posted November 12, 2015 Posted November 12, 2015 (edited) Mark Stevens @Stevo7AFL 9m9 minutes ago Hogan's answers re contract interesting though ... Inferred now footy is back for another season, all talks on hold ... Mark Stevens @Stevo7AFL 8m8 minutes ago Strong indication from Hogan was there will be no deal either before or during 2016 season ... Just wants to play ... Im not sure what he's inferring. Hogan has another two years on his contract. Nothing to worry about. Edited November 12, 2015 by Moneider96 Quote
DemonLad5 1,642 Posted November 12, 2015 Posted November 12, 2015 His contract doesn"t expire for 2 years. Don't blame him for wanting to wait & see where the team is headed. If we are moving well and we are where we should be then he'll resign. He wants success and loves Melbourne. The city and the team. The only reason he would leave is for poor on field performances. Not worried at all Quote
DemonLad5 1,642 Posted November 12, 2015 Posted November 12, 2015 The idea of signing him long term with 2 years left on his contract when we only win 7 games was 1000 to 1 Quote
dazzledavey36 56,347 Posted November 12, 2015 Posted November 12, 2015 In other words he wants to see if we r still going to be a basket case before he signs on for an extended period. Honestly who can blame him. I did think that a decision would be made over the summer so his comment if he actually said it is a bit contradictory. exact same reaction I had. Quote
Wiseblood 24,637 Posted November 12, 2015 Posted November 12, 2015 Not surprised by his decision to focus on footy. It does, however, allow the media to speculate about it ad nauseum, and for posters on here to take off their jocks so everyone can sh*t in them about the situation. Plenty on here will have their mental health tested by this. Quote
DemonOX 8,857 Posted November 12, 2015 Posted November 12, 2015 The only reason he would leave is for poor on field performances. Not worried at all This is what worries me the most. 4 Quote